We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful hideaway in the old city”
other travelers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KentMaya
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A beautiful hideaway in the old city”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Everything is within walking distance and yet when you close the gate on the rest of the city and turn to look at the beautiful garden you forget you are still in the middle of Quito. The apartment was beautifully decorated and arranged and had everything we needed. A real gem. We were sorry to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must stay!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful, idyllic pension and is a must stay. It is centrally located minutes from the old city, and is an oasis is a very busy city. The staff are fantastic and hugely helpful with every detail. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M
2 reviews
“Perfect spot for experiencing Quito and its surroundings”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A group of us rented all but one of the units at Wantara for a recent work trip to Quito. It was perfect in every way. The spaces are beautiful. The cleaning staff keeps the units very clean. And, if you want to go on a unforgettable journey to any of the areas surrounding Quito, I highly recommend using one of the two tour guides/drivers associated with this property, Thomas and Marcelo. Our group became quite attached to them and they took small groups to different sites throughout the week (Otavalo, the cloud forest near Mindo, and to Cotopaxi and the surrounding area).

This is a very special place...one we will never forget.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dl602
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“We Loved Fantastic Wantara Suites-Lagarto”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent 5 wonderful days in Lagarto and it will go down as one of our best stays anywhere. We rent lots of apts and have never stayed in one so well equipped and perfectly comfortable. Lagarto is really more like a small house than a suite. It's quite large and roomy -- perfect for two people. The grounds are just lovely with all kinds of local statutes, pots etc scattered around the beautiful gardens. We looked forward to returning to Wantara Suites and escaping the noise and chaos of Quito. The doors opened to Wantara and it was like entering into a haven. The wood burning stove was perfect for warming us up on the chilly evenings and nights.
All communication prior to arrival with Wolfgang was easy and responsive and Andi and him are every bit as helpful in person. They are also interesting to talk with. Marcelo is a gem and great to hire as a driver if you want to do any trips,outside downtown Quito.

We saw a couple other units which were all very nice, but thought Lagarto was the nicest. As you can read, we can't say enough good comments about staying in Lagarto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and serenity.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing!
Communication with Andi and Wolfgang was always fantastic, they are so helpful! The property is stunning! The gardens are beautiful and the apartments have everything you need. I highly recommend this place, its as close to perfect as you can get! :)

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMH
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I wouldn't change a thing”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I booked the Luna suite for 4 nights at the end of November/beginning of December (2015) and from our first contact with Andi and Wolfgang we were pleased and impressed by the thoroughness and professionalism of the process.

They arranged for an airport pick-up late at night by Marcelo, who helps with the management of the property and is available for day trip transportation as well - we traveled with him on 2 separate days and were completely happy with his service and knowledge of what we were visiting.

The Luna suite is the perfect size for 2, and comes with a completely equipped kitchenette and a functioning wood stove. The garden setting keeps the busy city at bay as well.

Andi and Wolfgang both were very helpful with tips and advice about Quito and the surrounding area.

This was the perfect start to our Ecuador adventure - which we're still in the midst of!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeal195...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis!”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. We chose the "Owner's Apartment" which costs considerably more because we needed a king sized bed and it provided a lot of extra space in which to move around. We lacked for nothing. The kitchen even had sharp knives, a rarity in vacation rentals! Wolfgang was an absolutely lovely person and we so enjoyed the time we shared with him. We would, and likely will, return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the owner!
Liked least: The walk through the neighborhood to the center.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing