We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience at Posada Tambuca, highly recommend it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Tambuca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Tambuca
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Villafranca di Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at Posada Tambuca, highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had arranged an airport pickup via Posada Tambuca and upon arrival we were greeted by a really nice taxi driver who took us to the hostel. Yolanda, the owner of Tambuca was wonderful, gave us maps and excellent recommendations on what to explore in Quito, my brother and I felt like we were at home! Some of the best things about this place is the comfort of the beds, we had the best sleep ever. Considering that we had to leave earlier than the time when breakfast was served Yolanda was nice enough to wake up earlier and prepare it for us. It was delicious, I won't forget that freshly squeezed juice, yumm! I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone, it was perfectly located and the owners make it such a special place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'banos' room and would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    68
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
95
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hostel was nice and the free breakfast was above average. My boyfriend and I speak extremely broken spanish and Yolanda and Carlos, the owners, went out of there way to help us out even with the language barrier. They have a kitchen that you can cook in along with all the cookware you need unless you have left overs I didn't see lids to the tupperware. You do have to share a bathroom even in a private room but I saw the cleaning lady clean the bathrooms everyday. The beds are also great and the heavy comforter will surely keep you warm all night. It's located in a more quite area in between New and Old Town Quito so it's not too far of a walk anywhere. Overall I liked the hostel and loved the owners, It is a little expensive but you have everything; hot showers, WiFi, computer access, free yummy breakfast (coffee, fruit, juice, eggs, bread, hot coco), a small travelers library, and a friendly environment. I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Yolanda, the owner of Tambuca, runs an excellent hostel. My wife and I felt safe and welcome during out stay. We had originally planned on staying one night, but I three out my back the first day. Yolanda was full up, but made space for us a second night do I could recover. She also helped us locate a pharmacy. She doesn't speak English, but she's happy to use google translate with you. Her son Carlos speaks some English.
Our room had a nice mattress and was very clean. Each morning we got a breakfast of bread, eggs, juice, and coffee.
If we end up back in Quito we would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank akuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Didn't really know what to expect when I got there, but Yolanda and her family were always friendly and despite the fact that I spoke very little Spanish, we were always able to communicate, and I swear she was awake and at our beck and call 24/7. Fresh juices and jams were available for breakfast along with rolls and omelets. The other housemates were friendly and social. the facilities were decent, and the location was close to public transport, but far enough from the party area that it wasn't overly noisy, but still reachable easily by foot.
Thanks again for the stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgerofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

3 weeks ago Shannon and I began our Ecuador adventure and started out in Quito. We stayed at Posada Tambuca and found it very nice and would easily recommend it. We had some great breakfast and conversations. And thanks for the hot chocolate Yolanda since I'm not a coffee drinker. Shannon and I had a pleasant time ere and if we are in Quito we would return.

Pros:
- while in mariscal where a lot of clubs are it is several blocks away and is quiet
- it is 1 block from the trolley bus ( what your pockets and bags for sure) that goes to la Ronda (old town). On this line you can hit most of the major parks and churches. Otherwise taxis are cheap.
- wifi and a public computer
- egg as you'd like them with fruit, pastry, coffee etc. love to start a good vacation day with a nice breakfast I don't make time for at home.
- Yolanda and Carlos are very helpful. Carlos quite the character. They are more than willing to help.
- not many people were there while we stayed but the ones that were there were very open to sharing their insights which affected our travel by at least 33%.

Areas of improvement:
- they did have hot water for the shower but it was at a trickle pace for most of the time.

Just general travel advisory. I have traveled a lot and I've never encountered more Travellers mentioning that they were pick pocketed as in Quito. At least 1/3 of the backpackers we met who were from everywhere had a bad experience. Luckily we did not. Just be cautious but still explore and enjoy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A little fearful of low cost, mother and 18 daughter breathed sigh of relief with this wonderful family-owned and run hotel. Picked up, as promised, even on a holiday! Comfortable. Clean. The best part was breakfast with an eclectic travels of the world. NY teacher. Swedish young woman environmental scientist and another family traveling with a young son. Library was shared with visitors and the travel maps really helped. High security gates had embedded broken glass on top. High marks for smiles and customer service as the perfect place to get bearings before meeting up with tour group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I took our first trip to Ecuador and stayed at Posada Tambuca while in Quito. It was the best decision I ever made! Yolanda and Carlos truly treated us like family. They took care of us, gave us important information regarding the city and their son Carlitos give us tours of Old Town and Telefériqo. The rooms were cozy, warm and clean, the breakfasts were out of this world (I don't know where Yolanda got her fresh juice every morning, but that's something not to miss!) and included brewed coffee. Tambuca was quiet but close to everything you could possibly need. Needless to say, Yolanda is truly my mom away from home and Tambuca is my home away from home. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#28 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#41 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Tambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Tambuca

Property: Posada Tambuca
Address: Luis Cordero E2-19 y Ulpiano Paez, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Tambuca wants to invite you to visit Quito city and to stay in our strategic and special place. Our team is looking forward to meet you and assist you, so your visit can be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Tambuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing