We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, TERRIBLE Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Rosendale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Hotel, TERRIBLE Service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our experience with the hotel started when our car didn't meet us at the airport as scheduled when we arrived, although I had called the day before to confirm both our reservation and our car pickup. We took a taxi, which wasn't a big deal, and arrived at the hotel in Quito at 9:30pm after a day's travel, with our 5 year old and my 79 year old father. The desk clerk stated that he didn't know why we weren't met at the airport, since he had a record of our request. He then stated that our rooms were flooded, and there were no other rooms available. When I asked what was damaged in the rooms (were the beds wet? Was there still water on the floor? Perhaps we could stay anyway) he was vague but said we could not see the rooms, that he didn't have a key. They had booked rooms for us at a nearby hostel/hotel. We waited 10 minutes for a taxi and then were driven 2 blocks to the hostel (where the rooms were very simple but clean). When we came back the following morning, we were given breakfast in the nice breakfast area, but then told that they only had one reservation for us, despite me having confirmed 2 rooms the day before AND despite having booked two rooms for us at the hostel. When pressed, they simply said they didn't have the right "type" of room at that we would have to pay more for a larger room than the one we originally booked. We got into our rooms after noon the next day. I have very little confidence that the rooms were ever flooded but suspect they were given to someone else.

The rest of our interactions with the hotel staff were similar. When asking about a restaurant that a friend had recommended (Vista Hermosa) we were told it "has closed." We later found out it was closed Sundays only but of course is still open. When we asked for other restaurant recommendations we were told there was nothing open in old town after 6pm - until another hotel guest overheard us and recommended the mall next to the Grand Hotel, where there are three nice restaurants all open until 9pm, and of course the restaurant in the Grand Hotel or the Patio Andaluz hotel, both of which are very nice.

The rooms were fine, although since the larger room looked out on the street it was a bit noisy at night. Water pressure was good and there was hot water.

There is so much promise to this little hotel, it's in a nice location and is pretty on the inside, although the public area furniture is dated and uncomfortable (and we spent quite a bit of time on it waiting for our rooms to be ready), but I have to say, we rebooked our stay at the end of the trip to another hotel in town, paying MUCH more for rooms there just to avoid the horrible service.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are good because they don't open onto the street but people stand and smoke r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    145
    64
    24
    19
See reviews for
67
153
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I really had a bad expirence in this hotel, nice location close to everything. clean and very nice decoration. But the people how works there they think they are doing you a FAVOR when they help you. They have attitude for everything or don't talk to manager because she think the she is the best just to talk to her you have to make appointment for COMPLAINS oh I forgot she is not going to take the problem because she is busy in her cell talking about where is the next party. It is so sad they need to take a curse for COUSTOMER SERVICES. I do recommend this hotel if they change the who works there

So SAD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

excellent location, clean and spacious room and WiFi available. Highlight the breakfast floor with great views!
You have access by walking to all major attractions and also the Bus stop is just 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great stay at the Plaza Sucre. The hotel is in a good location in the historical centre and has a security gate at the entrance, so it felt very secure.

The local area felt reasonably safe, particularly as there are tourist/traffic police at almost every corner of the Centro Historico. It was just a few minutes’ walk to La Ronda or the Plaza de la Independencia, where there are some good restaurants. If you aren’t keen on hordes of tourists, lots of traffic, and bars with loud music then I’d recommend this area over La Mariscal or “Gringoland” as it is disparagingly nicknamed.

We stayed at the Plaza Sucre for 7 nights, spent 8 days in Galapagos, then returned for a further night. The hotel was happy to store some of our luggage in between visits, and for us to leave it all with them for the final afternoon of our trip after checking out.

During the first week we had a suite (room 303), which was great. It had a large bedroom with an enormous bed and a high window with a view over El Panecillo. The bathroom was well equipped (though the hot water could be temperamental and we had a few cold showers). We also had a lobby room with a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, and a large desk. Its door and window look out onto the walkway leading to the breakfast room. The only downside was that during our stay there was an ashtray and bench for guests to use placed right outside our door. This was annoying due to not only the noise of them talking, but if we used the bathroom fan it pulled the smoke into the room, making it smell awful.

On our final night we had a room on the second floor, overlooking the reception courtyard. Although the room was reasonably spacious we didn’t like it as it had no window. It was also a bit noisy, with noise carrying up from reception. Other rooms onto the courtyard do have windows, so try to request one of these if you like to see daylight.

The hotel was always spotlessly clean and we liked the quirky artwork, which was changed around during our visit. All rooms provide a safe, hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap and bottled water. Bathrooms had a shower, no bath. Tea and coffee making facilities are NOT provided in the rooms, but are provided free in the lounge area, along with bottled water. This lounge also has two PCs for guests to use. There is a bar, but it is for decoration only! The hotel offers free wifi, which we found usually worked fine at the back of the hotel but not at all in the rooms at the front of the hotel.

Please note that there is NO café or restaurant in the hotel, although this is mentioned on many booking websites. The only food available is breakfast - in a lovely airy room with an amazing view over the rooftops of El Panecillo.

Breakfast is eggs cooked as you prefer, a selection of fresh fruit, cereal, choice of fresh juices, bread (you toast it in a waffle maker!), jam, ham and cheese. Watch out for the butter though– it had gone off during our stay and tasted awful.

For the great location, friendly and helpful staff, facilities and comfort this hotel offers very good value for money. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window as some on the inner courtyard don't have natural light. Suite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poots-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked here prior to a Galapagos trip as I wanted to be close to our departure hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location and was very quiet. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace with wonderful views of Quito. We were lucky as internet worked in our room although it was better when sat on the seats outside our door. We liked the 24 free coffee, tea and hot water in the bar area (not that the bar was open) and the buffet breakfast was great. I really liked the choice of fresh juices, the cheese, ham, jam and best of all the grill for making toasties. Cooked breakfast was simply a choice of freshly cooked eggs.
Negative points - the TV control had a very bright light - suggest unplugging which is obvious unless you arrive very late at night with jetlag. The shower was ok but you wash your hair whether you want to or not! The bathroom we had was quite tight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I visited Quito on my own during the summer of 2012 and found this hotel on line. It turned out to be in a great location in the Old Town - much preferred by me than the more popular tourist area Mariscal. I could walk to a lot of the great landmarks of Quito and had easy access to the Ecovia - the mass transit bus system and other cultural amenities. A supermarket is just up the block, a bakery is down the block and I even went to get a $3 haircut down the street as well. The hotel is located in an 18th century building with several courtyards, lots of artwork, and a lovely breakfast room with a spectacular view of "El Panecillo" - a beautiful way to start each morning. My room had no sunlight - it looked into a drab corridor, and although I was hoping to change it, that didn't happen. The TV had only Latin American CNN, and when I travel I do like to get international news. I was able to get this by going on line on one of the two computers available and by making occasional stops at one of many very cheap Internet cafes, so that wasn't a problem. The services were very good, the room was comfortable and spacious. My main criticism was the lack of natural light, which is perhaps more of a personal issue. The convenience was great, the condition excellent, the front desk very helpful. It hink my price in dollars was about $44 per night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Explicitly ask for a room with sunlight. I didn't know there were rooms that didn't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noshnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice location in central Quito Historic district. Staff are friendly and speak English. The place is clean. The beds are very comfortable. Few rooms have exterior windows, windows face the interior. The only view is from the 3rd floor dining area. They have free wireless internet but it only works if you are near the router. It also seems quite slow. They have difficulty providing hot water. Had to have several cold showers. The breakfast is nice with eggs made to order, fruit, Mexican cheese, bread and something that looks like processed meat. The coffee is instant. They have no heating or cooling system which made it a bit cool in the breakfast room (February). and very warm in the room so it took a while to get to sleep. TV in the rooms but no English channels. The lobby is in a central foyer. Our room on the second floor overlooked the lobby and it became very noisy in the mornings with people checking out early.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the lobby.since that is the noisiest area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljkapler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 111 in Quito
324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#15 of 111 in Quito
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre

Property: Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Address: Sucre Oe 2-42 | Entre Guayaquil y Flores, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The project Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre was born in the year 2.005, with the restoration of a house from the colonial and republican epoch and 18th and 19th century; to give national tourist and foreign tourist a touch of our cultural identity being a part of the Historical Center of San Francisco of Quito named by the UNESCO as Cultural Patrimony of the Humanity. Our Hotel has a capacity of 25 rooms, counting on single, double, triple rooms an all of them expressing a unique environment of peace, harmony and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing