We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Ecuador”

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine
Ranked #16 of 1,532 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ACHIOTE ECUADOR-CUISINE, we are the entrepreneurship of a small Quito family that has an extensive culinary tradition, where you can not only enjoy Ecuadorian food, but also feel the warmth of a home and a country located in the heart of the Andes . The restaurant offers an unforgettable cultural experience, with an extensive menu of innovative recipes that includes vegetarian options and a diversity of flavors that challenge the palate and bring an exquisite and renewed touch to Ecuadorian cuisine. All this in an intimate atmosphere, accompanied by good music and bilingual attention; in one of the most emblematic neighborhoods of Quito, La Mariscal. The ingredients used are organic, endemic and of high quality, always subjected to a process of gourmet preparation that pays homage to a town that knows how to make the heart happy from the palate.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently went to Ecuador for 3 weeks, and this was the only restaurant in the three weeks that was truly great. Much of the Ecuadorian cuisine that sampled across the country simply had no love. But this restaurant takes a lot of care in the spices and seasoning, as well as the service. The flavours and arrangements were truly fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThePherocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Gerente at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time off to write your opinion about the experience you had at Achiote on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a great meal here at Achiote with a great service. We really like to prepare our dishes with love. We hope you can come back some again day soon.

Achiote Ecuadro Cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 430 of 756 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Small restaurant in a quaint section of New Town. Menu has an excellent selection of Ecuadorian specialties. I had a deep fried pork dish which was excellent. Great variety of fresh salads using mangos, cilantro, avocado, and other common Ecuadorean fruit are featured. Service was friendly and informative. We had to make a second visit to have lunch. On our first visit, the restaurant was closed for a private party and surrounded by security-The President was having lunch!

Thank 98jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Gerente at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time off to write about the experience you had in Achiote. We are glad to here that you came back to try our traditional dishes. We hope you like the food and service that we have to offer. We expect you to come back some day soon to try some new traditional dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A great restaurant in the Mariscal! I wanted to try some typical Ecuadorian dishes and the hotel recommended this restaurant. I tried ceviche and hornado, which both were delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who want to try some of the local cuisine!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Gerente at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time off to write about the experience you had at Achiote. We are glad you like the ceviche and hornado you ordered. Thank you for recommendig the restaurant. We expect you to come again soon to try some new traditional dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food was good. Service was attentive. A bit on the pricey side, but not unusual for la mariscal. Could've done without the suave singer a la demis roussos. Good choice for a Sunday as most restaurants are closed

Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Gerente at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving an opinion about Achiote on TripAdvisor. We hope your experience was unique with our dishes and service. We expect you to come back some day soon to try some new traditional dishes.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was one of our best dining experiences in Ecuador. The restaurant is comfortable and nicely decorated. We were waited on by the owner who was very attentive, friendly and excited about sharing his fine cuisine with us. The food was plentiful and delicious. We highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank begoniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Gerente at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time off to write your opion of Achiote on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a unique experience here with our traditional food and lovey atmosphere. Thank you for recommending the place. We expect you to come back some day soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Achiote Ecuador Cuisine also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Achiote Ecuador Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing