We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fascinating view of art and Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #13 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fascinating view of art and Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived very late because missed flights, but the staff stayed up and helped us get settled in. When we awoke in the morning we found ourselves in a beautiful, huge room full of original art. Casa san Marcos had been the private home of an art dealer, and our room and the entire hotel were decorated with artwork ranging from colorful modern art to exquisite primitive pieces. We bought several of these as precious reminders of a great vacation.

Even better were the meals in the covered outdoor patio, with beautiful views of the hills around Quito. In every way this was an extraordinary place to stay and relax in the busy and crowded city. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: The big room near the reception desk on the first floor is worth a trip by itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We feel lucky to receive such a charming and quite knowledgeable art lovers. I was delighted with your appreciation of the primitive art of our Tigua artists. Thank you for acquiring my book on their paintings.
I really hope you will return to our country, you know that you and your wonderful family will always have a home here, and we will be more than glad to serve you all. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    27
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
51
99
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

To stay at Casa San Marcos is to understand much about Quito. First and foremost, you are staying in a museum! The building has been restored and furnished spectacularly, with furniture and art work whose style spans several centuries. There is also a gallery of more modern work on the lower level. Each guest room (there are six) is different and as richly and eclectically decorated as the rest of the building, with modern amenities. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. On our arrival we asked for directions to a museum and were taken there on foot by a member of the staff, who also made sure we knew the way back to the hotel. The hotel is on a charming street (be sure to explore it – there are interesting museums and artisans), and very close to the center of old Quito. You can walk to almost anything in the colonial center of town. Finally, and if you are very lucky, you will get to meet Señora Mayra Ribadeneira, the owner. She loves her house and her city and is more than generous in sharing both with her guests. Casa San Marcos is charming and unique. Don’t miss this wonderful way to become immersed in Quito.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rhlsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Administrator at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you ! your opinion is very important for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed all the hotel: The gallery, the rooms and all areas. The staff always try to do the best for you, because you are the most important part of the house. Thank you. Andrès.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a marvelous 4-day stay in this little gem of a hotel. Only 8 rooms in a restored colonial mansion, its location, food and service can't be beat. The owner, Senora Ribadeneira, not only made us welcome and attended to our needs, but she insisted on advising us on what to see and where to go. She suggested a wonderful new pre-Colombian museum, the Casa del Alabado, and took us to an evening concert at La Compania de Jesus during Holy Week, which is when we were there. She also gave us a tour of the neighborhood and introduced us to an friendly guitar - maker. You just cannot beat this kind of attention!>If you want to stay in the Centro Historico, this is the place to stay!!.

Room Tip: Ceck the website photos to pick the room and the price you want. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Administrator at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your review Claudia, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Quito and Casa San Marcos. We hope to see you next time. Thanks again. Andrès.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I searched high and low for a reasonably priced, nice, central place for my husband and I in Quito. I trusted all the other reviewers for Casa San Marcos and definitely made the right decision to stay here in November 2011. The incredibly helpful owner and staff go out of their way to help you. Absolutely gorgeous art and architecture all around you. Like staying in a museum all to yourself with fabulous displays of long stemmed roses from the owner's farm everywhere. Sensational breakfasts on the terrace with lovely views of Quito rounded out the experience

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind commentary on Casa San Marcos, we certainly are proud on the house and we are thankful that you also have enjoyed our home. We try very hard to give you the best we have and share with our clients the history and memories of our ancestors. We are also thankful of the visitors that come to this place, as charming and cultivated as yourselfs. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a little place we booked to end our amazing trip to South America.
Casa San Marcos was the luxury we treated ourselves to after an adventurous holiday and luxury it was.
The lady who owns the house Myra loves quality and enjoys to share her love of the finer things in life to her guests.... the house is just beautiful with gorgeous art adorning all the walls and beautiful antique furniture in every room.
We had a lovely room that gave a beautiful view out across the city, it was very hard to leave.
We were made to feel very welcome and found the staff to be so helpful...... nothing was a problem. I have already recommended Casa San Marcos to a few of my friends and will keep on spreading the word, it's a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Virgin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves-Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Clients. what a joy was for us to have you with us. Thank you for sharing several days with your lovely company. We love to see how much you appreciated our culture, our people, our country. We do hope you could someday return to visit us, and you will be always welcomed.
Thank you for recommeding us to your friends. Best wishes always and thank you again for the good memories you left in the staff and the other visitors. Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location in the old town. Beautifully decorated common areas and rooms, very friendly and helpful manager and staff. A great boutique hotel with high standard - good place to stay if you're looking to get away from chains and get a bit more of an authentic experience...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your commentary, especially on how you refer to my person. You are very kind. Actually for me it is the pleasure to share with such refined people as yourselves, our history, culture and traditions. Our goal is that our clients be as happy as they could be, and I am thankful that you felt like that. We are always trying to give the best, as you deserve. Best wishes and hope that some day you will return again. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This inn is a colonial house in the historic center of Quito. It is actually more museum than inn. Space dedicated to galleries is more that of rooms of which there are only 6. Meals are served in a beautiful covered terrace that ha a spectacular view of the city. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arista1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We try our best to make your stay as comfortable as it could be. For us is a challange to have our guests feeling at home, and try to take care of every detail so that you could be as happy as your heart will desire.

Do not forget that you will always have people thinking on what delightful was to serve you, and how much you appreciate it. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Property: Hotel Casa San Marcos
Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing