We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect event!!!”
Review of ZAO

ZAO
Ranked #6 of 1,349 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect event!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I hired Zao for 50 people dinner, it was amazing!!! great and personalized service, everyone made me feel like being at home. Food was superb... and our guests where very happy to be there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    168
    52
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thatastes you can enjoy here are very different. Ask for many dishes if you can so you mix flavors. Food is really great and service was awsome!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Verdezoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cold Fusion”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I went with some coworkers for drinks and a quick bite after work and we were relegated to the side bar sitting on the tiny plastic bean bag looking chairs and a coffee table because we did not have a reservation. We were pretty early, so the place was empty when we arrived and was still rather empty when we left. It was late December 2011, so I'm pretty sure that they had some events planned.
The food was definitely "Asian inspired" than real fusion. The Pad Thai was spicy with some sort of orange sauce with not even a glimmer of the deliciousness of the original. The pisco sour was pretty good, but the yawn worthy food mixed with the bad seating just has left me with no desire to ever go back. Ambience is nice if you get a reservation, and considering the lack of upscale Asian places in Quito, I understand the appeal; but for me, this attempt at fusion felt a bit cold.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2chicos1mochila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ambience, Delicious Food and Great service”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I loved my Asian experience at Zao!! The restaurant is beautiful and alive with very attentive servers and a fantastic Chef, Raphael!

I was treated so well by everyone on the team! The chef prepared a tasting menu for me which I highly recommend!!
I also love the selection of cocktails and it was fun people watching!

I would absolutely come again to this wonderful and exotic yet relaxing place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Asian confusion...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Love the ambiance and the lounge area but the food needs major improvement. The tofu dish for appetizer was nice but dipping sauce was just off. My friend ordered salad but the dressing was way to salty so she can't finish it. My girlfriend ordered pad Thai and the noodle was not cooked and it was way too sweet and again she cannot finish it. I ordered shrimp dish and ate only half of it. My suggestion : chef might wanna travel to Asia and learn how to make Asian food. They don't have to be authentic but they should to be delicious...don't you think?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHNFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZAO also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to ZAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing