We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Added”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Marcos
Ranked #9 of 237 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Comparing prices of the different small hotels available in this old historical area of Quito is more or less like comparing apples and oranges in my opinion. You will get so much more for your money at the Casa San Marcos. The location is perfect for visiting the UNESCO World Heritage area of the capital and the small street where you will find the hotel (almost unmarked, look for the cheerful green painted exterior and the pair of potted plants in front) is one of the prettier and quieter spots in this well-visited area. You will be able to find a few great little eateries within a couple of short blocks and walk only minutes to any of the old center sites.

Your room will be cozy and comfortable, filled with all the accoutrements you would expect of one of Quito's finer guesthouses. The rooms are all different, some tucked away in the back of the house, some on an upper level, all furnished most tastefully, lending the extra sense of luxury from being individually decorated with one-of-a-kind pieces belonging to the owner's collection. You will be given a substantial and tasty breakfast on the lovely outdoor terrace with a terrific view, surrounded by flowers and hummingbirds, which is included in the room price.

But the real value for your dollar comes from the way above-average level of service from the staff, as well as the attentions of the sophisticated and cultured owner, Mayra, who speaks elegant English. The Casa has a kitchen with a super young chef, who with just a bit of advanced notice can whip up a great lunch or supper for you of local specialties, a very convenient ammenity not usually found in such an intimate feeling property. You willl also have available the rest of the house to relax in while you acclimatize to Quito's altitude, perhaps enjoying a cup of their terrific coffee, or Mayra's special herb tea in front of the fire in the great room, or something from the self-service bar.

Just like a real home away from home, your stay at the Casa Marcos will make you feel as if you are visiting with old friends in their very gracious, colonial-era antique of a home and not like you are staying in your run-of-the-mill boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa San Marcos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

My daughter, brother and I stayed at this B&B for several nights between traveling to the Galapagos and the Ecuadorian Amazon. It was absolutely beautiful and was in the Historical District within walking distance of serveral historical sights. The staff was exceptional in all respects. Mayra, the owner, was so very gracious and accommodating. I would stay here again and recommend this place in a New York heartbeat! It was like staying in an art gallery. My only word of advice is that you should not have your laundry done here since they tend to put the white clothing with everything else in the washer and your whites come out a dingy gray and very wrinkled due to the fact that they are not folded properly right out of the dryer. This is the only negative! The views from the rooms were beautiful. They upgraded us on our second stay at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Clients: Thank you very much for your lovely message at Trip Advisor. Also I thank you for the ear pulling of the laundry I immedialy will see to it, so that we can correct it. The girls are supposed to give all the things pressed as we do it here. Sorry for that.. Anyway it was a big pleasure to have you here. You were quite gracious and wonderful. Please give my regards to all. We wish you lots of happiness the coming year and a wonderful Christmas. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My son, my son's friend and I stayed at at the Casa San Marcos for two nights. The hotel is so beautiful and the service exceptional. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Clients: For us it was quite nice to have you here with us. Thabnk you for the kind words you left on our book, and thank you for preferring us. We appreciate it very much. Cheers, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife, son, and myself had a 2-day stay at the Casa San Marcos, before our trip to the Galapagos Islands. After completing our trip we returned the Casa San Marcos for another 3 days.
We found the hotel, as well as the service and the facilities, to be beyond reproach. The hotel is colonial mansion, beautifully restored and furnished. The staff is incredibly helpful and courteous. The owner, Mayra, is most thoughtful and a very classy lady.
All in all, we would have no hesitation to recommend this wonderful hotel to any discerning guest.
Paul and Julie Tarjan
Calgary, Alberta, canada

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear Clients: thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor. For us was a real priviledge to have you with us. Thanks for letting us share such a lot of knowledgement and accomplishments of your family, specially those of your bright son. May he continue on his success, so that he could help many people around the world. Lots of happiness on this Christmas holidays and a prosperous and travelled new year!. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at the Casa San Marcos for the first and last nights of our honeymoon. Our flight to Quito was delayed, but when we arrived at 3:30am, the man working at Casa San Marcos was awake and quickly ushered us and our luggage into our room. When we left two days later to fly to Loja, he woke up and made us the best -- and I mean the best -- coffee ever at 6am. When we left to fly back to the US, we forgot a bag, but he chased down our cab and returned it to us. I can't explain how great, friendly and helpful the entire staff was. Nor can I overstate how good the coffee is.

The owner of Casa San Marcos has devoted a lot of time and energy to making the B&B as nice and intimate as possible. There are original parts of the house that date back to the 18th century, and she was quick to explain the history of the house in detail in flawless English when we asked about it. They also made reservations at restaurants, booked us cabs and took care of every last detail.

Some people decide to stay in the new town in Quito, and I think that this is a mistake. Having spent a day wondering around the New Town, I can assure you that the Old Town is a much more interesting and enjoyable area of the city to stay in.

My final piece of advice is to request the room on the first floor at the end of the house. It has the most amazing two headed shower I've ever seen.

Room Tip: The one on the first floor at the end of the hall with the double shower.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear Clients: We were so thrilled to have you both with us, such charming and beautiful couple. we wish you all happiness during your life, you deserve it. Thank you very much for your nice comments on the house, the owner and the personnel of the house. We are very lucky to have such nice clients as yourselves. It is a pleasure to serve you, and that you always will remember those happy days in our country and specially during your stay at the most beautiful historical center of America. Blessings on this Christmas and a very prosperous New Year. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful place with incredible detail and art throughout! A very peaceful place in the heart of the historical district. The little touches make it a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The great room with fireplace was ever so cozy. It felt like home.

Room Tip: Saw three of six rooms.....all were unique and would be happy with any of the three.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Client: we appreciate very much your kind comments at Trip Advisor, especially coming from a world traveller. I enjoyed very much your comments on all the beautiful places you have visited, and it was a real pleasure to share with you some of our experiences. We are grateful to had had some beautiful days, sunny, and that you enjoyed so much our scenery and culture. Thanks again for being such a wonderful human being. Best wishes, Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Casa San Marcos is well located in the historic centre. The entire hotel is decorated with antiquities, most of which are for sale. Every room is unique in floor-plan, window openings and decoration; of the three we had, all looked like something found in a grand, private mansion rather than in a hotel. The common areas are strikingly large for the small number of room. A fire is lit each night in of the largest, where there is also a self-serve bar to complement the regular service. The staff were the most helpful that I can recall from any hotel, at any time of the day.

When one in our party had her brithday, 25 roses were given as a present from the owner.

On the downside, the doors to the rooms are - if historically correct - also quite thin. Noise, if any, carries. Also some rooms lack fully detached bathroom.

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPRamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANMARCOS, Gerente at Hotel Casa San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear client: For us was such an enormous pleasure to have you with us during your stay on our country. It was delighful to see such a charming family, full of grace and positivism. We were surprised to find out that you share as a family the love for sports, human beings and joy of vivre.
May the Lord give you all long lifes so that you can make a lot of people around you as happy as you made us feel. Thank you for your kind words and the lovely review you put at Trip Advisor. Best wishes and that the next year brings you more trips and happiness all year round. Mayra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#36 of 112 in Quito
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Marcos

Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $112 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing