We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, nothing more”
Review of Hostel Revolution

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Revolution
Ranked #9 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hostel, nothing more”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're looking for an average hostel, this is the place. It has everything you need: rooftop, movieroom, big kitchen, spacious rooms and good bunkbeds (flat pillows, you need 2) with your own lockerbox, a bookexchange and wifi in the whole building. What I didn't like is that it's noisy because of the wooden floors and the 2 dorms are separated throught an old closet with only 1 door. The room had no functioning plugs except for 2 for 6 people. The showers are terrible. Takes a while to get hot, if they do, and then it's hard to controle the temperature. The 3 days I was there they were dirty. Because it's only a shower I found it cramped.
There is a dog around, who poops on the rooftop what I think it's disgusting and should be controlled by the owner

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidaverde, Owner at Hostel Revolution, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for the review, our beautiful dog Shakira has been with us since we opened in 2007 and is part of the family. She has been trained to go to a discrete corner of the terrace to do her thing because there is no other area for her but it is cleaned up as soon as possible. We have never received a complaint about this until now. We will be more vigilant in cleaning up afterwards.

Our cleanliness has always been rated at approx 95% on all the review sites so I am surprised about the shower comments but I have instructed staff to check more regularly, obviously we cannot clean the showers after each person but we do have a much higher ratio of bathrooms to guest ratio than most hostels. regards, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
53
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had great wifi, felt safe, bedrooms were clean, hot water in showers could be stop and start but I wasn't too worried, sociable people seem to stay here and I was lucky with my roommates, very helpful staff, 3 common rooms were good to have for finding quiet places to call home, quiet, good location (easily walkable to the old town), nice view from the terrace.
Only thing I would say is in the kitchen they could do with providing some cleaning/drying products to help people to help them keep it hygienically clean. Ditto in the bathrooms, could do with providing soap. Other hostels do this, so if this place did too then I would recommend it to people. Often booked up so make sure you reserve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidaverde, Owner at Hostel Revolution, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
HI soap is now provided in bathrooms. Cleaning products are provided in kitchen and staff have been informed to regularly check in the kitchen that there are fresh towels for drying and clean sponges. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hostel is awesome. Best Ive stayed at so far in south america. It has a very friendly, community type vibe to it that is so welcoming. I keep coming back! Dorms are a good size, lockers beneath the beds, warm blankets. Plenty of bathrooms, hot water, kitchen facilities are available. Wifi works throughout the entire place (even on the roof where they have a patio table). There are a few common rooms on the main floor- one for dining and one for lounging and watching movies. Staff is very friendly and helpful. And the entire hostel is extremely clean. So refreshing! It's not in the middle of Quito's night life, but it is an easy 5 minute bus ride from that part if town. I recommend booking a few days in advance, you don't want to miss out on this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 5 nights. We had two separate rooms. One with a double and one with a double and a twin which worked out perfect for our opposite gender teenagers. The staff was great and very helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily. There was a shared kitchen which we only used to heat up water. I wish there could have been some breakfast included but we had brought a lot of snacks, etc and were up early and out most of the day. They were helpful in getting us connected to a private taxi which although was more expensive was convenient for some things and we felt safer. The location was great and we could walk to Old Town and only a short taxi ride to Gringo land. It is very well run by the owner and we appreciated the drinks for sale at the small office/bar area. After a long trip to get there having a cold beer with the pizza we ordered was great! Thanks!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaL427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hostel is in a good location just between the tourist areas in the old town and the new part of town - both are walkable during the day.

The facilities are good - there's wifi, computers to use, a TV room with Dvds, a good sized kitchen and good clean bathrooms.

The area was nice and quiet at night and we slept well, although it wasn't the most comfortable mattress.

We didn't find the local shops much good for cooking ingredients, especially fruit and veg, but we found a very good supermarket a few stops north on the Ecovia, which stops very close to the hostel.

There's a small bar in the reception/dining area where you can get drinks (happy hour 17:30-18:30) and meet other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

this is probably the cleanest the hostel i have ever stayed in .. in 20 years of backpacking .. new clean sheets everyday and they re-make your bed, the cleaning lady pulls the beds and furniture out and cleans behind them and the location is right in the middle of gringolandia and old town .. like most places in quito, always take a cab after dark. super nice owners and staff and very chill hostel .. the computer downstairs in tv room is fine but the one upstairs is a little slow (boowho) and wireless throughout .. would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramonathebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location in the historical centre of Quito. Dorm rooms are ok, no ladder to get up to the top bunk which was a bit annoying for me being a short girl ;). Friendly staff, place very clean and beds made every day. Two old looking computers which actually work very well, decent wifi connection.
Shared toilet n showers, plenty of them tho the shower can get VERY hot.
All in all a good place to stay :)
Oh before I forget, excellent kitchen n plenty of stores/eateries etc nearby

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 262 in Quito
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#7 of 262 in Quito
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Revolution

Property: Hostel Revolution
Address: Los Rios N 13 - 11 y Julio Castro | San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Revolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing