We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Ranked #49 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

So relieved to arrive to this hotel in that it was absolutely spotless (had one or two not so clean places prior to this). We had a small issue with cold water in the shower the first day, phoned reception and had hot water all the time after that. The hotel is secure in behind locked gates but you do feel that you need to be cautious in that part of Quito - wouldn't go out too late). Mind you I would think that for Quito in general - you need to be careful.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. Fantastic value for money and just a lovely place if you really just want some comfort and cleanliness. Breakfast was nice, in a room with an amazing view of the city. Free internet access, which was also fast - that was a nice litte extra. Staff spoke good english which was very helpful with our miserable spanish. They have a lot of information on ecuador and run tours from the hotel, We didnt avail of these as this was our last stop before going home but we did think it would have been a great first stop in Quito.

After leaving I thought i left my USB in the hotel. Staff were really helpful over the phone and went and looked for it. Thankfully I found it elsewhere but it was great that they were so accessible by phone when I did think it was missing.

If I am ever back in Quito, it will definately be my first stop. Enjoy : )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    137
    63
    23
    18
See reviews for
65
143
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall this was a very clean, modern hotel with professional staff that spoke English. The communal areas were nice, and the hotel was artfully decorated. Breakfast was awesome in a room on the fourth floor that overlooks Quito. Location was great - really close to the plaza and sites. Never felt unsafe (plenty of cops all over the streets and my Lonely Planet says this area is now even a little safer than the Mariscal district) but anywhere in central Quito you should practice precaution and not walk around at night. The only problem was the hot water would cut out after about 30 seconds (not exaggerating!) to give way to warmish water, bordering on the uncomfortable. The third time this happened I was so fed up I called the receptionist, who went to check something for a few mins and then asked me to try again. That time the hot water stayed on for 5 mins before cutting out again! Since having a hot shower is a priority for me I would not come back to this place, which is a pity.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelineDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great little hotel. The service was professional and courteous. Some rooms have no windows and are stuffy so insure you ask for a window when you book. Breakfast is perfect, fruits, cheeses and good coffee with a beautiful view. Comfortable beds and beautiful décor. The old town area is pretty in the main squares but dirty in the outlying streets. There was urine and feces on the streets and unsafe after dark to walk. Overall a nice place to stay during a short visit to this section of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window when you book. They have some without that are small and stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Booked in here after stay in hotel Quito. Was in hotel Quito as part of tour meeting hotel. Hotel boutique plaza sucre is a lovely traditional style hotel in Quito. It was very reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful and friendly. As we were told quito wasn't very safe for walking around we arranged a taxi to take us to our hotel. After a while the taxi stopped and said he could not take us any further and gave us rough directions which we had to walk with our bags. The area wasn't safe at all and we felt very insecure. We had to walk about 4 blocks and eventually found the hotel which had no signage marking the hotel. The hotel inside was very clean and secure with locked gates. When I asked why we had to walk it was explained that there were road works and if we had to get a taxi to the airport we could only get it at 6am or before this time. The other alternative was to walk two or three blocks to get a taxi which I was told after I asked was not safe at all. Also it was advertised with a restaurant but when we arrived we were told that there was no restaurant. The staff were very helpful though and helped us to order a pizza to be delivered.

Room Tip: Do not get room to the front of the hotel as it was very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeidIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Location was excellent, friendly staff, services were good. Nice breakfast room. No window to open to get fresh air and noise from people coming in late were the only cons. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cewcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with wifi, clean rooms, hot water and helpful staff. The breakfast was not great but had a fantastic view of the panacillo. If you stay in the junior sweat you get a kitchen with a sink, microwave and fridge. It has a king size bed with six pillows but the double rooms are pretty spacious and hold two double beds. It is right around the corner from everything you want to see and visit. I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in the new part of Quito over this charming and beautiful old town!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meandertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms are large, and all nicely situated off the 3 storied central lobbies. Great breakfast on the 3rd floor with views of the City. The hotel clerks are all accommodating and helped us with restaurants and site seeing, and in particular, our last minute arrangements to see the Galapagos. This hotel is popular with business travelers, as well. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browneyedbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#52 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre

Property: Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Address: Sucre Oe2-42 | Entre Guayaquil y Flores, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The project Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre was born in the year 2.005, with the restoration of a house from the colonial and republican epoch and 18th and 19th century; to give national tourist and foreign tourist a touch of our cultural identity being a part of the Historical Center of San Francisco of Quito named by the UNESCO as Cultural Patrimony of the Humanity. Our Hotel has a capacity of 25 rooms, counting on single, double, triple rooms an all of them expressing a unique environment of peace, harmony and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing