We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in historic Quito”
other travelers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jim B
Okotoks, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in historic Quito”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Garden Suites to kick off a month in Ecuador. Firstly, we appreciated the airport pick up so much. We arrived in the middle of the night to find our hosts had supplied food in the fridge for breakfast the next morning. Our multi-level suite was spacious and immaculately clean. The bed very comfortable and well supplied with cozy bedding for cool, damp Quito nights. Our host Wolfgang was a wonderful resource for advise on how to see the sights.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioTr...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, near La Ronda and City Center”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in suite Estrella, there's nothing I would change or modify in this private condo, every thing has been designed and placed well-thought-out.
Our hosts Wolfgang and Andi were helpful since the first email all the way to our departure. Wolfgang recommended places to see and we were glad to have met our wonderful taxi driver Cristian.
I wish I had stayed there longer... but I will go back, definitely recommend this rental to anyone traveling to Quito.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“German engineering in an Equadorian paradise”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Others have said it over and over. It is truly an beautiful garden oasis sitting behind wooden doors in the heart of Quito. Quito can be a bit overwhelming with the hustle of people, taxis, busses, and street vendors. It all disappears as you walk through the gate and take a deep breath. We're home! Our apartment was large and very comfortable. All of the necessities and more of a well outfitted home away from home were waiting for us. We just added food and drink. There are plenty of places to sit and relax outside in the garden. Many days we came home early from our sight seeing adventures in town because we knew it was going to be good. Many times when traveling we have stayed out and came back to the room only to sleep...not here. Wantara peels the stress of travel away.

Andi and Wolfgang are great hosts. Because they live there, there is an extra level of care. They add a concierge touch for travel ideas and directions.

When you come, add an extra day or week to just relax and do nothing. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax20...
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A little gem in Quito”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Hosts greeted us at the gate, had a fire going in the fireplace and enough food in the fridge for breakfast the next morning as we arrived in the late evening. There were flowers inside and out. The apartment was cozy, clean, functional and comfortable. Everything worked well including the Internet and it's location in Old Quito allowed us to walk every where in the Old City. It was safe and secure. Our Hosts also arranged pickup and delivery back to Quito airport and we were thankful for that. The driver was safe, courteous and reasonably priced.
My wife and I highly recommend Wantara a Garden suites.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopjud
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High end garden apartment minutes from Old Quito”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved everything about our stay but the warmth of our hosts was one of the highlights. Upon arrival Andi sat with us with provided map and marked off highlights, restaurants, supermarkets etc as well as the nearby bakery. Wolfgang was charming and extremely helpful as required. The apartments are located behind a wall and when entered you are greeted by a large flowering garden.

The suites are well appointed with top of the line kitchen gadgets, three coffee makers, toaster, oven, micro, and lots of glasses. We only cooked one dinner when we were there but there would be no problem preparing meals every night - everything was there.

We stayed in the Estrella Suite which had a large bathroom with a very big shower and a lovely deck to sit and enjoy morning coffee and the garden birds. All of this a 5 minute walk from La Ronda and Plaza Santa Domingo. It is quite safe to walk to old town and La Ronda during daylight hours but a taxi ($2 or 3 from Old Town) after dark.

WiFi is good, totally secure and tranquil. Why would anyone stay in a hotel if they could stay here?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hosts and location
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLBill
Huddleston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the midst of a chaotic city”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for a week in Wantara Suites upon our arrival in Quito. We cannot say enough about the thoughtfulness and hospitality of Andi & Woflgang. They even sent someone to meet us at the airport (at 2 am) and bring us into town to their lovely little refuge.

The unassuming white wall with the large wooden door along the street does not even begin to provide an idea of the paradise it guards. Once the door opens, the world transforms into a heavily landscaped, green oasis. The rooms are scattered around the grounds, with several "community" areas in the garden for guests to gather and exchange stories & tips.

Our suite (Tortuga) was extremely well equipped. The kitchen included everything one could possibly need to cook a very complete meal. No gadget, pan or utensil is missing. The room has a wood burning stove for the cold nights and great hot water in the shower. It is clean, clean, clean - like any hotel one might find in Germany. The bed was the most comfortable of any we've slept in for a very long time. The down comforters were absolutely awesome. (The only drawback to our room was that whenever the folks above us were awake, so were we. Their footsteps on the floor above simply could not be ignored. We wished they would just take their shoes off!)

The entire property is VERY safe and secure. Quite a contrast with the world outside the walls. It was very calming to know that our "stuff" was always safe and that we didn't have to worry about it. It was great to start the day with our own pot of coffee/tea and breakfast, served on our own private patio in the garden. It was great to be able to stock a fridge with whatever we might want.

As for location, it is hard to do much better than this in Quito, especially if you want some peace & quiet at night.

This one is a keeper! If you are going to Quito, and plan to be there long enough to qualify to stay at Wantara Suites (I think the minimum stay is 5 days), this one should be at the very top of your list!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen2
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tranquil place to stay in the historic centre, the only place to stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent nearly two weeks at Wantara Suites and it was a wonderful stay. Wantara Suites is like returning to an oasis when you come back after day tours or visiting sites in Quito. The peaceful, garden atmosphere where one can sit outside and listen to the birds and enjoy the flowers was such a treat after a day out in busy Quito or first thing in the morning as we sipped our coffee. We used our wood stove every night to take off the chill and cozy up our suite, which was well appointed and had all the necessities for cooking when we felt like it. Andi and Wolfgang were very welcoming and left us a breakfast in the fridge as we were late arriving. It is about a ten minutes, easy walk into the Plaza Grande and surrounding sites. Our unit, Lagarto, was like a small house. It was wonderful - light and bright and very quiet at night, especially if you keep the bathroom door closed. And it offered a chance to meet others. I would highly recommend this place to those wishing a self-cateirng holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor access and ability to sit outside.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn’t like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing