We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent criollo food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Clorinda

Mama Clorinda
Ranked #84 of 1,324 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Latin, Ecuadorean, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Ecuadorian cuisine restaurant just off Plaza Foch serves tasty national specialties . Try the llapingachos (fried pancakes of mashed potatoes with cheese) with steak or, for the adventurous, cuy (guinea pig). Mama Clorinda's as the place to have traditional Ecuadorian food.
Dameron, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent criollo food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to Mama Clorinda on advice of our hostal, and we were not disappointed. The dishes were ample and delicious, service was good, and many of the staff spoke English. We particularly recommend the cheese and potato soup, although we got excellent cheese and potato soup many places in Ecuador; it's a national specialty for good reasons!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSquared04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    165
    111
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chia, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent traditional Ecuadorian Food served with smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good taste and value. We enjoyed very delicious cheese "Empanada" and a perfect Llapingacho Mixto. Please don't hesitate to visit this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ces_rend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient Cuy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mama Clorinda's is conveniently located on one corner of Plaza Foch. We went early, around 6 pm, on a Saturday and practically had the restaurant to ourselves. Service was adequate and the food average.

The main draw for this restaurant is the fact that it serves cuy, fried or baked guinea pig, which is a traditional Ecuadorian dish. This was served with the head intact, but absent feet. It was tasty, but nothing remarkable; not remarkable except for the fact that it was once a furry little animal.

If you're looking for Ecuadorian food in this area, try Fried Bananas. It's half the price and twice as good (only caveat; no cuy)!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed the meals we had in this restaurant. The service was excellent , prices were not too expensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christineworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was ok but not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

i ate the meat in mushrooms sauce, but the meat was really small, and the flavor it wasnt amazing it was normal. i also ate a ceviche but it was really sweet. the service is fine and the atmosphere is ok

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josee151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Clorinda also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Mama Clorinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing