We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Quito Cultural
Ranked #19 of 245 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Hostal Quito for the first night of our trip, left for a couple of nights to the cloud forest and then came back. We were in 306 the first night and 206 for the next five. We loved it. Great views! We had a room to ourselves and a private bathroom. Everything very clean. We found this to be more of a hotel than a hostal. Our room was warm and we had lots of Alpaca blankets on our bed. Loved those so much managed to SQUEEZE a couple into our suitcases to bring home. (Purchased at Octavolo market) We always had hot water. Breakfast was served quickly. Consisted of a large glass of fresh fruit juice, coffee, a roll with cheese and then followed with a small but adequate omelette. Staff was friendly and helpful. We have poor Spanish skills so we did use translator on computer to help us once. They were great with directions and bus transfer info to wherever we wanted to go. Walk out the main door and can go in any direction to many restaurants and stores. Very good location. Two blocks from Plaza Grande. In the heart of Old Town. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of hotel, since on main road, may be noisier than rooms at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your good recommendations!

It´s great to hear you have had a good time in our hostal and the places you have visited in Ecuador. As the staff of our beautifull hostal we would like to thank you as well. Hope to see you again in the future, for sure you´re welcome!

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

As I had read in other reviews, the rooms on the street are noisy. So when i made my reservation I specifically asked for a room in the back on the third floor and they indicated this is what i would get. When I got there the very lovely and warm owner greeted me and proceeded to have her assistant direct me to a second floor room, right on the street. My head was splitting open from the altitude and i wanted to just lay down and recover, but the room was NOISY overlooking a busy street. Then once the traffic died down, the owners lovely family had their dinner right underneath my room, they sounded quite happpy but it made it very difficult to sleep. The inner courtyard is lovely, her art is lovely. Other reviews say they are helpful, this was not my experience, I asked for restaurant suggestions and places to visit that night and received no suggestions besides, "walk around". I asked for water she charged me .50 for an 8oz bottle. I would not recommend this place if you you like quiet. Also The room looks really clean, then I pulled back the bedspread and the blanet had sticky stains.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mray2b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Oké Guest,

Thank you first of all for your honest respons which we can appreciate...
For the time you we here in the hostal i would have liked to been able to help you with your inconveniences.

Noise from the street we have tried to eliminate as much as posible by giving it some extra demping around the windows. Needs to be seen if this will be the solution, but we are working on it. Attention to a guest is always what we try to give, but in your case it lacked some attention. so. Perdon, we haven´t been able to serve you to your wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is two min walking from the main square in the old town, it'a very picturesque building, very chilled atmosphere and the staff is great. On my way to quito LAN lost my luggage and the owner of the hostel helped me in every possible way. I'm very thankful and had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear you had a great time here in Quito and your time at the hostal has been a pleasent one. Whenever you feel like coming even back to Ecuador and visit Quito again we hope to see you back!!

Regards,


Dominique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What you will find when you just arrive at the hostel is the awesome hospitality!
The owners help you a lot how to do tours without agencies and guides, so you can save money and enjoy by yourself.
It's a charming colonial building with comfortable rooms.
If you like to sleep until a litlle bit late, try do not stay at the rooms in the main street (Flores), otherwise you will be awake since 6am, when the loud of the traffic starts. Until that time, it is really really quite.
The breakfast is also good.
If it fits in your bugget, surely is the place where to stay in the Old Town!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not in the main street (Flores) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi Nadia,

Thank you for your respons and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality so much!
Feel free to visit us in the near future when we managed to change to hostal to an even better place for our guests.

Saludos desde Quito,

Dominique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I loved staying here. The customer service that the two women who work the front office offer is outstanding; they are very sweet and attentive to the needs of those staying at the hostel. Spanish is the only language offered fluently...most of the English exchanged between hostel stayers and hostel staff was done through Google Translate. But things worked out in the end and there were few, if any, misunderstandings. The breakfasts consisted of a freshly blended delicious fruit smoothie (batido, I think, or something like that), a semi-sweet bread pastry with a soft mild white cheese, coffee, and an omelet scramble with many standard ingredients. It all tasted very good to me. The room was relatively spartan, but clean and more than adequate, and wifi is offered hostel-wide. Shower was a little fickle with water temperature, but not aggravatingly so, and the toilet ran slowly, but got the job done. The bed was comfortable, but street noise always found its way into my room, necessitating ear plugs one of the nights...I was already having trouble sleeping due to one of my traveling mates being mugged at machete-edge near El Panecillo earlier that day (takeaway: ALWAYS be aware of your surroundings and yourself in Quito, and visit El Panecillo via taxi or tour bus). The inner courtyard is much quieter, picturesque, and a nice place to unwind. I wish I could have stayed at this hostel longer (the latter part of my trip landed me in Hotel San Francisco de Quito, which was nice and somewhat more labyrinthine, with a beautiful almost-hidden balcony that overlooks most of the city, but more expensive with a less creative breakfast and wifi only in the lobby). This hostel is in the Centro Historico with plenty of eating options and sites to see nearby. For the price, Hostal Quito Cultural is a winner and I would most likely stay here again when/if I make it back to Quito. I felt secure and all of my belongings, including thousands of $$$'s worth of camera gear destined for the Galapagos, but too bulky to bring on city walks, remained intact and in my possession (albeit locked into a luggage bag that was bicycle-cable-locked to the bedframe...but I never got the feeling that the things I left in the room were at high risk of theft or damage, beyond that of a normal stay at a hostel anywhere).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bryson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear friend,

It has been a pleasure having you here in our hostal located in the centre of the old town. As far as i can read your stay has been very pleasant. For the future we hope to see you back again. I respond on behalf of Sra. Alicia and my name is Dominique, currently taking care of responding to our guests. We are very pleased to hear your stay has been to your likings; everything except for the noise coming from outside the streets and we want to see for how we can eliminate this for future if possible.


With friendly regards of everybody here in HCQ,

Alicia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Hostal Quito Cultural and I'm enjoying my stay so far. My first impression was just how cute this place is. I'm a single traveller so I had their one bedroom with a double bed and private bath. The bed is adequately comfortable for the price. The overall cleanliness of the room is average (compare to the Hilton, where I stayed just prior to this). The comforter looks a little dirty. And I probably won't go bare feet on the floor. However, everything else is clean. It can get a little loud from the traffic, people, and street vendors below, but I brought ear plugs so I had no problem falling asleep. The inclusive breakfast was pretty good-I enjoyed the smoothie and the super strong coffee. I'd also like to note that I feel quite safe here. There front door is locked at all times and you need to be buzzed in. I never had to wait more than 2 minutes for someone to open the door for me.

Overall, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOchick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Viajero agradecemos su comentario y nos comprometemos en mejorar en los pequeños detalles que Ud. nos hace en referencia. Siempre estamos trabajando para ofrecer la mejor experiencia a nuestros huespedes.

Atentamente,

Alicia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

i would like to start by saying that if you are coming to quito, you have to stay in the old historic town. its where the museums and theatres are, and there are hundreds of great local shops on charming andalucian style streets that the spaniards built. dont get fooled into buying a room in marsical, which is industrial. so, for the price, the hostal cultural is great. its homey and beautiful, clean and friendly, the beds are warm and the rooms charming. alicia who runs it and all the staff are sweet. what they dont speak of english they make up in kindness. after a whie i felt at home. i even go to the kitchen to make my own coffee, or ask other favors. theres a tv in the room, if you like that sort of thing, and every room has private bath and good internet access. if you dont have your own laptop, pc's are provided in the reception area. that's where i'm writing this review. i have been here a few times already, and i am sure to come back. and no, i am not getting any perks for the compliments :) (unless i can negotiate some later, lol ) :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shivaya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear visitor we thank you for your comments, we are dedicated to offer the best service to our clients. We hope in you next visit to Quito we can count with your presence.

Sincerely,

Alicia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#37 of 113 in Quito
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Quito Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quito Cultural

Address: Flores N4-160 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $15 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Quito Cultural 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Quito Cultural born of a XVIII century building at the hands of a French architect, this house currently consists as a heritage of Barrio San Marcos the oldest in Quito. With a rich pre-Columbian history, the capital of Ecuador was founded on the ruins of an Inca city, but offers everything a modern traveler may need. Still one of the best preserved historical sites in Latin America and the UNESCO declared world heritage. The location of the hostel is convenient because it allows travelers to move around the old Quito and know all the baroque jewels, like the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, as well as the church and the college of the Company. The hostel rooms have all the amenities to make guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday as they deserve, our main seal of the fraternity is offered by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Quito Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Quito Cultural Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing