We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quirky and eccentric but wonderful decor!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Octava de Corpus

Octava de Corpus
Ranked #79 of 1,288 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“quirky and eccentric but wonderful decor!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We arrived at the door without a reservation to find the door locked though the sign said open. It turns out you have to ring the doorbell with the bell-pull (presumably the owner is protecting his artworks which are diplayed all over the restaurant). As with most Ecuadorian restaurants there is no menu displayed outside so you do not know what you are letting yourself in for before you enter. Its an unusual and interesting place - lots of small rooms filled with art - and not many people in any of them! We ordered what we wanted from the menu but the owner disagreed - not sure whether he simply didn't have those things in or whether he thought we'd made bad choices. So we got what we were given! My husband had a fish dish with prawns which turned out to be very good. I ended up with a steak and prawns ('surf and turf' to you and me) but the steak was really tough and dry so not great. The starters were salad-type dishes, OK, nothing special. There was no fuss made over wine as some others have reported. Overall I would say its a really interesting place to see, maybe stick to fish and if you're in a group rather than just the 2 of you it might not feel quite so lonely!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

what a beautiful place! gorgeous atmosphere! the food is perfect and the service even better! if you are in Quito you should definitely eat here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smeatontower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine in splendid baroque decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Together with a good friend I spent my last evening in Quito in this wonderful restaurant. The place is just a bit outside the old town center, and together with one other couple we were the only guests. THe owner is combining the roles of waiter, cook, wine expert and host in one, in a very charming and hospitable way.
We enjoyed the food (I had the shrimps a la Navarra, a strange but good combination with chorizo), but especially the wine, a good Port as appetizer and a nice red Malbec dessert wine combined with the dessert.
The most enjoyable of the evening was the baroque atmosphere; the restaurant is crammed full with art, paintings, tables are decked with fine linen and antique tableware.
The bill in total was $110 for the two of us - appetizer, main course, dessert, coffee and good wines. Not real cheap, but worth the experience

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene_Jakobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GREAT Wine CELLAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The best wine cellar in town, and with the owner advising you on what is the best wine, Jaime is quite a character, he speaks so enthusiasticly about his business, and eventhough it takes a little more than usual time to serve you, the place, and the environment is delightful to be in,. Ah! and the food is very good as well.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ARTCOLLECTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful New years Eve experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

New Years Eve in Quito: Peruvians definitely do not go out to dinner! They save their fun for midnight fireworks, "dummy" burning, etc. and then a big family dinner at about 1 am. We called Octava de Corpus for a dinner reservation and the owner, Jamie, said they were closing at 10; could we come at 8 pm? Yes, we could, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

First, the address on this web site has the street name misspelled. The correct address is Calle Junin E2-167. It is about a 10 minute walk on well lit, safe streets, from the main square in the "old town" area of Quito. The owner met us at the door, and sat us in the second floor dining area. The atmosphere is superb--a zillion pictures on the walls of a beautifully restored old "townhouse." There were no other patrons! About 9, a group of 6 arrived for a light dinner but otherwise the place was empty. It was NOT due to the food--Jamie was our waiter, wine steward and host, all rolled into one. His English is satisfactory and far better than our Spanish--our Spanish is very limited. That helped. We had champagne (after all, it was New Years Eve) and he offered three different bottles and we picked one. We had asked for a "medium priced" one and were quite satisfied--his choice not only was delicious, but US$50 was quite fair. He did not take the opportunity to "upgrade" us to an expensive champagne. The total cost for appetizers, main course, salad and dessert, including the $50 for the champagne, was US$117.97 including the standard 10% Service (gratuity).

The service was impeccable, and he never rushed us. We ate leisurely and left about 9:45 pm.

Recommendation: lots of stars for a beautiful atmosphere, excellent food prepared perfectly and an attentive host/waiter.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hautevue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octava de Corpus also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Octava de Corpus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing