We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Oasis!”
other travelers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Janeal195...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis!”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. We chose the "Owner's Apartment" which costs considerably more because we needed a king sized bed and it provided a lot of extra space in which to move around. We lacked for nothing. The kitchen even had sharp knives, a rarity in vacation rentals! Wolfgang was an absolutely lovely person and we so enjoyed the time we shared with him. We would, and likely will, return again!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the owner!
Liked least: The walk through the neighborhood to the center.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limesoda2...
Boquete, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful garden oasis in the middle of old Quito!”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This is an amazing spot tucked away in beautiful gardens in the middle of a bustling city! I stayed for 6 nights and was totally content. It is the ideal location to walk to the old city centre, hail taxis just down the road and wander over to La Ronda, the oldest street in Quito. Wolfgang and Andi are excellent hosts, with great recommendations (thanks Wolfgang for recommending Casa de Alabado museum - awesome pre-columbian collection!) The shared garden is really a gem - I sat out on my deck and read and hung out, families gathered outside and barbecued together. Wonderful setting. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, beautiful gardens.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
893amyd
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good base to explore the city”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The first thing to say about this place is that it is not in the most safest or touristy area and when you arrive at night it can create a bad first impression. Saying that, we felt very safe and relaxed here for most of our stay. The only blip was on our last day when we saw an old man get mugged by a gang in front of our taxi just down the street from these apartments. Before this, we had felt completely fine walking around during the day. These apartments are very close to the historical centre and only a $4 (max) taxi to the new town. We had wanted to experience the 'real' Ecuador and these apartments let us do that, but with everywhere you go you have to take the rough with the smooth.
All the tourist advice says to get a taxi for short disatnces of a night time and, when following this advice, we were fine. Although there are not many taxis that pass by here so you will have to walk to the corner to flag one down unless you get the Easy Taxi app. We found this very hepful as it avoided the walk of a night time (taxis come straight to the gate) and the awkward phone call to order a taxi (we don't speak great Spanish and not many taxi drivers speak English). No taxi drivers will know where this is so make sure you take some kind of map out with you so that you can show them where you want to go for return trips.
Although there is no getting away from the city noise at night, the garden area is very peaceful and beautiful, and the views of the city and mountains were good from our apartment.
Overall, we would stay here again and would, and have, recommended this to friends. If you stick to the tourist guidelines you shouldn't have an issue.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B
Okotoks, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in historic Quito”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Garden Suites to kick off a month in Ecuador. Firstly, we appreciated the airport pick up so much. We arrived in the middle of the night to find our hosts had supplied food in the fridge for breakfast the next morning. Our multi-level suite was spacious and immaculately clean. The bed very comfortable and well supplied with cozy bedding for cool, damp Quito nights. Our host Wolfgang was a wonderful resource for advise on how to see the sights.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioTr...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, near La Ronda and City Center”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in suite Estrella, there's nothing I would change or modify in this private condo, every thing has been designed and placed well-thought-out.
Our hosts Wolfgang and Andi were helpful since the first email all the way to our departure. Wolfgang recommended places to see and we were glad to have met our wonderful taxi driver Cristian.
I wish I had stayed there longer... but I will go back, definitely recommend this rental to anyone traveling to Quito.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“German engineering in an Equadorian paradise”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Others have said it over and over. It is truly an beautiful garden oasis sitting behind wooden doors in the heart of Quito. Quito can be a bit overwhelming with the hustle of people, taxis, busses, and street vendors. It all disappears as you walk through the gate and take a deep breath. We're home! Our apartment was large and very comfortable. All of the necessities and more of a well outfitted home away from home were waiting for us. We just added food and drink. There are plenty of places to sit and relax outside in the garden. Many days we came home early from our sight seeing adventures in town because we knew it was going to be good. Many times when traveling we have stayed out and came back to the room only to sleep...not here. Wantara peels the stress of travel away.

Andi and Wolfgang are great hosts. Because they live there, there is an extra level of care. They add a concierge touch for travel ideas and directions.

When you come, add an extra day or week to just relax and do nothing. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing