We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostel Revolution

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Revolution
Ranked #8 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Tidy hostel in a great location between old town and gringoland. Service was friendly and helpful (helped me sort out some issues with lost luggage as my Spanish is poor) and the rooms are fine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    40
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
52
72
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Brill little hostel conveniently located for both old town and new town. Very clean, with great hot showers and lots of toilets. Australian owner Matt was knowledgeable and helfpul, and Johnny was also very helpful. Lovely secure building, relaxed atmosphere, cracking DVD collection (although mostly Spanish dubbed), free coffee and internet and as advertised definitely not a party hostel. Convenient laundry and chinese restaurants located close to the hostel, and they have a 'resident' taxi driver (based right next door) for safe journeys to bus station, airport etc.

We found Quito to be a bit of an odd city though, by 8pm at night the city was dead and there really wasn´t a safe feel to the streets - the hostel was quite an oasis in this respect. Quito has some great things to see by day, we particularly liked the hilltop viewpoint 5-10 minutes from the hostel where the city and all the surrounding mountains can be seen - this would be brilliant to watch the sunrise from.

Also, flights in Ecuador were super cheap, worth considering - we paid just under $50 each to fly from Quito to Manta on the coast saving 10 hours on Ecuador's crazy buses! Great way to get to Puerto Lopez.

Overall, we enjoyed Hostel Revolution - recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff (Matt and Jonny) are incredibly nice, fun, funny and welcoming. Upon entering, they showed us around the hostel and told us about the great (and dangerous) parts of Quito. The terrace on the hostel roof has a great view of the city, and is conveniently located within walking distance between the Old Town (the colonial historic center), New Town (where the tourist agencies and most bars are), and a big park overlooking the city. We stayed in Quito for over one month, so we got to know the area quite well, and even tried out another hostel in New Town, just to try it out. Hostel Revolution was so much better than the rest, so we had to come back. The beds have quality mattresses and soft blankets; the showers are hot and clean; the TV room has hundreds of movies in English; the kitchen has free tea, coffee, and often free food (Sometimes Jonny cooks up a delicious curry and sells extra for a couple dollars); the central hangout area has comfy bean bag chairs, board games, a book exchange and a quality happy hour; and of course, the whole place as super fast wi-fi, and 2 public computers.

Room Tip: Call ahead or reserve beds online with hostelbookers.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsonburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

When I think of my time in Quito, Hostel Revolution will be one of the places I look back upon most fondly. We ended up staying three weeks, and the next time we’re back in Quito, we most definitely know where to stay. Over the course of our longer-than-expected stay we were lucky enough to sleep in three different rooms, and they were all great. Very comfortable, spacious, and kept meticulously clean. The kitchen is plenty big for everyone, and has everything you need. The showers take a bit of fiddling with to get just right, but once you get the hang of it, they are just fine.

Matt and Jonny (forgive me if I forgot an “h” somewhere) are warm and helpful, and did everything they could for us. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you're NOT loocking for the next "Backpackers Inn", you will find a relax, tiny, clean & familial Hostel in a good location!
We stayed there for one week and enjoyed our first days in South America.
The rooms are clean & comfortable. The kitchen is big and perfect to prepare your own food or cook for everybody :)

You have a comfortable "living room" where you can watch over 1000 DVDs and use the 2 PC for Internet.
The owner is very friendly and will help you with all questions about visiting Quito.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcatose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay there again.
Positives:
Free Internet and WiFi
Huge,warm and comfortable beds (we stayed in the 6 bed dorm)
Large spacious room
Lot of toilets and showers
Friendly atmosphere throughout the hostel with english speaking reception
Good sized kitchen with all facilities
Quite close to the centre of the old town
Happy hour between 5.30 and 6.30
Very clean also throughout

Negatives:
Reception probably were not the most helpful when we asked about any info
For the price a simple breakfast probably could have been included
TV room is small a little uncomfortable with a small tv

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelRevolution, Owner at Hostel Revolution, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Hi thanks for staying at our hostel and for the recommendation! In response to the negative points, the TV in the lounge is 21 inch so although not the biggest around I think it is suitable for the room size. If you did not receive enough help at reception I apologise but if you asked me (owner) directly I would have helped as best as I could. About the breakfast being included in the price, for $8 a person for a dorm bed you receive free unlimited internet & wifi, free map & advice, free linen, rooms cleaned & beds made daily, use of a fully equipped kitchen with all implements, toaster, oven, microwave etc, free tea & coffee, free condiments, hundreds of DVDs to watch free, free use of towels, extra blankets on request free, free guidebook library, use of facilities free (even after room check-out), comfortable oversize beds and a higher than normal ratio of showers/toilets to guests. I believe $8 a night is a bargain and maybe unreasonable to think breakfast should also be included as well considering the facilities and services listed above you receive for the price! We are a small hostel and make a very modest income. Thanks for the feedback though and hope you return someday!, cheers, Matt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Great Kitchen, Great internet speed, Awesome owner, overall A++++. This is a real backpackers hostel, everything a traveler needs. Not to mention a happy hour at the bar!!!

I would highly recommend this hostel to any other backpackers traveling in South America.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsonjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 255 in Quito
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
1.9 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#7 of 255 in Quito
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#17 of 255 in Quito
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Revolution

Property: Hostel Revolution
Address: Los Rios N 13 - 11 y Julio Castro | San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Revolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing