We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel in Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #14 of 231 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Magical hotel in Quito”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is truly unique, and guests who stay here are lucky to be a part of such a special place. The hotel is unlike many others, boasting a restaurant, an art gallery and an antique store (which is impeccably curated). The staff is super accommodating, and opened the antique store for us at an off hour just to let us browse (and purchase, as it is impossible not to with so many amazing items!).

The actual building is disguised from the street, but is expansive with many levels to explore on the inside. The restaurant has an outside seating area, and every part of this place is covered with art and antiques from Ecuador.

If you are going to Quito, and are looking for something special, please look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariemarblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind appreciation of our beautiful hotel boutique. For us was a real pleasure to serve you and try to help you on anything that you needed. You were for us part of the family, and of course we worried when you didnot get your luggage and your medicines. We were so glad that everything was solved. We do hope you will return and will recommend us to your friends and relatives. We will treat them accordingly with all our hearts. Everyone of the people that works here, remembers you both with great respect, as you were so kind and courteous. Please do come back. Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    27
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
52
100
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January, and can only confirm all the positive comments from previous reviewers. It did feel more like we were staying in a bed and breakfast, partly because this boutique hotel occupies a home that was built in the 1700's, and so the actually rooms are all individual, very large, and filled with antiques, and partly because we were treated like we were still visiting a family home. In fact the owner, an amazingly elegant and energetic lady, treated us more like distant relatives visiting Quito for the first time. She advised us on a couple of things to see in the old part of Quito (all within easy walking distance), that we otherwise would have missed. One in particular, the Carmelite convent cloisters museum, was especially worth an hour or so to wander through. And when we were leaving to transfer over to the new part of Quito, she drove us in her own car, rather than call a taxi for us. But back to the Casa San Marcos, we have on other trips paid to see period houses that are now open as museums, that were not as beautiful and full of interesting antique furnishings as this casa. The king mattresses and bathrooms are fortunately completely modern though! We loved the personal attention from all of the staff members, who were all eager to please in every way. We loved the street views from our little balconies, and yes, the street was very quiet at night (and in fact all the time). We felt completely safe walking in the neighbourhood by day and by night. We loved the casa's outdoor covered breakfast patio, especially the view of El Panecillo with the Virgin of Quito at the top, and the bottlebrush tree to the side, that was visited regularly by large hummingbirds. We found the breakfasts perfect, with great cafe-au-laits, fresh fuits, hot croissants, and eggs to order. Perhaps there were yogurts available, and I am sure if you asked, the next morning they would be offered. In summary, this is a terrific one-of-a-kind place to stay. And as a final comment, we did enjoy our experience at the Cafe Dios No Muere, just a block away, even though the last thing we expected in a tiny corner of a monastery in Old Quito was a Louisiana ex-pat-owned cafe. Mat does wonders with Ecuadorian empanadas, and all other dishes, some with a cajun touch, looked very tempting. All extremely reasonably priced, and a great selection of beers too (we never got to the wines on offer).

Room Tip: We were in "Geranios II", but really it probably depends on your preference for the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest:
Our greatest desire is that you always feel at home when you visit our boutique hotel, we are always willing to atendereles all your needs, we hope to see them again.

best wishes

Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

great place, full of character and amazing staff! Very nice, smiling, helpful people - a big hug to Cris! The location is perfect as it is just in the heart of the city centre.
Probably the breakfast could be a little bit richer but it is freshly made with lovely juices.
Highly recommended place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleeAle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments, they are very valuable to us, we are always willing to improve and provide better service to all our customers and friends

many greetings
Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Thank you, Trip Advisors, for leading us to this adorable hotel right in the heart of the Old Town in Quito. The hotel, which feels and is run like the most adorable bed and breakfast you've ever stayed in, is perfectly situated within just a few blocks of many of the churches and other sites you will want to see. Breakast each morning on the patio was simply wonderful, and I cannot say enough about the staff. They recommended great restaurants and set us up on a private guided tour to Otavalo and Mitad del Mundo. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Client: We are very happy to read your wonderful opinion about our hotel. Opinions like yours makes us more enthused to work really hard to make our customers as happier as we can make them. We also were impressed on your kindness and well being. We will certainly love to have you back with us, Best wishes on the new year, and may you have many trips around world and of course coming back to Quito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located in the old town and safe area. It is a very cosy boutique hotel with a very pleasant staff to help you out. They do have a guide who work for the hotel and to hire with his car for a day. Excellent service and not expensive. 135$ for one day touring to Otavallo.
Although they forgot to make our room one day, we will forgive beacuase the staff is service minded.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure for us to receive such positive news about our hotel, we are always glad to welcome them to you.

regards
Maite
















































































Traductor de Google para empresas:Google Translator ToolkitTraductor de sitios webGlobal Market Finder









Desactivar traducción instantáneaAcerca del Traductor de GoogleMóvilPrivacidadAyudaDanos tu opinión
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends for a few nights while exploring Quito, and it was amazing!! The hotel is centrally located in the Old Town, beautiful, and it feels like one is staying in someone's incredibly well-decorated home. The staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. They also helped us arrange a day tour, and the guide they use, Giovanni, was awesome as well - incredibly knowledgeable, flexible in the itinerary, and friendly! Breakfast at the hotel (included) was also delicious and made-to-order. A perfect Quito hotel; I will be recommending it to anyone I know who is headed to Quito!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LoboTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest
It is our pleasure to know that your stay was a very amazing and wonderful time for you, we hope to have you back again to Ecuador and of course in the Boutique Hotel Casa San Marcos
kindly regards, and best wishes for these year
Maite Caviedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 lovely nights at Casa San Marcos, a lovely, elegant casa teeming with art and antiques. This property is on a fairly quiet street, the last block of which is pedestrian, and is only 3 or 4 blocks from Plaza Grande. Given our 3 night stay, we opted for a larger room (like a suite setup) that provided space to spread out and relax while we recovered from long days sightseeing and exploring Old Town. Our room was just perfect for that. It had a nice couch and coffee table, a side chair and a small writing desk and chair. There was also ample (armoire) space to hang up our clothes and have the suitcases out but not be tripping over them. Bathroom was large but narrow and it had a great view of the Panecillo. The antique mirror/vanity over the sink was a little too large for the space and made it difficult to use the sink, especially to wash your face. This 2nd floor room had two tall windows, one in the sleeping area and one in the sitting area, that opened up to the street. Even though facing the street, the room was quiet and we slept very well in the comfortable beds. Breakfast (eggs, juice, pan, fruit, coffee) is provided with the room and is served on a quaint covered patio at the back of the house. The staff was very friendly and helpful. CSM may be a little pricey for some but we found it to be well worth it .. a charming property, a convenient location, friendly staff - just like a comfortable home stay. Our only regret was that since this was our first time in Quito, we were out most of the day and didn't get a chance to truly explore Casa San Marcos itself and enjoy all the charms it offered. I guess we will save that for next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest:
That joy to know that your stay at our hotel was to your liking, we are glad to receive in return to them when we return to Ecuador.

many Greetings
Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Property: Hotel Casa San Marcos
Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing