We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, restful, place in Quito”
Review of Casa Helbling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Helbling
Ranked #9 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful, restful, place in Quito”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about our 9 day stay at Casa Helbling. Hubert and his staff were warm, friendly and Hubert has a good sense of humor to boot.. The hotel is close enough to the Mariscal to be within easy walking distance, but far enough to avoid the noise. My group rented three rooms all of which were inviting. The main gathering point/dining room's fireplace always had a fire in the evening, which when combined with a nice glass of wine (which one can charge to one's room) was reflective of how inviting Casa Helbling is overall. Much of the staff is tri-lingual and they were always helpful with advice about all manner of things. The staff keeps the place immaculate, and the general level of construction is very high (I've been in highly rated Quito hostels where everything is put together in a rather slapdash fashion). I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Quito.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH511D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
71
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good location in the Mariscal district but far enough from the noise. Breakfast not included in the room price. Clean rooms with hot water. The room we were in was quiet (BARBIE). Great customer service, Hebert is funny and Geraldine was super helpful helping us get out of Quito on the eve of a holiday.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Barbie room away from the common space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirlcurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights before I when on my Galapagos tour. It was a great stop over hostel with a book of quito tour you could book, a good kitchen and comfortable door. They have a safe for looking away your valuables which was good and accessible 24hrs as there reception is 24hrs also. The hostel is very safe and the staff are helpful in booking any taxi or giving you a map with directions to Anyang you may need. They also allowed me to keep a bag locked up there while I went on my Galapagos trip which was helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauren0690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was recommended to me by the Amazon Lodge where I stayed. Well, I would say this place - the service was just ok even if the surroundings and the quality of the establishment were very nice. The beds are good, hard yet comfortable and the blankets are very warm. The 6 bed dorm when I stayed the second time was just unlocked because there was only one key so the key stayed in the room and the door remained unlocked. English is only spoken during the day, not at night (I arrived late and left early the first time I stayed and struggled to make sense of the late night desk person) and they do have trouble with their internet from time to time so getting a hold of them to make a booking can be a pain via email. The location is pretty central and seems really safe but my experience was not particularly helpful or friendly, with the exception being Lilia. Again English seemed like a frame of mind rather than a language to impart good and helpful information with. It seemed that the hosts felt more comfortable in other languages. I felt that I was being a nuisance by asking for a particular kind of fruit salad because of my food intolerances, and not particularly welcomed or cared for. Maybe just a difference between German and other cultures? Maybe if I had stayed longer it would have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturenewt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a treasure.
Perfectly located just outside the party area of Mariscal (which means quiet nights)
The beds are very comfy with enough blankets, very comfortable kitchen and big communal areas, a handy place to do your laundry and enough place to dry it and very, very clean
And I wish to thanks Hubert and his staff for their helpful information and their time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in a double room (actually, there were 3 beds in our room) with private bathroom.

+ extremly friendly hosts which provide you with all reliable information you may require for your ecuador trip
+ charming and very clean room with cozy blankets
+ good hot shower with good pressure
+ free and reliable wifi at all places
+ safe service at the reception for your belongings
+ well situated in quito, close to zona rosa, supermarket, atm, laundry service
+ clean and well equipped kitchen
+ good breakfast with great bread (almost like at home)
+ you can get a "plättli" (swiss term for a plate with delicious salami, cheese, bread, olives...)

what could be improved in our view (details...)
- offer granola with fruit and yogurt for breakfast
- make sure that the guest gets the information leaflet as well as the introduction tour (eg where the beautiful terrace is) when not one of the "main hosts" are on duty

our conclusion: highly recommended, we would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very warm welcome from Claus the owner and his staff. Pleasant atmosphere, close to town centre. Good rooms for good price. Claus also provides perfect advices and help for anything you want to visit in Equador: Galapagos, Mindo, Rain Forest etc.
Big thank you Claus and maybe we meet in Patagonia later this year!!
Sylke & Michel

Room Tip: Better to reserve a room in advance to make sure you get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkemontagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 111 in Quito
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 111 in Quito
735 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#34 of 111 in Quito
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Helbling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Helbling

Property: Casa Helbling
Address: General Veintimilla E8-152 y 6 de Diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Helbling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing