We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and warm hosts”
Review of Posada Tambuca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Tambuca
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Carlos their son picked us at the airport and transferred us to the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of warm water for the shower at all times. Breakfast was good which included various fruits, coffee, tea, and cooked to order eggs with either ham, tomato, and or cheese.
When we left they took us to the south bus station. Quito has 2 bus stations. The one in the North is for buses heading north out of Quito, and the southern one for buses heading south. The southern bus station is very modern and easier to use.
The location was great, nice and quite yet only 2 blocks to the trolly stop.
The trolly (think electric cable cars) is a suburb way to get around Quito. The city is long and skinny as it winds it's way through a valley. This ensures that most of the city is easily accessible for a short walk from the trolly line. The trollys come by every few minutes and they only cost 25 cents a person. They are very safe with security personnel at many stops. They can be a bit crowded during rush hour so lots of luggage may not be easily managed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank russ3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

my amiga and I stayed at Posada Tambuca for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. we enjoyed our stay there...it was clean, quiet, nice family who ran the place. carlos (the son) picked us up from the airport for an additional fee at 1am! we also met some other really nice travelers there that we hung out with during our time there. breakfast was included. beds were comfortable, and neighborhood quiet but close to many things.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived in Quito and were picked up by Carlos - the son of the family. He's very good in english and we had a perfect conversation whilst driving to Quito. We stayed in Tambuca for almost two weeks and went back two times. Soon it felt like home for us. Carlos and Yolanda always were there for their guests. They helped us finding a good opportunity to climb the Cotopaxi, we were able to leave all our luggage there when we went off for 5 days, we spent a evening together looking at the fotos of our ascend, we loved the cat, there was a great breakfast between 7:30 and 12:00 a.m., everything was perfectly clean and the rooms are all we needed. Even when Carlos and Yolanda didn't speak english, it was always possible to communicate. They were our family in Quito and we can't thank them enough for all they did. I can only recommend staying in Tambuca.
It's not far away from Plaza Foch in Mariscal, just a five-minutes-walk and close to the busstation. They provide free drinkingwater, you have a fully stuffed and clean kitchen to cook in and it never bothered me, sharing a bath with the few other guests.

Tambuca is definitly the best place to stay in Quito!

Room Tip: All rooms looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krism195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Posada Tambuca justifies it's excellent placing amongst other hotels in Quito.

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 2 occasions. On each occasion, the proprietress, Yolanda, welcomed us with a warmth of a close family member.

The breakfasts are an upgrade to other reasonably priced hotels in South America, fresh fruit and good coffee being a highlight. There is a comprehensive communal kitchen for guest use. In addition there is access to drinking water so you can save money and kill less polar bears.

Rooms are clean with extremely comfortable warm beds. There are shared bathrooms, but anyone travelling on a budget will not be perturbed by this (nonetheless, there is a hair-dryer in-situ for those that way inclined...like me).

Yolanda and her charming family are willing to help with any travel arrangements or will give maps/advice/tips to see the city of Quito.

Further to all of this, it is in a great location close to many good eateries and touristic spots. Yet, offset enough to permit a quiet night's sleep and the large gates give the place a secure feel.

I really enjoyed both my stays here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jimmyjimmyjimmyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were warmly received at 5:30 a.m. after an overnight bus trip. We enjoyed coffee and a snack while our room was prepared. We slept and went back for a great breakfast. When we asked if we could hire a car to see Otavalo and Cotacachi Yolanda got Carlitos to take us north for the day. It was a great trip with a personable guide and fabulous food in Cotacachi. The bed was the most comfortable of our trip with new linens (and the towels were new too.)We had a hard time getting up each morning. The shared bathroom was kept clean all day.The house is near great transportation; the city bus tour, and the commuter train line. There are lots of small restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We found this place on trip advisor and as we drove by taxi into a sketchy seeming neighborhood in the dreary late afternoon drizzle i wondered if we had made a mistake. NO mistake...this place was first rate. It is a hostel type hotel with a large shared bathroom, excellent hot water, nice big rooms, extremely comfortable beds (best in the last two weeks of hotels), and among the very nicest proprietors we have encountered in decades of travel. there is an ample kitchen for your own cooking if you want it, and a decent living room area with informative books and maps, excellent internet and it is very very quiet esp. for being so close to the nightlife of the Mariscal district. But do take a cab if you come in late.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The owners, Yolanda and Carlos, went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed every moment of our stay in Quito. They were helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to eat. The facilities are very clean and our room was comfortable. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#36 of 113 in Quito
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Filatelia
Hotel Filatelia
#50 of 113 in Quito
33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#54 of 113 in Quito
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 113 in Quito
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Tambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Tambuca

Address: Luis Cordero E2-19 y Ulpiano Paez, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $27 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Tambuca wants to invite you to visit Quito city and to stay in our strategic and special place. Our team is looking forward to meet you and assist you, so your visit can be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Tambuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing