We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, near Old Town, nice owner, clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #10 of 237 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just spent one night at Colonial House, but I highly recommend it! it was a great place to stay if you're looking to be near Old Town. Recommend it for its cleanliness, comfort, and value. Ornelia & her volunteers make you feel like family. Great breakfast for $3.50 as well!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Quito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Spent a total of five nights (over a three week period) at Colonial House. It was a great place to stay if you're looking for location, cleanliness, comfort, and value.

Ornelia, her volunteers and her driver were professional and caring. Great advice for our Galapagos trip and on restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruysanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
estes park
569
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Room Tip: Ask for the third fllor room with a balcony. Wven though it is on the street side, we didn't he...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was the first place we stayed at in Ecuador, and Ornelia, the owner, made us feel very comfortable. She is the best thing about the hostal - serving wonderful breakfast, giving good advice, and treating us like her children (in a good way!).

The room was fine - at only $22 for a double with en suite it was never going to be luxurious. The bed was very comfortable, and the view from our room towards the Basilica was fantastic. While there is hot water, you have to put the water strength to just a little bit over anaemic to find it. Also the walls are pretty thin, and we were woken in the mornings a few times (we stayed 6 nights in total, either side of various trips).

For the money it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UninhibitedAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was our first time staying in a hostel and we couldn't have been more pleased. We came to Ecuador without much of a plan on what to see and how to get there. Ornelia and the staff helped us plan our days and navigate the public transportation system...so that after two days, we were taking day trips and spending $4 for bus tickets compared to $100 we'd have to spend for a private driver. We checked out and headed to the airport...only to find out we had missed our flight. All we had to do was go back 'home' to the Colonial House and the volunteers/Ornelia got us back into a room and helped us move to Plan B. WIFI, garden, clean rooms, friendly people, community kitchen. What more can you ask for? To top it off, eat the breakfasts! Best $3.50 I've ever spent!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms. Ask for a room away from the street. Much quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CISNE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We used colonial house as a base for exploring Northern Ecuador over a couple of weeks. $20 per night incl tax for a double private room w shared bath. The hospitality was fantastic, Ornelia our host was always happy to help out, as were the volunteer assistants. We really felt at home here, and it was a nice relaxed vibe. Free tea/coffee/water all day and a good breakfast of eggs, fruit, muesli, bread/jam/nutella and juice for only 3.50. Only negative was that Wifi Internet is a little patchy, not avail in all rooms. Hot water showers at low pressure. Several common areas, 2 computers. Very colorful 3 storey house with about 12 rooms, soon to expand into a second building. Nice outdoor garden area. Location is good, near old town, bus stations, and away from the overtouristy Mariscal area. In our mind, this is THE place to stay in Quito.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Colonial House is a great place to come to feel at home, mostly because of the great staff and warm environment. Ornelia, the owner, is an amazing person and the staff here really genuinely want to help you and make you feel at home. In addition, the prices are really great for what you get. The building is quite old, but the rooms have big, comfy beds and there is always hot water. In addition, the food is great, the common areas are nice, and there is a great kitchen that you can cook in to save $$. I'd definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#36 of 112 in Quito
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.3 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#1 of 237 in Quito
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $12 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing