We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally friendly and relaxed home-away-from-home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Quito
Ranked #19 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We used colonial house as a base for exploring Northern Ecuador over a couple of weeks. $20 per night incl tax for a double private room w shared bath. The hospitality was fantastic, Ornelia our host was always happy to help out, as were the volunteer assistants. We really felt at home here, and it was a nice relaxed vibe. Free tea/coffee/water all day and a good breakfast of eggs, fruit, muesli, bread/jam/nutella and juice for only 3.50. Only negative was that Wifi Internet is a little patchy, not avail in all rooms. Hot water showers at low pressure. Several common areas, 2 computers. Very colorful 3 storey house with about 12 rooms, soon to expand into a second building. Nice outdoor garden area. Location is good, near old town, bus stations, and away from the overtouristy Mariscal area. In our mind, this is THE place to stay in Quito.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Colonial House is a great place to come to feel at home, mostly because of the great staff and warm environment. Ornelia, the owner, is an amazing person and the staff here really genuinely want to help you and make you feel at home. In addition, the prices are really great for what you get. The building is quite old, but the rooms have big, comfy beds and there is always hot water. In addition, the food is great, the common areas are nice, and there is a great kitchen that you can cook in to save $$. I'd definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I stayed at Colonial House off and on over a week and a half in mid-october. We all felt very comfortable here and were so appreciative of the warm welcome we would get every time we arrived "home". Ornelia, the owner and Antoine, the volunteer manager at the time, were both amazing people and were always available to help with anything!

Laundry, breakfast if you want ($3.50), fully stocked kitchen if you want to prepare your own meals, luggage storage, trip ideas, tv, dvds, wifi (works best downstairs but was no problem working in the office), computers are also available if you don't have your own.

They helped us organize a Galapagos cruise as well as a jungle tour so our off and on stay was in-between these getaways. On the days that we stayed in Quito, they always had ideas and suggestions as to what we could do. One day they arranged for a driver (Patricio) to take is to Otavalo market, the condor bird sanctuary and a beautiful waterfall. It was a great day!

The house is near the old city and we enjoyed walking around during the day- if we were out past 7:30 or so we would grab a taxi back.

You have to be aware anywhere around quito. Don't take valuables with you and pay attention to your surroundings!

So much to say about this great place,.. Did I mention that it's $9 per person a night for a room with 3beds,... We would definitely recommend this hostel to people with or without kids, young and old(er)!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I'm not a hostel or B&B guy, but when I learned that my wife and I could stay for $20 bucks a night (for both of us, not each), I just had to give it a try. From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time that they dropped us there again, we were in great hands. Look, this place isn't the Ritz, but if you want a safe, clean and comfortable room, a staff that seems to truly care for you and a delicious breakfast each morning to start you on your way, this is a great place.

We spent 7 nights in a room with a private ensuite bath. Had hearty breakfast every morning, a couple frosty big beers every night when we returned from our travels and a weeks worth of laundry done for less than $250. You won't go wrong at the Colonial House! We will definitely be back there the next time we're in Quito.

Room Tip: Good view of Quito and the Basilica del Voto Nacional from the 3rd Floor room next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stremma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The place was impeccably clean and cozy. The showers were hot, the internet fast and the staff were amazing people. The owner of the house is a lovely lady we felt like we were at home. It was a nice place to rest after exploring Quito. The kitchen was fully stocked and the common areas were large and clean. We recommend to everyone we meet going to Quito.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, it was nice, clean, spacious, and we could get a wireless signal in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We travel regularly and this was the first time we stayed in a B and B, The manager, Ornelia and her staff helped to make our stay an unforgettable one. We were treated like family. The rooms are clean and comfortable. During our stay we had a room with a private bathroom and we also had one with the shared bathroom. Both were very clean. at all times. There is also a kitchen that was very well kept.

The rooms facing the street tend to be a bit noisy in the early hours of the morning due to the delivery of market produce to a vegetable shop near the hostal. The location is excellent for seeing the "Old Town", and with all large cities one has to be careful when going out after dark, We walked around a bit near the hostal after dark and it seemed safe. However if you are out late a taxi (very cheap) is the best option.

We will definitely stay here again. A great place that is affordable and excellent, caring managemnt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa_trini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you're coming to Quito on a tight budget (or not) and prefer to be near el Centro Historico area, you'd be short-changing yourself to not stay at the Colonial House. I have stayed here more than 5 times when passing through, and the owner, Ornelia, has become like a second mother to me. The building has the most wonderful, charming vibe, the beds and rooms are cozy, the open kitchen and common areas are wonderful, the in-house breakfast is delicious and a real bargain and the staff will bend over backwards to ensure your stay is memorable.

I have met bearded backpackers, retired couples, married couples, solo-travelers and even invited my parents to stay here despite their reluctance, wanting to book a proper hotel. My parents were SO happy with their decision. Everyone loves it here, and I have made lasting friendships here with each stay.

I found myself here on Christmas and New Years Eve, and Ornelia threw large pot-luck parties and even highered a live band which played traditionaly folk music. We ate, drank wine and danced the night away.

The neighborhood is, admittedly, a bit dodgey down below the hostal, but with proper precautions, it is nothing to worry about.

I have traveled extensively in South America and I always, always come back to the Colonial House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GringoMaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#92 of 112 in Quito
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#2 of 247 in Quito
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hump Day Hostel
Hump Day Hostel
#2 of 285 in Quito
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#17 of 247 in Quito
192 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa de la Gringa
La Casa de la Gringa
#10 of 247 in Quito
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Quito Cultural
Hostal Quito Cultural
#20 of 247 in Quito
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Quito

Address: Olmedo 432 | entre Rios y Vicente Leon, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Quito 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing