We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW Experience - My Own Lovely Casita in...”
other travelers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Barbara P
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW Experience - My Own Lovely Casita in Spectacular Seting, Met Other Travelers, Studied Spanish”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Wantara was an outstanding choice for my month in Quito studying Spanish. Welcomed into a community of travelers by two terrific, personable hosts, you take the key to your own lovely accommodations with access to a soothing, beautiful green space and a spectacular view of Quito.

I stayed a month in the Lagarto Suite – a well, designed and furnished 3-level casita that met all of my needs plus those of a good friend who visited for a week.

Best of all is the opportunity to meet other travelers, gain information and possibility spark an enduring friendship. I suspected that finding a quality Spanish School would not be possible for me in Old Town and I was right about that. But the bus ride to Simon Bolivar School in Mariscal was easy and sometimes an adventure (the bus can get crowded so getting on and off requires determination!)

I also met a fellow traveler, Nick, from the UK studying Spanish and we ended up sharing a teacher and having a ball as we conjugated verbs. Nick inspired an evening cookout one night at Wantara - a special memory as people from around the world gathered together in the outside space.

Lovely surroundings are important to me and as a single, mature woman, I wanted opportunities to meet others. From the very beginning Wolfgang was responsive to my email inquiries and was there to welcome me at my midnight arrival. Andi, a force of talent with a fun spirit, delivered a vase of beautiful flowers from the garden one morning.

With maid service twice a week, laundry done on the premises, super mattress and linens and safety as a priority – Wantara delivers an extraordinary experience for those who find it. Plus if you seek a true Quito experience, you’ll want to stay in Old Town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Andi and Wolfgang
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanes1997
New Paltz, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the Garden”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Wolfgang and Andi have created this magical haven within the historic center of Quito. The gardens are beautiful and it's a great place to stay if you want a day to unwind after seeing the city. All rooms are equipped with a kitchen to make your breakfast, lunch, and dinner if you choose. This property is located within walking distance of the historic center (no more than 20 minutes). If you're arriving by bus or plane, it's much easier to have Wolfgang arrange to have a car pick you up (it's more expensive but if you can't give directions in spanish, much easier) instead of taking a taxi. The only reason I'm not rating the property as 'excellent' is because it can be very difficult to find a taxi at night as most taxis aren't in that area and don't really want to go there. Always call a taxi ahead of time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating breakfast in the gardens; the location in regard to walking within the historical center and Trole bus line
Liked least: The location. I was told by my local friends (and a few taxi drivers) that it is in a very bad area. Security is very good though.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don S
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“IN ECUADOR, WANTA SUITES IS HOME!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The hospitality of Andi and Wolfgang is what makes Wanta Suites a most special place in Ecuador. They are superb hosts, always communicative, and seeking to assure a pleasant stay. All suites are tastefully appointed and clean. We traveled to Mindo, Cuenca, and Manta - yet Wantara was the one and only place that truly felt like "home". We stayed in both the Lagarto and Colibri suites - however we found the Colibri suite to be more conducive to our tastes - with a large porch and more spacious rooms and a direct access to the lovely Wantara garden. The Lagarto, while nice, was next to the street and a bit too busy for our tastes - even though it also can wow you with its charm.

My special thanks to Wolfgang for his fun personality and charm. He is a walking encyclopedia of tourist information on Ecuador.

Wantara is a great place to start your Ecuador experience, or use it as a home base as we did.

Thanks again to Wolfgang and Andi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, decorating, hospitality
Liked least: Suite by the road was noisy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murose858...
Arequipa, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartments with brilliant hosts”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Wantara for a month while we took a Spanish class in Quito. We were a little bit worried on booking that the place looked too good to be true, but it is even better than it looks in the photos!

We stayed in the Luna suite and it was perfect for our needs. The flat was spotlessly clean, had an amazingly comfy bed, the best shower in South America and a Kitchen with everything you would find at home. The courtyard is a lovely place to relax and have a drink or two whilst looking at the well kept garden.

Furthermore Andi and Wolfgang are great hosts, who both greeted us despite our late arrival time and had even stocked the fridge for breakfast on our first day. They are knowledgeable about Quito and Ecuador in general and are always willing to help.

We thoroughly enjoyed our month at Wantara and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in the beautiful Colonial heart of Quito.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, Kitchen, Shower
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wantara wonderland”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Luna Suite at Wantara for a little over 3 weeks. It was our first stop in South America and we weren't sure what to expect and after our taxi took us to the entrace we were a bit nervous about our selection. However, the doors to Wantara opened and a magical oasis appeared. Andi and Wolfgang greeted us and from there on out we felt at home. The two story suite was emaculate and was furnished with anything we would have wanted. Wifi was great on the property, water was always warm, and there was plenty of clean drinking water on the property. The property was cleaned twice a week and laundry services were provided for $5 a load. The location, albeit, up a small hill, was located in the historic center of the city and a 5 minute walk to Calle de la Ronda. Great location, great people, great apartment. Felt like home and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful garden
Liked least: The loud stray cat in the neighborhood - went away after a week
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnViola
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Wantara”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed one month in the Luna Suite. I found Wantara to be a great choice. Andi and Wolfgang are really nice hosts. They speak English, German and Spanish! They are available if you need anything but also you have privacy. The best of both worlds!
The garden is a lovely and serene.
I liked staying in Old Town. Wantara well located as it is just 3 blocks from La Ronda, 4 from Plaza Santa Domingo, 3 from the Trolebus (you can take for 25c and can get to La Mariscal with one easy transfer) and about 6 blocks from a good grocery store. It's on a fairly quiet residential street away from bus fumes and traffic noise. Also, there was safe in my unit.
The kitchen was really well equipped. The apartment was clean and had lots of natural light. The hot water worked really well in the shower. The wifi worked quite well too. I felt safe and secure staying there. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a kitchen to cook in and the view from the windows upstairs.
Liked least: Not being able to walk around at night in the area, but that's a Quito issue, not a Wantara issue..
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing