We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Ventana Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ventana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #146 of 232 Quito B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had some business in Quito but my wife developed a bronchial infection the first week in a Quito hotel. We looked for somewhere with cleaner air and less altitude for her recuperation whilst I concluded our business. Found Ventana B&B, about 30 minutes from Quito, on the internet and drove out to check it out. Guadalupe showed me around this sprawling B&B on the side of a hillside outside Tumbaco with it's spectacular valley views.
We moved the next day, expecting to stay a week, but we stayed two. On arrival Guadalupe made a traditional coca tea for my wife and brought fresh fruit to our room. During her recuperation Guadalupe made a traditional medicine each day, which really helped. It was like having a mother to help my wife recover.
We ate so well during our stay. Guadalupe and daughter Cynthia are amazing cooks and the food was delicious. Our room with a balcony overlooking the valley was a very relaxing experience. There is also a pool filled with spring water to refresh.
We invited friends to dinner to experience an amazing three course meal, with some great wines.
Being out of town means you need transport or taxis to take you anywhere, but this is why it is so peaceful.
The beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed each morning.
All the staff were wonderful; and very patient with our very very limited Spanish. Cynthia speaks very good English and by the end of our stay Guadalupe, who only speaks Spanish, was getting the hang of the iPad and Google translator.
If you expect room service then it is not for you. It is run by a family with few staff. But if you want to feel welcome and comfortable like at home, then enjoy this great location and this wonderful family.
We will definitely be staying again whenever we need to go back to Quito.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 450TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Most taxis, even local ones, don't know this location. I had a good map, but our really professional hotel driver had to look at it about 10 times or more. From Quito he stopped three times or more, asking local taxis and local people, and finally found it. Took 40 minutes, and he only charged $15. Could have been $30 or more. Unless you really want to be out in the countryside with a very nice, but not great view, you might want to stay elsewhere. The property is very extensive..but also ancient, in a bad way, and crumbling. Mostly unusable. If you look carefully (we did), you will notice that some of the improvements, made MANY years ago, seem to be falling off the cliff due to earthquake damage, most probably. When it was new, it was certainly a luxury villa for some rich guy from Quito. NOT today. The gardens are grossly overgrown. I just wanted to get out my shearing scissors and start working. We were looking forward to the pool/ spa, so upon check-in (they helped with the luggage, at least) we asked if the spa was heated. She said "It's almost too hot to get in"..Since we like it hot, we were excited. What we found..cold, dirty water..wouldn't dream of getting in! Basically, looked abandoned. Oh, well. That's why we have Tripadvisor! To warn people. The room is just OK, the included breakfast was about average for Ecuador..smallish but good quality..the airport is 25 minutes away (early morning traffic) and the staff generally friendly..but the price..ended up being over $90..They added on the tax and service..the only hotel in Ecuador that did that..including the Galapagos. We paid much less ($50) in the center of Quito, half as much in Galapagos, and 1/4th as much in Banos..4 nights for $90..all similar grades of lodging, but nicer. They are charging what they would if the property was pristine/new/usable, which it isn't. Sorry..stay away..would definitely NOT go back!

Room Tip: Choose another lodging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Only 40 minutes from the new airport, we booked here in order to avoid going all the way into Quito and it was SOOOOO worth it! The staff is incredibly helpful--let them know you want dinner because their food was hands down the best of the trip. The sweeping vista views and pristine rooms were fantastic (only downfall was lack of a/c, which wasn't a dealbreaker in the altitude) but the best part---was drinking a beer while playing pool on the back patio--absolutely fantastic experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The new Quito airport is at least an hour from Quito - and that's if you are travelling late at night when the traffic is only bad and not horrific. Ventana is a good alternative if you need to get to the airport for an early international flight. It is about 25 minutes away.

It can be a bit of a challenge for taxis to find, but we made it after a last minute booking and were warmly greeted by the owner.

The service is very friendly and the included breakfast was better than average. The staff also gave us helpful tips for the rest of our trip.

We liked it so much that we changed our reservations so we could stay there for our last night in Ecuador. Because we were leaving before breakfast would be served, the owner brought a couple of sandwiches and juice to our room for a late night snack - very nice touch. They also provided a ride for us to get to the airport on time - much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here the day before we departed from Ecuador on April 9, 2013. It was about 25 or so minutes to the New airport so it was much more convenient than staying in the city, which is about an hour or so with traffic. The place is beautiful! the rooms were clean and the view out of our window was breathtaking. It overlooked the valley below with a raging river cutting through the landscape. We watched the sun set and then had dinner (not included, but worth it!) and it made the night complete. We left for our flight by 2:45 AM and the cab ride got us there in plenty of time for an international flight. He did charge us $25, which we thought was too much. The pool was under renovation so we could not use it. Overall, it made our trip complete because I realize that not everything can be perfect on a trip in a foreign land.

Room Tip: The corner room has the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwegen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We landed about 1.30 am in quito and had to find a place for this first night. Friendly people at the airport helped us to get a room at Ventana and to be picked up of someone from the hotel.

On the next morning vi got aware how nice this resort is and how beautiful view vi had. Vi met Cynthia who drives the place. She speaks perfect english (in contrast to me) and she helped to make this 2 days a very good start in Ecuador.

She also hired a car for us to best conditions so we could explore a lot of the beauties of Ecuador in a 9 days trip.
Detail: We got even help (without knowing it by then) that we had not to pay more for the car hire because of extended mileage. The reason was that the car was not in good condition - something that Ventana-People immediately discovered and reported to the car hiring company -> thats service!

We booked immediate at Ventana for the last 2 days in Ecuador. It felt as to come home when we rang at the door one day before booked.

We enjoyed also the contact to all people who was working there, notably "the mama" of the place. She regretted (as did we), that we could not talk more together, because we speak no spanish.

One evening we booked for dinner. This was a great experience. So good food and so good wine.

Thank you all at Ventana!!! We shall try to come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just spent a night at Ventana and the place is located a bit on the outskirts on Quito, 28 mins from the airport. They have 9 suits and 3 more rooms. I got there at 9pm and the kitchen was already closed and the chef gone home so they couldn't prepare any food. Since this was a very last minute booking (a taxi driver suggested the place at the airport, showing me a brochure), they told me that the only room available was a suite at 90 dollars+taxes, while the taxi driver said that they had rooms for 50 dollars.. Negotiating a little bit we got to a price of 75+22% taxes. The room was ok but 2 major problems: no hot water (the ran out of gas) and when it started raining in the morning the water started leacking from the roof in 4 different holes and it soon became a swimming pool even wetting the pillow and bed. When complaining to the front desk they didn't offer a discount and I had to fight to get the price down to 50 dollars, which I still think it is a lot of money for no hot water and rain in the room.................. Definitely not reccomending this..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkdadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
5.5 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.9 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 115 in Quito
736 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#108 of 232 in Quito
37 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 115 in Quito
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ventana Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via intervalles km 5.5 y calle Manuel Castro, Quito 1123, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot hill of the Ilalo sacred mountain, 20 minutes drive from the financial area. This is the perfect place to enjoy tranquility and what mother nature has to offer. go to sleep to the sound of the San Pedro river, enjoy the best food in the area at the Cafe de las Cinco Restaurant. The entire property is a Gallery, magnificent gardens, breathtaking views. Make Ventana your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Ventana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing