We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic!!!!!”
Review of Biking Dutchman

Biking Dutchman
Ranked #2 of 77 Outdoor Activities in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "There’s a reason the South American Andes is spoken about with awe, and the cone of Ecuador’s Cotopaxi volcano is the icing on this mountainous hunk of cake. Scraping the sky at more than 5800 metres above sea level, the stratovolcano is currently snoozing after chucking a tantrum in late 2015, when it spat smoke and ash into the air. Rug up for altitude and thunder down its foothills on a 30-kilometre cycling trip with Biking Dutchman Tours. A back-up vehicle will carry you up high, where you’ll swing onto the saddle of a 21-speed mountain bike and head off-road, winding through ancient lava fields and past wild horses grazing in grassy plains studded with wildflowers. Stop at Incan ruins, enjoy a homemade picnic lunch, and spot the snowy giant reflected on the surface of Limpiopungo Lake... " GET LOST MAGAZINE
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic!!!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This tour was amazing. The tour set off on the dot, the vehicle and bikes were top quality, the route is well thought out combining both exciting down hill riding with easier parts and challenging parts! There is always a support vehicle behind and you are never rushed. Our guide was lovely and patient and helped with my gears. Not to forget the gorgeous homemade lunch, with possibly the best brownie I have ever eaten!!!! I am a beginner cyclist and it was a great tour for me, the more advanced people were way ahead, so the tour really is for everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biking-dutchman, Owner at Biking Dutchman, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Eva and Paul, Thanks for sharing your insight as well as helping to spread your experience with our company . We are constantly looking for ways to improve our product and know we are far from perfect. But it's great to hear that you've found great value in what we currently do and will continue to struggle to improve. Jan was happy to share a great biking adventure with you and insisted that we answer to your kind review
Best Regards,
BIKING DUTCHMAN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    56
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An unmissable day - such a fun way to experience a special place”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The original and the best! I was lucky to join their Cotopaxi ride again after loving both it and their Papallacta day trips a few years ago. The fact that I loved it so much when I was last here, made me want to do it again and I can certainly say that a day out with The Biking Dutchman in Cotopaxi is still as awesome as ever! The biggest thing that I loved about it was the feeling of being in the wilderness as you start the descent – the silence almost makes your ears hurt. As the scenery, cycling conditions (sand, grass, gravel, road and forest to name a few) and weather change it becomes one of those precious travel moments that you feel privileged to be experiencing. Cotopaxi National Park should not be missed as it is a very special place, and cycling downhill with your own thoughts is just the perfect way to explore it. The bikes and safety equipment were fantastic, lunch super yummy and our guide Jan was brilliant (as well as Ana in the office). It’s an amazing day out where you really have the chance to appreciate Ecuador’s beauty. Don’t miss exploring this special place with these guys – you’ll not regret it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 day excursion”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We did a 3 day bike trip with the Biking Dutchman himself that included Cotopaxi, Quilotoa Lake and Chimborazo. Jan, the owner was our guide. He was very knowlegable, helpful, flexible and willing to cater to our needs and wishes. The tour was a great insight into Ecuadorian life while riding through some of the most spectacular landscape of the Andes. Transportation was comfortable in Jan's Toyota Land Cruiser and the bikes were very well maintained and in good condition with helmets and gloves provided. Jan's client care and attention to safety was excellent. Overall we had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this multiday trip to anybody with an adventureous spirit. Correspondence with Ana (Jan's wife) was always prompt and extremely professional.

Eva and Paul Sylvestre
Nature in Focus Hiking Co.
Banff, AB, Canada

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulBanff_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best value in Ecuador”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was one of the funnest things I've ever done! I'm a road biker not a mountain biker so didn't think I'd like it, but it was fantastic. (The day trip to Cotopaxi from Quit). This is THEE active way to see Cotopaxi (i.e. not simply from the seat of a jeep). I would not have been able to hike due to not having had the time to adjust to the altitude. The biking down was easy as far as the altitude, the flat part on the alto plano was even a bit challenging though as far as oxygen levels. The views were amazing. We had a lovely picnic lunch at a spring. Our guide (can't remember his name) was great - he gave us great tips for riding, had a great lunch packed, and was just overall a very pleasant person to be around. Driver of the van was great too! This trip was only $45, like said, the best value in Ecuador. I would have paid double and felt I'd gotten a bargain.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommendable, fantastic guide!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were planning to do a two-day trip to Cotopaxi and Quilotoa. We started in Cotopaxi and it was a great trip: nice bike ride in beautiful surroundings. You'll bike off the beaten tracks, which was great. The bikes were in very good condition and the trip was well organised (friendly and helpful guide who speaks good English and gives a lot of information, good lunch, attention to safety etc.).
Unfortunatelly, we got altitude sickness. Our guide, Fernando, was amazingly helpful. On the way up to Quilotoa, we decided that it was better to descend, so he brought us to a hotel in Latacunga. The next morning we still felt bad, so our guide brought us to Banos instead of going up to Quilotoa. All this without charching any extra costs. We were dissapointed that we couldn't finish our tour, but there was absolutely nothing more that our guide could do. Thanks Fernando!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biking Dutchman also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Biking Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing