We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #8 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We only had one night here, which is too bad since it was the nicest hotel we stayed at in our trip to Ecuador.

Service: The entire staff was very attentive and helpful from the time we arrived. The bellman promptly brought our bags to the room while we were checking in. We received a tour from the host. We even had our room upgraded since only 2 were staying that night (of 6 total rooms). At one point, the chef from their restaurant called our room to see if we would be dining or had any needs from the kitchen. Outstanding overall.

Value: Very reasonable for the room. We did have one dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was the most expensive meal we had in Ecuador. A quick review on the food experience:

There is no menu. The chef simply greeted us at our table and let us know what type of meals she could prepare that night with the ingredients on-hand. We opted for pork with a passion fruit sauce, salad and potatoes. The pork was actually ¼ inch thick chops that were sautéed and served with the sauce. The salad ingredients were fresh. As was the case in many places we ate in Ecuador, vinegar and oil are served with the greens to dress yourself. Nothing creative in the dressing arena, but it was good nonetheless. The potatoes were simply prepared. Medallions that were probably steamed and lightly seasoned. Not ordered was a complimentary ceviche one bite appetizer made from langostinos. Best we had in Ecuador. We appreciated not adding too much tomato sauce as is the custom. Including a half bottle of wine, we spent $35 a person, which seemed high relative to other meals we'd had.

Sleep Quality: A great bed with a nice mattress, linens and pillows. This was on a Friday night and a bit noisy outside. Bring earplugs. I doubt the sleep experience can get much better in Quito simply because it's noisy everywhere and building are not well insulated.

Cleanliness: Very clean. No issues.

Location: Just 2 or 3 blocks from the main action in old town. Close enough to walk to but not as noisy as being in the middle.

Rooms: This place has an art and antique gallery on the main floor. They adorn the rooms with much of the art and antiques. Just beautifully appointed. The walls and ceiling were smooth and blemish free unlike other places we stayed. There were even crown moldings in the ceiling. The rooms also have nice bonuses like high quality linens, robes, slippers etc. One word of caution, we'd advise against bringing young children. One could easily knock over an expensive tea cup, vase or some other antique and wind up making the room more expensive than intended.

This place also had a very elaborate common area. A big living room with beautiful furniture and art. This was once the home of a wealthy family and it's been impeccably restored.

While we did not stay elsewhere in old town, this place was easily the nicest place we stayed in Ecuador and in a great location for exploring old town. It's also safe. The only way into the hotel is buying ringing the host to let you inside.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing Junin street. It would probably be a bit more insolated from outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alverda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our home. We were ´so happy to have you as guests, and we do hope that someday you will visit us again. Remember you have a house here, and we will be thrilled to serve you again. Best wishes in the New Year, may the Lord keep you with good health and prosperity. Best wishes for your family. Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 226 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Extremely pleasant stay! Great location in the historical center of Quito and the Hotel is a tastefully converted old house, one feels carried back in time.
The team in the reception was very nice and professional, the best I came across the last 2 years in around 15 countries. Very helpful with the delivery of my lost lugagge, directions and travel tips.
Has a beautiful antiques shop, wi-fi and a nice dining area with views of Panecillo.
Only minus: the restaurant was not working (other than breakfast) all the 4 nights of my stay.

Room Tip: ... ask for the rooms away from the street, as those are noisy (small shops, buses in perpendicular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedroCastelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments on the house, too bad the chef was on vacation on the days of your stay, but the restaurant is opened with the assistants, maybe they didnot inform you that.
We were quite happy to have such a fine gentleman in our house, and we do hope that you come back, sometime in the future. We promised we will prepare the best platters for you.
Have a wonderful new year, full with travels and happiness. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Casa San Marcos for 5 nights in October and had it mostly to myself -- it was shoulder season for tourism in Quito. It was an overall excellent experience, especially the staff. Everyone I encountered was thoughtful, attentive and efficient. An example: after I left, I discovered I'd left behind a pair of prescription sunglasses. I contacted the hotel by email and received a response indicating that the glasses had been found and that they would be sent to me in U.S. within a few days...and they arrived promptly and in perfect condition.

The hotel's location, on a small side street in the historic center, is perfect for wandering the area. And the property itself is beautifully decorated and maintained, with some great little touches I didn't expect (e.g., robes in the room and the most delicious-smelling shampoo I've ever used).

A few caveats should be noted. I had work to do for a few hours each day, and there was little usable desk space in my room (it is clearly a bedroom only or primarily, and thus is filled with bedroom-specific furniture). It can be a bit noisy too when people pass by on the creaky wooden floors and shut doors to nearby rooms. The TV channel selection was limited. It can be difficult to communicate with some of the staff members without at least a bit of Spanish. But in the overall analysis these were minor irritations to a comfortable and wonderful stay. You are unlikely to forget this place, as you might with standard hotels in dull locations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you very much, for your review at Trip Advisor. Thank you also for the advice on what refers to the desk. next time we will pay more attention when a guest needs more space, when visiting for working purposes. Usually we have the terrace where you can sit and work if you wish without being annoyed, as most of the passengers, go to visit different sites and return late in the afternoon. Too bad we did not know it, but we also have a place upstairs with lots of space. Anyway we hope that when you come next time, we can give you the top room where there is no much noise and you have a big table to work on. Best wishes, Mayra

We are glad you found everyone helpful, and the ambiance of the hotel as cozy and beautiful. We were very glad to send you, the glasses and that the reached you promptly. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. It 's such a beautifull plac, so cosy. The rooms are lovely, we stayed in the panacillo the luxe which had great views. From out bed we looked at the panecillo!
The area is great in the middle of the old center. The staff we really helpfull, friendly and assisted us with our next travel options and arranging it. We can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If possible opt for the De Luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurien-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your kindness. For us it was a pleasure to have you with us, We hope you enjoy the rest of the trip on our country. I am sure that with your poise and charm, you will be encountering always a warm welcome from the different people you will be meeting. We hope you return to our home sometime in the future, you will be always welcomed. Best wishes on your trip and a good return home. Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

In the old colonial city we stayed in this beautifully restored colonial treasure box: it is a b&b, an antique gallery and reservations-only restaurant at the same time. All of these reflect the interests and passions of Ms. Mayra, the host and owner. Very energetic, charismatic, and interesting lady who truly tries to make guest comfortable without being slick or pushy. Some of the front desk staff were not very courteous, but the restaurant chef went out of her way to help us out. The restaurant food was among the best we ate in Ecuador - we highly recommend it! The only drawback during our stay was that one night our room filled with smoke from an outside fireplace (which was warming restaurant guests but made our room smoky). Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaWestPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review at Trip Advisor, we were quite delighted to have you with us. Sorry about the smoke, we were having a lot of summer wind, so probably left your window opened. We will make sure that that never happen again. Thank you for your opinion on Katty, and we have already talked with the receptionist, so that she puts more effort on the help to the guests. We sincerely hope that your lovely family will come back again, we will quite thrilled to serve you. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lovely and tastefully decorated old house, the Casa San Marcos is definitely where you want to stay for a visit of the great old Quito.
Right in the middle of the old city, the house and its rooms are comfortable and have conserved their historical feel, furniture, paintings, accessories, etc. Some rooms can be a little noisy but this is perfectly manageable.
The staff is not only welcoming but also very helpful in any respect.
We enjoyed our short stay over there, as it perfectly fitted with our objective of visiting old Quito, one if not the best preserved city in South America.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guests. We were quite thrilled to have you with us during your visit to Quito, we were quite fortunate to meet you and to share some of our history and culture. We will be more than happy that you sometime will come back, you will always have a place for you. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Casa San Marcos is a beautiful boutique hotel/art gallery in a lovingly restored colonial townhouse in the Centro Historico. Our room was practically a mini-suite and had a commanding view of the monastery of Santo Domingo, Panecillo hill surmounted by the Virgin of Quito, and in the distance, Mt. Pasochoa and snow-capped Cotopaxi. The decor of the hotel is a tasteful mixture of antiques, folk pieces and modern art, all of which is for sale (discreetly marked) should visitors wish to bring back a unique memento of their stay; the eye always rests on something eye-catching. Proprietor Mayra Ribadeneira is a gracious host and presides over an extremely proficient operation and uniformly courteous staff, particularly front desk managers Cristian and Jose. A wonderful breakfast is included, and dinner can be prepared to order by chef Katherine Romero; her cooking is worthy of a Michelin rating, and relies on locally-sourced ingredients. The lady of the house is one of the best connected people in Quito, active in the religious, arts, and historic preservation communities. Spending time in conversation with her is a fascinating experience in itself. Gracious, kind, and thoughtful, Mayra went beyond our expectations to arrange convent tours for us, and one holiday night when open restaurants were scarce, she personally walked us through town to find an open restaurant; she also took us on a walking tour of her vibrant neighborhood. Through her we met tour guide Julio Rivas, who took us on a tour of Quito's monasteries that few visitors to the city get to enjoy (clambering up on the roof of the church of La Merced!). The other guests we met were either going to or coming from someplace else (the Galapagos, Macchu Picchu); we were so fortunate to have spent our entire trip in Quito and at Casa San Marcos and came away having had a rich encounter with the history, art and culture of Ecuador's capital. At the risk of sounding trite, we really did have a never-to-be-forgotten experience. Stephen & Christopher

Room Tip: While there is little traffic on the street, the rooms in the back of the hotel offer splendid views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

For us dear friends was a wonderful experience to have you with us, you both are quite knowledgeable and a pleasure to talk to. We were so lucky to share a small part of our great national heritage. I agree that Julio is a great guide and that he takes you to a complete different tour, well explained and one ends with an enriched experience. We do sincerely hope that you will come back some time, you will be always welcomed. Thank you very much for your visit and your kind comments on our hotel and service. On behalf on everyone and specially myself, a great embrace and happy memories. Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 112 in Quito
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing