We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #10 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like being at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is like going to stay at grandmas house (complete with frilly toilet seat covers!). We loves the cosy rooms, beds with lots of snug blankets and pillows, all day tea and coffee, lounge areas and communal kitchen. Paco was incredibly helpful and was always busy calling cabs and organizing day trips. He put us in contact with Pablo at Surtrek for our Galapagos and Cotopaxi trips (which were both amazing). The breakfast is unbelievably good value.

The only draw back for us was the quiet location which meant we had to take a lot of taxis-luckily they are very cheap. Luckily there is an excellent Italian restaurant down the road where we ate three times!

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    115
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
174
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amazing volunteer staff (Maria & Paco) who were constantly ringing up taxis for guests, calling bus companies for information, cooking breakfasts etc, great price (20 USD for private with double bed and a clean shared bathroom), good location just to the side of the Old City, lots of activities possible via them or at least information if you want it. 2 computers free to use, great breakfast (granola, yoghurt, bowl of fruit, eggs, coffee/tea, fresh juice) for 3.50USD. Overall one of the best hostels I´ve stayed in in 6plus months of travel, I would recommend it to anyone.

Negative point is the shower, which if you want hot water (which you will as Quito can get a little nippy at night) turns to a dribble, even though it dims all the lights on your floor suggesting some big forces are at work!

Room Tip: I liked the ones on the top floor of the main building, noone creaking above you and you have a kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in October 2011. Great place. Cosy and intimate. The host is so friendly and will go out of her way to help you. She even got up early one morning (before breakfast time) to make us a special mini-breakfast for our journey and of course she didn't charge us. She is a lovely woman. All the best to her and the hostel.

¡Saludos y suerte!

-Natalija B

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat_babz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The building had a lot of character and the staff were really friendly. Free water when it was filled up and also free tea and coffee.

The building was literally freezing cold all the time even when it was warm outside. They do give you a huge pile of blankets so it's ok when you're in bed but other than that you just want to get outside to warm up. The latch on the door was a bit dodgy and the road was really noisy in the mornings so try to get a room away from the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_darkshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a great stay at the Colonial House Quito.

It's a lovely building with great character, but the best part for us was the staff, particularly Maria who is just very charming. Everyone there is very friendly and welcoming - they make sure you're taken care of.

They have a very good WIFI connection, but it works best in the hostel lobby (indoors) and adequately out in the back garden, but not so well upstairs in the rooms.

We particularly enjoyed the back garden however, which comes with hammocks, tables, a few chickens and ducks and one rabbit. A lovely place to read or relax.

It feels very secure and is a great base to explore Quito from.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on at the back of the third floor - they're the quietest by far. Rooms near the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VgabndHapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for a week on the 3rd floor. This place is phenomenal. Staying on the 3rd floor was like having our own apartment. There's a full kitchen, bathroom, dining room and entertainment room all up there. It's located two blocks from the Central Market (which has awesome soup and juices) and all the local fruits and vegetables vendors. It's 3-4 blocks from the bus stop. The staff/volunteers were super helpful and friendly. In the months we've been traveling, this was probably our favorite hostel yet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Ornelia and her staff are just lovely and go out of their way to help you find things to do and order taxis etc for you. Loved the rooms, very warm and comfortable with a very sweet decor. Breakfast was delicious and good value. I cannot rave on about this place enough. I guess if you were going to be really picky a few of the previous posts talk about hot water not being hot enough- it was perfect as long as you don't turn the water pressure on too hard, although occasionally the trip switch would also be triggered (during peak times). As I said, this is not enough for me to not recommend this place as we loved it so much we even stayed here twice!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinde House
Kinde House
#4 of 228 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 254 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#21 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#24 of 228 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Property: Colonial House Quito
Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing