We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home in Quito” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Tambuca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Tambuca
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Pagosa Springs, CO
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Home in Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for several nights with Pablo and Yolanda at their place in Quito. Being with them is like staying with old friends. They are helpful and friendly beyond the regular meaning of the word. Their place is clean, breakfast are great and it is in a great location about 5 blocks from the Mariscal ("new town") part of Quito. Very safe and quiet. We stored our bags there when we were visiting other parts of Ecuador; left our laundry which was sent out; used their internet; and (in Spanish) received great advice about the intricacies of traveling in the country. All this at an extremely reasonable prlce (if you don't mind sharing the banos). We couldn't have a higher recommendation for this accommodation.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room in the front, next to breakfast area. It's a bit noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carynps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    68
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
95
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Overall: very nice house, clean rooms and very comfortable beds. the owners are incredibly friendly and warm, and try to do everything possible to make your stay a great one.
Pros: clean, spacious rooms with closet space/shelving; comfortable beds; clean bathrooms; large kitchen and common spaces; great breakfast; quiet street
Cons: at the north end of the Mariscal Sucre area, away from the main streets, making the area less safe to walk around at night. surrounding streets are deserted

Stayed here for one night before my flight out of Ecuador. The owners/hosts were very warm and welcoming. The room and bed was great and this place had more comforts of home than any other hostal. Wifi is included, as well as access to a desktop PC and TV. Breakfast is included, which was very extensive and included a great cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyojin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our flight was delayed by 1 day getting to Quito so we had to re-arrange our airport pickup and room for the night and the owners were so helpful and worked it all out for us. Because we arrived late we wanted an extra night in Quito but they didn't have room for us. They didn't need to help us at all but found a hotel for us and walked us there so we found it ok. They also offered to hold our bags the day we were flying and give us a free breakfast, we jumped at the chance.mthey were so helpful and really did make our visit to Quito, M

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Between our return from the Galapagos and our flight back to the USA, we stayed here four nights just before Christmas 2012. Yolande and Carlos were great hosts. We have no Spanish and they have almost no English, but between their valiant attempts to communicate and helpful other guests, we made out just fine. Their son has good English and was available from time to time. Breakfast was very good: rolls, eggs, fruit, juice, and coffee. Rooms were clean. Bathrooms are shared but very clean. Lots of restaurants within a couple of blocks and we had laundry done very cheaply on the next block. Easy access to most parts of the city for just a few dollars taxi fare. The only downside was a bit of noise from late-returning guests, but in a small house-like hostel like this, that is unavoidable. All in all, a very pleasant experience and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

in the mariscal district, the hostal is secured, it s very clean. the breakfast is awesome, with different juice every day. the owners give you many advices, recommend you tour and pick you up or drop of where you want. if i go back to quito i will go back to posada tambuca.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tex2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Me and my husband decided to stay in Quito old town for 3 days to be in proximity of churches and to stay in New town for 2 days to explore Plaza Foch restaurants and be close to airport while flying out to Galapagos and then back to US. In New Town, Posada Tambuca is the best choice to make. We stayed here for 2 days and it is total value for money $30 rooms that are spacious, cosy and very clean. The shared bathrooms are also very clean. Plaza Foch is at a 2min walk where you can find loads of bars and restaurants. We would just walk there around 7:30pm which is safe but take the cab on way back which costs only $2. Very reasonable instead of spending on all the hotels in neighborhood that charge 3 times the money for the same level of rooms and service.

It also includes breakfast which had tea, coffee, eggs, fruits, fresh fruit juice and breads. Recommend it to anyone wanting to stay near airport or Quito new town. They also provide pickup and drop-off to airport for a $6 or can arrange for a cab.

Room Tip: We got a matrimonial bed room which is a Queen sized bed as I was traveling with my husband. They al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mruga_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The owners are very very nice people. The room is very clean aswell as the bathroom. A great breakfast is served in the morning. Its in a nice and quite street, just a 5 minute walk to the main square in La Mariscal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#17 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#41 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Tambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Tambuca

Property: Posada Tambuca
Address: Luis Cordero E2-19 y Ulpiano Paez, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Tambuca wants to invite you to visit Quito city and to stay in our strategic and special place. Our team is looking forward to meet you and assist you, so your visit can be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Tambuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing