We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Quito Cultural
Ranked #20 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hostal is in the very heart from the city center in a beautiful decorated house with courtyard where you can relax after sightseeing.
Rooms are simple and staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matse1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Pros: This place is in an excellent location. Old town is about a 2 minute walk away. Lots of great restaurants around. The staff is friendly and eager to help. Breakfast included and it was very good. Also, free internet. The rooms were very clean. Great views all around. Price was good too.
Cons: The room was cold, no heating. But we were fine under the blankets. Shower was warm at best, water never truly got hot. There was no phone in the room.
Overall, I was not disappointed because of the price. It's in a very convenient location to see Old Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagoowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed there for a week in March. Love the people and the location and price are not to be beat. A lovely interior, and only two blocks for the presidential palace.

Room Tip: Hint: if you need to rest during the day, get a room away from the busy front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_S_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

rooms weren't fancy, but had everything we needed; staff helpful and very friendly; ideal location for the city centre

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kongluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hostel is a great location to visit the sites of Quito as it is close walk to everything in the historic town. The hostel is also very close to the main Metrobus station so you can easily visit the rest of the city. The hostel seems to be family run and the mother & daughter were both very friendly and helpful. They gave us help for our trips in the city aswell as our onward journey. You also get a very nice breakfast with the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We liked this place so much we stayed there on 3 separate occasions, returning after each little adventure around Ecuador. They main plus is how friendly the owners are. They really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to help you out when you're a bit lost, as we often were! The rooms are very clean,with comfortable beds and clean bedding, with hot water at all times. The breakfast is very nice. The social areas are very relaxing, with the hostel having a nice view from the 3rd floor terrace. The internet connection is good. The location is absolutely perfect, being in the center of the old town, just 2 blocks from the main square (where you can find the best gift shop in the whole of Ecuador!). And it is in walking distance of the best street for finding traditional food. We wished we could have stayed longer as we felt like it had become our home, and the owners our new family! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for room on the 3rd floor so you don't hear people walking up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolm34london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Although one can choose from literally hundreds of places to stay - Hostal Quito Cultural offers visitors a home away from home! The owner, Alicia Vega and her daughter Jessica offer travelers accomodations at very reasonable rates right in the heart of Colonial Old Town, Quito. All the magnificant churches are within walking distance as well as the Virgin atop of Panecillo: and just a block away is a major bus line to travel to ¨"Mitad del Mundo" or Otavalo Market. The staff are courteous and welcoming to those who are interested in really learning Ecuadorian culture!

Room Tip: The third floor has great views of the Bassilica!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#93 of 113 in Quito
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#21 of 253 in Quito
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rincon Familiar Hostel Boutique.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Quito Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quito Cultural

Address: Flores N4-160 y Chile | a 2 cuadras de la Plaza Grande, Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $24 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Quito Cultural 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Quito Cultural born of a XVIII century building at the hands of a French architect, this house currently consists as a heritage of Barrio San Marcos the oldest in Quito. With a rich pre-Columbian history, the capital of Ecuador was founded on the ruins of an Inca city, but offers everything a modern traveler may need. Still one of the best preserved historical sites in Latin America and the UNESCO declared world heritage. The location of the hostel is convenient because it allows travelers to move around the old Quito and know all the baroque jewels, like the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, as well as the church and the college of the Company. The hostel rooms have all the amenities to make guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday as they deserve, our main seal of the fraternity is offered by our staff. We offert Coffe Concert in the Garden Space with live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Quito Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Quito Cultural Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing