We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food yet”

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine
Ranked #20 of 1,326 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Coming to Ecuador, visiting the jungle, the Galapagos Islands and the great Andes region is an adventure. But this adventure is complemented with the best ecuadorian food offered by us, and our great Ceviche Ecuatoriano, our traditional soups, grilled meat and seafood, and a great selection of wines and drinks. Our modern cozy ambiance will generate an additional great experience in your visit. Call us now!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a very enjoyable evening eating at this smart eatery . No blasting electric samba , quite refined.
Our waitress was very helpful, and let us take our time with the menu .The food was prepared to a very high standard, fruits and vegetables were fresh.
The whole meal was just good, we plan to go back before we leave. Total cost for full deal came to $20 each, for a similar night out in Canada we would pay around $60 each

Helpful?
Thank AdamCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Owner at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer;

We appreciate your comments left on Tripadvisor. It helps us to keep on giving a better service. We hope to see you again soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    203
    78
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KRANJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Recomended restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Friendly staf and good service, warm atmospheir, delitious food also vegetarian one, clean place. I wisited that retorant first with friend who was there before and she told me that they have also good vegetarian food and after again with our group for dinner. It was Saturdey evening and one singer was singing and playing on gitar. We all vere wery satisfay with food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANA57KRANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Owner at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer;

We appreciate your comments left on Tripadvisor. It helps us to keep on giving a better service. We hope to see you again soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Llapingachos and the best ceviche in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our first night in Ecuador on Dec 21 we ate at Achiote on recommendation of our hotel. My partner ate the Cuy (Guinea Pig) which wasn't great - but then again why would you order that. Everything else was wonderful - including some kind of alcohol soaked fruit desert with ice cream.

We had llapingachos - awesome and the quacamole was great too. Empanadas - delicious, light and flavourful. Ceviche - huge shrimp and very filling. Tender succulent beef. Camorones Encocado (shrimp in a coconut sauce) - tasted a little bit like paradise. After dinner they found us a bottle of the Spirit of Ecuador - wonderful and fruity.

The only negative was they had a huge party and ran out of some of the deserts - but on the other hand we were kind of too stuffed to eat desert anyway.

Great wait staff, good food, expensive by Ecuadorian standards, but delicious.

I recommend you call before you go - the hours do not seem to be consistent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Owner at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer;

We appreciate your comments left on Tripadvisor. It helps us to keep on giving a better service. We hope to see you again soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Five of us went for dinner on 26 December, having reserved. We arrived at 8.10pm and left at 9.30, having waited all that time without anything but our drinks being served, and even they had taken several attempts to order. The front of house staff who had been present though ineffectual when we arrived, were now nowhere to be seen, there was clearly a problem in the kitchen, and the one remaining waiter could not give us any information, other than to say the kitchen couldn't cope with the number of orders, yet the restaurant was nearly empty. We had been looking forward to our starters and main courses, but it was clear they would never materialise. We left hungry and disappointed. Appalling management, and wasted evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Owner at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the drawbacks occurred, this kind of issues usually never occur, for this, we have lots of other comments supporting the restaurant`s quality. We are working in order to improve our quality. Hope to see you again soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went there on 26th December. We waited for an hour and twenty minutes before we were served. The food was OK, but the service was appalling. When we finally got what we had ordered, we asked for some bread and we didn't get it until we had finished our course. A group of people sitting near us decided to leave after waiting for more than an hour. The only positive thing was that we got a discount for the long wait.

Helpful?
Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiote Ecuador C, Owner at Achiote Ecuador Cuisine, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the drawbacks occurred, this kind of issues usually never occur, for this, we have lots of other comments supporting the restaurant`s quality. We are working in order to improve our quality. Hope to see you again soon.

Achiote Ecuador Cuisine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Achiote Ecuador Cuisine also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Achiote Ecuador Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing