We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of adrenaline”
Review of Biking Dutchman

Biking Dutchman
Ranked #2 of 77 Outdoor Activities in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "There’s a reason the South American Andes is spoken about with awe, and the cone of Ecuador’s Cotopaxi volcano is the icing on this mountainous hunk of cake. Scraping the sky at more than 5800 metres above sea level, the stratovolcano is currently snoozing after chucking a tantrum in late 2015, when it spat smoke and ash into the air. Rug up for altitude and thunder down its foothills on a 30-kilometre cycling trip with Biking Dutchman Tours. A back-up vehicle will carry you up high, where you’ll swing onto the saddle of a 21-speed mountain bike and head off-road, winding through ancient lava fields and past wild horses grazing in grassy plains studded with wildflowers. Stop at Incan ruins, enjoy a homemade picnic lunch, and spot the snowy giant reflected on the surface of Limpiopungo Lake... " GET LOST MAGAZINE
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great day of adrenaline”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The day started early and the 4x4took us out of the city where we upgraded to the next 4x4. The journey was fine stopping for pictures. It was only arriving at the NP we were advised to buy hats & gloves. You can buy from locals, but not good if you have already! The whole day was generally well organised, bikes were good quality, helmets were adequate, lunch was very tasty and the guide gave good safety instructions was helpful and informative. Great day tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    56
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We did the 3 day Cotopaxi, Quilotoa, Chimborazo. The trip was very well organized. Fernando, our guide was great and made me (the only girl in our group of 7 and a bit anxious pre-trip) feel very safe and comfortable. All 7 of us got along really well. This trip is a great way to see the amazing Andes of Ecuador, beautiful scenery, whiz down mountain roads, and go through villages that you may not see if you were in a bus or car. The trip was fantastic! It was an active way to see a beautiful, fascinating country. We hope we can do another trip with Biking Dutchman in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendyf323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you want to see Ecuador in a varied and active way go for the Biking Dutchman!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the 21st to the 28th of Apr 2013 my wife and me did a fantastic mountain bike round trip in Ecuador Mainland with the Biking Dutchman himself: the expert and even the inventor of mountain biking in Equador. We saw many, many interesting places in the Andes and the Orientes (jungle) and in the end we felt very satisfied that we had got a perfect survey over Ecuador after the 8-day mountainbike tour.

Jan, the Biking Dutchman, is a very funny guy, open to every kind of joke, easy going, flexible to change the itinerary, if requested by his guests (however, only possible for small groups like us) and very knowlegdedable about the the landscape, culture and possible activities. We enjoyed the time with him very much and at the end we had been very sad to say good-bye.

In detail we visited/biked: a shut down railway line close to Quito (running through a beautiful canyon), Otavalo and its indigenous market, Papallacta (the hot springs are really great), Mishoulli in the amazon basin (on our request and a surcharge we went deeper into the jungle and did not regret - the highlight was a guided tour by a Queshuan Indian), the pittoresk village Banos and finally the mountains Chimborazo and Cotopaxi with fantastic hikes close to 5000 meters of altitude and nice downhill rides.

The accommodations had been very well selected. Outstanding was Papallacta were we had access to hot pools only for hotel guests, which meant that we had the nice and well maintained pools more or less for us alone!

Not to forget the perfect and delicious home made lunches of Ana (Jan's wife). We had such a wonderful time. The price benefit relationship of the tour was excellent. If you want to see Ecuador in a varied and active way go for the Biking Dutchman!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biking-dutchman, Manager at Biking Dutchman, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Guten Abend Michael
We would like to thank you for the nice insight you gave from the tour you and your wife took in April.
We really appreciate that you took the time to write this review to spread the word about our tours.
Jan wanted you to know that he had a great vacation with both of you :)
He enjoyed it probably as much as you did.
We hope that the rest of your stay in South America will be as much fun as you were hoping for.
As discussed, my German is bad Dutch but I love the fact that I have two good friends on the East side again. We will take advantage of your promise to welcome us in your home. While you are working we will have fun. Haha
Jan & Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yeah, nice ride...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great day on Cotopaxi. Unfortunately the weather was not that good. But it didn't matter, we enjoyed the wet and fast ride down. Even when it was finish, we could go further as long as we want. The stuff and the chef are awesome...Really good company. Anytime again. The gear also...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bengelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cycling trip in stunning volcano landscape!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Very well organised trip in a beautiful landscape, good bicycles, food and accommodation, nice company and a fantastic guide (thanks Alberto!). I had a great time on my two day Cotopaxi/Chimborazo trip and would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to explore some of Ecuador's volcano landscape by bike!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bijsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biking Dutchman also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Biking Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing