We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice house, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #9 of 236 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Directly in the colonial town of Quito, pretty central. Excellent stuff, very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. The room was nice, a little bit musty. Very nice garden, relaxing common area (with pool table), nice kitchen (hot water for tea, and clean drinking water).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorsten r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Quito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Ornelia the owner's Fab, volunteers all spoke english and knew tonnes about Quito. I originally stayed for two days and I extended to eight. A really charming place..

Room Tip: Ask for the private room with the mountain view on the top floor!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brogan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As the title says, the staff were great. They were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hostel is conveniently located in old town near to restaurants and a major ATM. There is bag storage for when you go on trips outside of Quito. That was super convenient for us. The rooms are clean and simple. It can be quite noisy early in the morning and at night as people come and go so I recommend bringing ear plugs. The showers are very low pressure and the hot water comes and goes. That was our only real complaint - the noise and showers.

Breakfasts includes fruit, eggs and bread and tea/coffee - good value for $3.5.

Not all private rooms are equal, some have a door while others have a sheet. I definitely recommend room number 1 on the top floor. It has a balcony over looking street (street noise though..). WIFI only seems to work on ground floor.

Overall, its all good - stay here and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swyllie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel,nice staff and large lounge rooms with even a pool table available! Rooms are ok but noicy due to the fact that the house is made of wood sealings and floors.the garden is a good place to relaxed,watch out for the bunnies hopping around.various places to eat close by so definitely worth it!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank keideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited Colonial house twice and can highly recommend the place particularly due to the helpfully and friendly staff.
The rooms were fine but a bit cold.
The location was perfect close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Good and safe location nearby the old city centre and restaurants. Beautiful old building with cozy and colourful rooms. The staff is just excellent, so friendly and always trying to help you. We lost our luggage and they called several times with the airline etc. There's a kitchen, TV room (with lots of DVD's!) and hangouts. Good beds and clean bathrooms. Thanks for the nice stay colonial house!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank coensann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

As far as hostels go it's basically fine. The rooms are clean, it's in a decent location and it's relatively safe. There are basically two types of hostels, party and chill. Unfortunately this place goes beyond chill and crosses into unfriendly. No one talks to each other and there is none of that typical hostel chatter and hanging out.

The staff is all volunteers and the owner and family live on site. They all have their own little clique and keep to themselves. From what I can tell they were a large percentage of the people in the hostel actually.

Also, it should be noted that the showers are absolutely horrible. In order to have hot water the pressure is so low you can barely manage.

All in all I would avoid this place if you want to hang out with other travelers and have a nice vibe.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aggienmmi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#36 of 111 in Quito
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 111 in Quito
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 111 in Quito
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.3 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#1 of 236 in Quito
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $12 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing