We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
The Galapagos & the Amazon

Our trip was for a family with teens to the Galapagos and the Amazon. These places are just not... read more

Reviewed August 25, 2019
Welkom66
Wonderful experience

We worked with Alexandra to plan our trip to the Galapagos and Tena. Both trips went well, and we... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2019
thedailywax_eliza
,
Quito, Ecuador
Read all 5 reviews
  
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveler rating
5
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed August 25, 2019

Our trip was for a family with teens to the Galapagos and the Amazon. These places are just not ordinary so you really would like to have a memorable experience this was for us the main reason to ask for help and Diego from Equador and Galapagos Insiders did a fantastic job to help us out with an amazing boat trip to the Western Islands of the Galapagos and a trip into the Amazon. Everything was perfectly organized, the communication was prompt and correct, all the information we needed in advance was communicated, a packing list for both regions everything into details.
I would highly recommend them.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Welkom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

We worked with Alexandra to plan our trip to the Galapagos and Tena. Both trips went well, and we found the team to be very reliable. Alexandra's emails were concise and professional. We had everything we needed for both tours, and the additional detail provided by Galapagos Insiders was extremely useful. We would work with them again and highly recommend it!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank thedailywax_eliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Marcelo Guerrero of Ecuador and Galapagos Insiders provided excellent service in booking a wonderful 8 day sailboat tour of the Galapagos Islands. He e-mailed us detailed information promptly and clearly in excellent English, answered all our questions usually the same day, and graciously and efficiently arranged additional accommodations and travel to meet our needs. I recommend him to anyone thinking about a trip to Ecuador.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank WMintkeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Starting to get weary lately of planning trips in detail we had half-planned several recently, leaving nitty-gritty details to local (in country) DMCs. Three of those so far and now another, Ecuador & Galapagos Insiders. Bottom line: a perfect choice, making for another great holiday.

This time we went to Ecuador for about three weeks. The self-planned itinerary was for a semi-upscale, average 4 star, visit to Galapagos, Otovalo, the Amazon basin, a bit of Quito and some mountain relaxation at the end. We charged EGI with coming up with recommendations; they came through splendidly. In each location they recommended two or more properties (or boats in the islands), all of which met our needs. It was but a few questions later that we made our selections of which and what room types. And basically, all were hits. [See my Ecuador reviews here for where we ended up.]

After checking out EGI online and with a couple of emails to properties, we gave them all the bookings and let them run with it. A few tweaks here and there and we had a booked itinerary. They even were able to add a few unexpected perqs in there such as, along with the boat operator, an included night at the Marriott. The only sticking point was due to my own stubbornness: I balked at first at using their private car transfers in most places. Eventually I acquiesced and learned that those transfers (such as Quito to the Amazon basin) were not only really advisable (the alternatives being excruciating multiple public bus rides) but less expensive in the long run. So if you use them, listen to them!

Everyone we worked with, primarily Marcelo in the office and drivers, were professional, competent, friendly, and a joy to be with. When I inadvertently buried my cellphone in the bedcovers when packing in one hotel (leaving for Otovalo for a few days), the hotel let them know; Marcelo himself retrieved the phone and arranged for it to be at the front desk at our hotel in Quito a few days later! Superb.

Independent travel, which is what this essentially was, often requires extensive consultation with others (think of the bar/lounge in your last hostel) before execution of a plan. That's what we essentially had here, with consultation first and then simply letting them carry out the bookings, tracking, and the other annoying minutiae of travel. Worth every penny but, of course, their services cost us nothing out of pocket. Ecuador & Galapagos Insiders: highly and unequivocally recommended.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews