We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B-Tumbaco is a "MUST" - Just go there and you´ll never regret it!”
Review of B&B Tumbaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Tumbaco
Ranked #35 of 233 Quito B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“B&B-Tumbaco is a "MUST" - Just go there and you´ll never regret it!”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We seldom enjoyed our leisure time as much as we did here!
Everything within and around this B&B contributes to make you feel happy.
Lovely individual huts with excellent sleeping facilities, the best climate you can imagine, swimming pool, flowers everywhere you look, jacuzzi, orchids, exuberant vegetation, cleanliness, smaller details which make you feel at home, thanks to the lovely couple, owners of this heavenly place. Patricia and Gerritt! We´ll never forget our delicious breakfasts with tropical fruits and a very good coffee indeed!
B&B-Tumbaco is a "MUST" - Just go and you´ll never regret it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CordobaSpitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We chose B&B Tumbaco because we wanted to be outside Quito & we wanted a safe & restful place after our long flight. We were not disappointed. We went to Ecuador to celebrate our 20th anniversary & were glad we chose B&B Tumbaco as our first destination. Gerritt & Patricia, the host & hostess, treated us as if we were part of their family. The food was great & the accommodations were safe, quiet & comfortable. We loved being able to cook in our room since cabana #3 provided a great gas stove for us to do this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerlinggonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The cottage was so comfortable, cozy, cute, private, and we loved having the kitchenette so we could prepare our own dinners, which we ate on our own porch. The owners were wonderful about helping us with day trips, arranging for cabs, and telling us about the area. Our 4 1/2 year old twins loved running around the orchards and gardens, playing on the swingset, and playing with the owner's daughter! The neighborhood was so clean, beautiful, and safe. It was so refreshing to come back to the B&B after a day trip to Quito or the surrounding Andean highlands area. The free wi-fi was wonderful. It was great!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurafingerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2010

With Gerrit and Patricia, their owners, you can´t be in better hands. This is a wonderful and warmhearted alternative to stay in Quito, with European quality standards. The rooms are little huts in the middle of a big and beautiful garden, and guests have access to the main house´s kitchen, terrasse (breakfast), and living room. Great for kids, but also great for nature lovers. It is safe, clean, and feels like a little oasis. And for those who need to stay connected to the internet, there´s (free) broadband WiFi all arround.Totally recommend!
Since it is in the outskirts of Quito (Cumbaya) you will most probably need a car (rental) to move arround. Although taxis are available and cheap.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This place is wonderful! The hosts are very friendly and are willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable. They recommend great restaurants and things to do in the area. The property is gorgeous! The cabins are so comfortable, quiet, and clean. The food was delicious! The stay was very relaxing! I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jecastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at the B&B Tumbaco over the Christmas holidays, arriving the day before Christmas and leaving the day after. It was our favorite place out of the places we stayed on our trip to Ecuador. The cottages were spacious, beautiful and set in lush surroundings. We felt very secure in the gated community where it was located, yet close to everything we needed. The hosts are wonderful people who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, fulfilling any request we had and full of local information. The breakfasts were most delicious even including a special Stollen bread for us on Christmas morning. Thank you Gerrrit and Patricia. It was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 032611o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#38 of 233 in Quito
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
11.7 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#102 of 233 in Quito
37 reviews
7.6 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#25 of 262 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tumbaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tumbaco

Property: B&B Tumbaco
Address: La Ceramica, Tumbaco, | Tumbaco, near New Quito Airport, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Tumbaco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Tumbaco is located in the Tumbaco valley, 15 km from the capital city Quito and 18 km from the airport. At the foot of the Ilaló magic mountain, the hacienda style main house features spacious gardens, swimming pool and jacuzzi, with private cottages painted in tropical colours. This unique site offers personalized service, peaceful country atmosphere and a truly great breakfast. B&B Tumbaco is personally managed by its owners, Gerrit and Patricia. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, German and Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Tumbaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing