We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel that is difficult to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #11 of 233 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canoa, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hostel that is difficult to leave.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Relaxed hostel in the heart of Quito. Staff is very nice and family running the hostel lovely to meet and experience Ecuadorean life. Hostel has great location close to everything,but it's garden makes you forget that you are in the big city. Loved the nights by the fire in the garden, many kitchens you can cook for yourself, market close by to buy fruit and vegetables very cheap, helpfully staff, home like atmosphere. Deffinetely place to stay in Quito..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jipijapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    116
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
178
84
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at Colonial House! Ornelia, the owner was so nice and helpful, so were the volunteers. They gave their best to make me feel at home. My room was clean and comfortable. The hostal is close to the historical center of quito, and when this beautiful city gets too busy for you you can go back to the hostal and relax in the garden with the two bunnies :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aturmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We would highly recommend this hostel-it's close to the Old Town and market, the staff (mostly volunteers) are really helpful, and the breakfast will really set you up for the day. The staff also arranged an airport pickup for us, which we arranged by email. We stayed for 6 nights & had no problems.

Room Tip: Staying in rooms at the front of the building means you get lots of morning noise-use your earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I really loved Colonial House! I stayed there on and off during November 2013, as I was traveling to places like the Amazon and Cloud Forest from Quito. Probably did a total of 10 or more nights. I am single woman traveling alone and felt super safe and comfortable there. I'm also older, so not a backpacker, and they have private comfortable rooms with private bathrooms. I stayed in Rm 9. It is above the office so has great wifi in the room. There is kind of a boho vibe and a host of young international volunteers that run the reception. Everyone is super kind and helpful. There is a very hearty breakfast for $3.50 if you sign up the night before. You can leave your luggage in a locked storeroom when you make short trips elsewhere. Go up to the top floor to the community kitchen and see an amazing view of the Basilica and the historic downtown. They have nice patio garden out back with bunnies hopping around. They will also do you laundry by the pound. Be sure to meet "Moo", a cutie little puppy that was rescued while I was there. She turned from the most unlucky puppy into the luckiest puppy overnight! You can get Spanish lessons there too, an outside person comes in for privates as requested.

You are in the historical part of town and about a 10 min walk right into the downtown and main plaza. The immediate neighborhood feels a little sketchy at first, but it really is not once you get acclimated. Take time to walk up and down the streets right there, very sweet narrow colonial streets that are residential. Walk straight down Olmedo into town, it's about 3 or 4 blocks downhill and the road sort of dead ends into a sporting center, but really just veer left and Olmedo continues. You can take this right into the center of the historic old town and turn left on Guayaquil to go to the Grand Plaza. I always came home this way, even after dark and felt quite safe, staying on Olmeda helped me not to get lost on the dark streets.

The house is very old so an odor comes out of the pipes, especially if you haven't taken a shower recently it can be stinky coming from the shower. Just keep the bathroom door closed and know that the smell is normal for that age house and pipes, and it's better if you run some water down the drain. I always had a nice hot shower.

I would stay here anytime I returned to Quito and have already sent 2 sets of friends there.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the garden are probably the quietest, but I was on the street and liked it just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler18427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I was there for one night only. I got the room right above the street which was cool. I can't really give anymore stars because I found that the hostel was very musty and dirty. Please buy some new bedding or something.
The rain in Quito was relentless so I just booked a flight for Manta to hit the beach and warm weather. The people that work there are nice though. The owner not so much.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CabbageAndSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our little family of three stayed at the Colonial House for about a week and we were there on Christmas Day. From the very beginning to the last night we felt at home and were treated like family. All of the staff made us feel comfortable and taken care of, especially for me who was sick the first few days adjusting to the altitude of Quito. Their breakfast here is top notch and very filling; fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and granola with eggs and bread...! We stayed in a room by the garden and had a wonderful view of Teleferiqo and woke up to the song of birds every morning. Rooms are clean and well kept. Thank you to Paulina and little Valentina for their hospitality and kindness and making us feel welcome during our stay in Quito!

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room by the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattysurmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop on our travels through South America and we were so happy with our choice that we came back here later when we passed through Quito again.
The breakfast was nice but small, so I'd recommend stocking up at the supermarket and using the perfectly well equipped kitchens.
The showers DO have hot water but there is a knack - turn the tap slooooooowly until the lights dim and there you go :) If that freaks you out, South America is not for you.
The location is good - from the bus stops nearby you can catch a bus to most places. We were in two minds about whether the area was truly dodgy after dark or whether we were just nervous because it was our first visit to Quito and we weren't sure what to expect, but the owners do warn you not to go out after about nine without a taxi, and to wait for that taxi inside.
All in all a good choice in Quito.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weetruffle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 233 in Quito
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#23 of 233 in Quito
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#2 of 233 in Quito
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinde House
Kinde House
#4 of 233 in Quito
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 233 in Quito
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Property: Colonial House Quito
Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing