We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Three Day Trip!”
Review of Biking Dutchman

Biking Dutchman
Ranked #2 of 76 Outdoor Activities in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "There’s a reason the South American Andes is spoken about with awe, and the cone of Ecuador’s Cotopaxi volcano is the icing on this mountainous hunk of cake. Scraping the sky at more than 5800 metres above sea level, the stratovolcano is currently snoozing after chucking a tantrum in late 2015, when it spat smoke and ash into the air. Rug up for altitude and thunder down its foothills on a 30-kilometre cycling trip with Biking Dutchman Tours. A back-up vehicle will carry you up high, where you’ll swing onto the saddle of a 21-speed mountain bike and head off-road, winding through ancient lava fields and past wild horses grazing in grassy plains studded with wildflowers. Stop at Incan ruins, enjoy a homemade picnic lunch, and spot the snowy giant reflected on the surface of Limpiopungo Lake... " GET LOST MAGAZINE
Useful Information: Activities for older children
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Three Day Trip!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I finished a three day biking tour of Cotopaxi-Quilotoa-Chimborazo with Biking Dutchman this afternoon.

Starting outside Magic Bean at 7am on Tuesday, we drove to Cotopaxi national park and biked down Volcan Cotopaxi, then did approximately 40km more in the national park that day. We stopped for a fantastic lunch made by Mrs Biking Ditchman!

Mid afternoon we left the park and drove to the town of Quilotoa where we spent the night in a lovely hotel/hostel two minutes from the edge of the Quilotoa crater. The next morning we walked down the crater to the lake where we could swim, rent kayaks or just enjoy the amazing lagoon. Later we cycled for approximately 30km.

The second night was spent in Riobamba in a hotel in the heart of the city. There was wifi and the rooms were comfortable. The next morning we drove towards Chimborazo where we did a 40 minute hike up to the base camp and then back down to the car park where we started our descent. We did over 40km of riding from Chimborazo to Ambato, almost entirely downhill through spectacular scenery. In Ambato we were driven to the bus terminal where they helped us catch a bus to Baños. Alternatively, some of our group went back to Quito in the 4x4s, which is included in the trip cost.

Overall it was an amazing trip that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone. We had bikers ranging from 18 to over 60, and we all got along very well and had support from the drivers of the two 4x4s which take the bikes and transport us from mountain to mountain!

We also had a fantastic tour guide that made the trip even more memorable. I must also mention his dog, Champignon, who was always ready to play 'fetch' on our hikes and when we had breaks from our cycling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    57
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lübeck
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, excellent guide, delicious lunch, well-maintained bikes”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had a great day with Jan (the dutchman), the bikes, and the group - we all were just enjoying the ride, even though we had quite a loss of material, jan still had bikes in reserve - changed it without any stress.
We had quite a range of experience in mountain-biking - hard core bikers to absolute beginners - jan managed to have a really great day for everyone !
Later it started to rain a bit, we enjoyed a tasty homemade lunch with delicious desert - and then the Cotopaxi lifted the clouds and we finally got a good view of this beautiful volcano.
Resumee: Very reasonable price, real fun for everybody, one of the best days in ecuador!
Next time I´ll have a longer tour with Jan´s crew !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank diwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgetable Cotopaxi-Downhill Experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After comparing some tour-operators in Quito I booked a downhill tour with "The Biking Dutchman" - and enjoyed every single second! Jan himself drove us up to the starting point of our route and joined us for the whole downhill-adventure. He might been doing this for a while now and is really experienced... but still as enthusiastic as if he rode down that "hill" for the first time! Other reviews already coverd loads of route information, so I just wanna state, that every detail - starting with bikes, briefing in the office as well as before we hit the "road", stops, homemade lunch, desert and YES, also homemade gingertea, ... - has just been amazing!
I`m not a mountainbiking or downhill pro and would recommend the tour to everyone who likes to be on bikes. The 4WD is all the time around, so you can decide how demanding your tour shall be ... but once on the bike, you don`t want to get off ... promise! :)

So thanx again to Jan & the team of "Flying Dutchman" for a great tour and experience & thanks to the bunch of people who`ve been on the trip with me... the day has been a great part of my Ecuador experience!

Chris/Austria

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best part of the trip to Quito!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Highly recommend this company! My sister and I booked a one-day mountain biking tour at Cotopaxi with Biking Dutchman after learning the train there from Quito was out of service. The ride was amazing, starting with a long downhill from around 13,000 feet at the base of Cotopaxi and continuing through the Páramo for several hours. The bikes were comfortable and easy to ride, our guide (Fernando) was very knowledgeable, the transportation to and from Cotopaxi was quick and on-time, and we even had a tasty home cooked meal for lunch. This was a great, great way to see Cotopaxi National Park, I highly recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank benandsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing bike riding adventure”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We biked down Cotopaxi and had Fernando as our guide. He was phenomenal and was great about explaining what to expect along the ride and what was expected of us. The lunch provided was amazing also! I highly recommend this company because the experience is awe

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arw319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biking Dutchman also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Biking Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing