We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand house, lovely hosts, great location, a few disappointing details” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #15 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand house, lovely hosts, great location, a few disappointing details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This should be the perfect hotel. Intimate, less pricey than the boutique hotels, beautiful colonial rooms. But some of the details feel like they need some attention. No hot water much of the time. One of those showers with twelve settings that you could only work out if you lived there. Charging $30 for a glass of whisky without warning you of the price. The Internet being intermittent. The breakfast anodyne. I feel a bit bad writing all that as the place and people were lovely. So, overall a great option in the old town, but with 10% more could be outstanding. (Tip: their "small" room has 3 beds which could be used by 3 adults travelling together to make it v affordable).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staly2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Client: Thank you for your commentary. We will see that your recommendations be taken into account. We try that your stay be as happy as you deserve. Unfortunately you had some trouble with your reservations on your next trip and you had to be for such a long time working at the computer. Next time you come, we will see that you be very happy. We have also a menu on breakfast, as what it is included on the price of the room is just an american breakfast, but when we are requested, we will serve special breakfast with some delicacies of the country, such as humitas, ommelettes or different types of cereals. So my recommendation is to let us know which are your likes. We even serve a camp breakfast which has rice and beans.and mote pillo, which is hamony with eggs. Sorry about the misunderstanding on your whisky, I assume they didnot tell you that the Chivas you ordered was a 24 year one. i will make sure that they explain that to the customers or best to show you the wine and liquor rates. The drinks such as tea on your last day were not charged. Too bad I did not know that before you left, because i could have arranged the price for you. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    26
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
51
98
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It feels like we got to step back in time staying for 3 nights in this old and wonderful home from the colonial period. Even our 20 year old daughters loved their stay. Everyone was warm, helpful and welcoming. We were treated to an evening stroll around the town with the owner, Mayra, who introduced us to many of her personal friends, including a wonderful man who was in his workshop building guitars. We got to hear about the community and talk about history and politics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words on my person.
I really wish that all our passengers feel at home. For me was more than a delight to walk our streets with you and your family. As you say, there is so much to see on our neighborhood, it is such a nice place. All the museums, and specially the people of the neighborhood takes us some hundred years ago, where everyone knew each other. The workshops continue to be as many years ago, people working with ther hands and showing their talent is always something nice to see. On the other hand is always nice to find some many things to do. As going to concerts, theatre, even at the streets is always refreshing.

It was a pleasure to get to know you, and hope that you will return someday and that you will recommend us to your friends. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in Quito for one night before and one night after our Galapagos cruise in celebration of our thirtieth wedding anniversary. We decided to splurge on the Casa San Marcos after reading about it on Tripadvisor. It was unbelievable! It is an historic home partially built in the 18th century, with an addition in the early 1900s. Part home, part boutique hotel, part art museum, and part gourmet restaurant, it is a lovely way to enjoy some quiet time right in the heart of the historic district of Quito. Cathy, the chef, cooked us an amazing meal which we ate in a miniature dining room overlooking the lights of the city on our final night in Quito. Mayra, the owner of Casa San Marcos, treated us like guest in her home, and gave us a tour of the art gallery and discussed the history of the house and it's transformation into a guest house under her direction with well-deserved pride. We hope to come back on day to once again enjoy her amazing hospitality.

Room Tip: We love the night view of the Virgin of Quito from the Panecillo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a delight for us to have you as our guests.
Your charm and appreciation of art and our city was really delighful. Thank you for sharing with us your experience on your visit to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands, and of course thank you for listening with interest, all that we have to say over our beautiful house. Do remember that you always will be welcomed. Our home is open for people who enjoy beauty and good living. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to stay in the historic center of Quito as part of our trip and picked the Casa San Marcos. I am really glad we did. The property is beautiful and beautifully maintained. Our room, at the top of the stairs on the second story, was gorgeous. Very romantic. Beautifully decorated. Exactly what we wanted. It was a bit unusual that the bathroom was not technically a separate room, but we did not mind. It was a great room that looked out onto the street - with it's beautiful orange roofs. The street is very quiet - so that was not a problem.

The location was good for exploring the old city. It actually was not bad for exploring the Mariscal and parts of the new city as well. We walked to the Mariscal a couple times - during the day.

The staff is exceptional. We felt pampered by all of them and liked them each as people. All interesting. All helpful. At one dinner, we commented that we liked the music and before dessert were presented with a burned CD copy to take home. :-)

The food was very good. We ate our breakfasts each morning in the attractive patio area. We had one dinner at the Casa - on our last night in Quito. It was our best meal, not just in Quito, but in Ecuador. Amazing.

I am so happy we chose La Casa San Marcos to end our first trip to Ecuador. It was very special.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are quiet, so don't worry about that. Other rooms have a view of the Virgin o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcjay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Client: We are delighted with your review, We are happy to realize that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that your were satisfied with the service, the room. Thank you for commenting also how clean and beautiful the rooms are, and about the environment and the closeness to the best parts of the city. We appreciate also your good tast on food, as you rate our food as the best you have eaten in Ecuador. Thank you for your visit, and we will be more than happy to see you again. Remember you will always have a home here in our no hotel. Best wishes for you on the new year. Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent January 4th through the 8th at the Casa San Marcus in what was referred to as the Panecillo Deluxe Room. All things are relative. Rooms in Quito are 1/3 to 1/2 of what a comparable room in the us costs. We Paid USD200.00 per night. You can normally secure a room at the JW Marriot or the Swiss Hotel in Quito depending for between USD136.00 to USD185.00 per night.These are middle high end properties. Not the 4 Seasons but the next tier down. Our expectations were therefore reasonably high for the property as a "Boutique Hotel".

In keeping with the title of this review first the good. The property is an interesting old house that has been minimally converted into a Hotel. It is located on a quiet street in the colonial part of the city. The staff is very pleasant and Kathryn the chef and everything else is absolutely as nice as they come. We did not meet the owner during our stay; but, I am told she is also very pleasant. The other rooms we saw in the house appeared to be large and pleasant rooms. The room we were in had a great view of the Panecillo Hill with the Angel Mary on it along with a expansive view of Quito and the mountains beyond.

Now the Bad, for the most part almost every object is for sale and there are price tags on almost everything in the public areas and the rooms. Most of the "Antiques" are either late 19th century junk or reproductions. A dumpster and a couple of days getting rid of the kitsch would improve the property.

Now the Ugly, our deluxe room was a narrow converted sun porch on the Planta Baja or first floor. When we arrived the room was well over 105 degrees Fahrenheit and no air conditioning. We opened the one window in the bathroom that was operable and decided to have lunch in their patio dining area the same as the breakfast area in the morning.

We sat down to lunch and it took two hours before we received our orders. The food was straight up dreadful. It turns out that the owner had left no money for the cook to purchase any food and out of desperation ended up going around the corner and got trout from the restaurant up the street. Then covered the poor dead things with a wretched cold sauce. Great for the waist line in as much as we ended up not eating much of it.

Returning to our room, I jumped into the shower only to find out there was no hot water. I went down the hall to ask what the deal was and was informed that they "normally" only turn on the hot water after 6pm. No sooner do I return to our room than the toilet turns out to be clogged. We had asked for a roll out for our daughter to spend the night on before she returned to NY ahead of us. The couch turned out to be a fold out and with it open there was virtually no floor space left.

When our room was made up each day the water bottles were not replaced which you need for brushing your teeth. I came in on two successive days to find cleaning cloths left on top of my ditty bag and tooth brush and on another day the bath mat was left lying on top of my cloths to dry out. When towels needed to be replaced we left them on the floor instead of putting them back as is normal in most hotels. The cleaner picked them up but never gave us fresh towels to replace them. When I looked under the bed, there was an old pair of sandals that had been there some time. Generally the cleanliness of the room was not up to snuff and the daily room make up was terrible.

The shower had two heads. One when turned on looked like the Trevi fountain in Rome with water spraying out of the top, sides and actually some coming out of the normal orifices. The other head was fine but the wall by it inside the shower had electrical boxes and a round concrete opening about 4 feet from the floor, just right there with no apparent use. It added to your wake up in the morning wondering what might appear out of the dark hole and / or if you would suddenly be electrocuted if you spent too much time in the shower.

The electrical wiring in the room left a great deal to be worried about. They have used two conductor lamp cord to hard wire lights, covering splices with electricians tape. There is no fire detector in the room though there appears to be ones in other parts of the building.

We returned on the second day at around 2pm to take a nap and the room was so hot I ended up sitting on a couch in the common area. There is no ventilation in the room other than the aforementioned windows in the bathroom. The room is narrow with the bed facing the windows leaving about 12 inches between the foot of the bed and the wall. The bed is hard and has flannel sheets that look like refugees from someones garage sale. Not what you expect at a "Boutique Hotel"

In Summary, do not let them talk you into the Panecillo Deluxe room unless your a masochist. I think our experience might have been better if we had been in one of the other rooms in the property. Head to the Swiss Hotel or the JW Marriot. You'll miss not staying in the old part of town but Taxi are cheap in Quito and your room will not add to the stress of travel not to mention you will save money and have a better nights sleep.

This is the second time I have submitted the review, The owner tried to get this taken down on the grounds that it was outside of the permitable boundries set by TripAdvisor. I stayed there, every item is factual, and I stand by my submission.

Room Tip: Don't get stuck in the Deluxe Panacillo Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Client: we appreciate your good review for the staff, which includes our cleaning staff. when you arrived to our place, you told us you were quite an important personnage and we told you that every client for us is a vip. We tried to pleased you in everything you requested. When you requested lunch we told you we did not have the service as the chef is out at mid day, but if you wished to wait we will call her. So we did, of course it took some time for her to arrive. In the meantime we gave you treats, wine, juices, and our famous empanadas. You seem to be quite aggravated for the waiting time, and we were quite sorry for it, that was the reason why we did not charged you for the meal. When you ordered not to clean your room, we also agreed and of course the sandals you found were yours, as we also provided you with them. We will appreciate it very much for your communicating with us on your account, as it has to be settled. Of course for us you were a great teacher, as the advice you gave us, we are taking in account. We hope next time you come, you will be completely satisfied, as for us it will be always a pleasure to be of service to you and to our frequent clients. Regards, Rocio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the start of our trip. We stayed in the attic room which can sleep three people. I would not recommend this room unless you are young and mobile. It is located up a narrow staircase and had a very small bathroom. A good stay for 1 night but wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer. I cannot comment on other rooms in the hotel as we did not see them.
Great location in the historic part of Quito, very safe to walk around at night.
Staff very friendly and had a great breakfast.
Hotel arranged airport pickup for US $25, having been there now it is perfectly safe to get an airport taxi for about US $12.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Client: Thank you for your review, we hope next time you could visit, we will be able to give you a larger room, unfortunately we were full and we could not assist you, with a better room. This room is the smallest of the house, but many people prefer it, as it has a great ambiance. Usually when we have another room and we see that you are quite tall, we offer you an upgrading, but the day you came we couldn't not do it. We will quite happy to serve you any other time. Best wishes, Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The artists are not only on the walls of the Casa, they are also in the kitchen.

Our dinner cooked by the young personal chef Catherine was outstanding.

This artist came to our table to discuss the choices and my chicken breast with marinated fresh figs was a delight, as was my husband's beef fillet with strawberry sauce. She has a light touch concentrating on fresh simplicity and her tomato soup and empanadas and banana cake were memorable. We chose, on her recommendation, a bottle of 2006 organic (?) Argentinian cab sav . For all these courses including wine we paid less than A$100. It did not occur to us to ask the price of the food or wine before we ate, we just trusted Catherine. How fortunate we were to eat from Catherine's Table.

Our breakfast outdoors on the downstairs terrace was also a delight and supplied by a young and ever-smiling Pedro.

And on to the rooms, which many people have already described with enthusiasm. We had a king size room with ensuite and tiny kitchenette. The walls were hung with great art, the furnishings were very fine indeed, and we had a view from our bed of El Panecillo, the silver Virgin on the hilltop.

We slept soundly. However, a light sleeper might be disturbed by the sound of the phone ringing at reception, as the sound travels right up the staircase. The casa is, after all, a home not a hotel.

We were given a tour of the Casa by Rose including the 'family room' on the ground floor. The various 'private' rooms of the Casa are covered in art, much of it of Saint Michael the dragon/serpent slayer. The roof rafters in the ancient room give some indication of the original architecture.

I had several visits to the 'public' galleries on the lower floors where all is for sale, and the magical/fantastical contemporary Ecuadorian art is a surprise.

However deeper inside the gallery are the stunner rooms. A whole wall is hung with only crucifies, another wall only hung with Madonnas. etc. I fell in love with a dark 1928 painting of Nijinsky as The Faun. You will need deep pockets to buy some of the art works, but there was plenty of small, suitcase-friendly jewelry that captured me.

Staying at Casa San Marcos is not only about having somewhere comfortable to stay while you visit Quito. It is also about spending time in the Casa which is, itself, a worthy tourist attraction so full of cultural riches that time spent in the Casa nourishes the senses and imagination.

The owner, Mayra Ribadeneira, and her staff were very friendly and I wished we had stayed longer to take advantage of Mayra's knowledge of Quito. I recommend staying at least 3 days, more if you can manage.

Room Tip: Each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for y graciously going thru our house. Your knowledge of art and the appreciation of it, makes this review memorable on itself. We were so fortunate to have you with us. Your visit will remain in our memory as one of the warmest, enjoyable and happy.

Katherine appreciates so much your kind comments on the food, and how much you enjoyed it.
The rest of the personnel also sends you their regards, as for them it was a real pleasure to attend such a fine couple.

May this year, bring lots of happiness and that you continue reflecting all the light on the rest of the people that are lucky enough to meet you. Best wishes and a wonderful New YEar. Mayra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Property: Hotel Casa San Marcos
Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing