We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Tumbaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Tumbaco
Ranked #34 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative to quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, 4 days apart as we arrived at the new Quito airport late and had early morning flights out the next day on two occasions. For those in a similar situation, this is a far better way to go than going into Quito. The B&B is beautiful, it really deserved more time than we gave it as one could really relax and enjoy the beautiful grounds and busy oneself with hiking, swimming, for a few days. However for those in transit this is a far more economical (both in terms of $s and time) way to negotiate an overnight in the Quito airport area. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the hosts were warm and helpful and it was only about 20 minutes from the airport to the B&B. People are budgeting 90 minutes or more to get from Quito to the new airport because traffic can be terrible and the new roads are not completed. Save yourself the aggravation and stay in this lovely site far closer to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLStrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at B&B Tumbaco on our first and last nights in Ecuador due to its relative proximity to the new airport and the fact that we were not going into Quito. We could not have asked for more! Gerrit was the perfect host -- he provided helpful tips on our itinerary, made excellent recommendations for accommodations in other towns, arranged for taxis and gave great driving directions. His experience and knowledge were instrumental in our having a great vacation. The lodgings and grounds were lovely and breakfasts in the main house were great. A very quiet and restful place for us to de-stress before and after the trip. We would love to go back and spend more time there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay here out of the hustle and bustle of Quito. Our host, Gerritt couldn't have been more helpful, arranging trips for us and offering helpful suggestions. Our cottage was lovely and we loved the delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynMT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tumbaco B&B is a perfect place to find peace & tranquility - away from hustle, bustle of the city. Located near new Quito airport. Convenient to city attractions (30 min. ride), 10 min to upscale shopping, restaurants. Breakfast made to order, beautiful gardens, pool, quiet, neat clean rooms/cabins. Hosts Gerret & Patricia made the stay excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaGinaBoBeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The owners take a great deal of pride in their home, landscaping and guest houses. I was grateful for their helpfulness when I arrived with altitude sickness. My son and I enjoyed being away from Quito to begin our journey, and thanks to Gerrit's friend Lex, who drove us around the city for an overall view the next day to get our bearings. Lex's recommendations for restaurants were good, and he was invaluable to me when my baggage did not arrive with me. A no nonsense guy! Regarding location, the B&B is tucked away behind a guarded gate from the main street. Eventually we got there, and very glad we did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bonnie and I loved the gardens and the dogs. The breakfasts were simple but good. The ladies that prepared breakfast were very sweet, but did not speak any English if that is a problem you might use an English/Spanish dictionary. The flowers, fruit trees, rock garden are all beautiful. The pool was covered and you must let the owners know you want to use it or the hot tube. The owners are not readily accessible and I think email is the best way to reach them. Cabin 2 was spacious, clean, tasteful and secluded. The water was hot, the toilet worked well, the room was clean. Gerrit is a friendly and very business like man from Holland.

The beds are extremely hard so if this is an issue for you that is something to think about. Most beds in Ecuador are extremely hard.

The place is in Tumbaco about 40 minutes outside of Quito, but the taxi ride is not bad or too expensive.

Room Tip: Cabin 2 has a queen sized bed and a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Casita 2 for a couple of nights at the beginning of our vacation in Ecuador and the night before we left. Gerrit always touched base with us every evening and sat with us while we ate breakfast to help us with our plans for the day. He has a favorite taxi driver, who along with his wife, took care of our transportation to and from the airport and around Quito. Breakfast was a generous fruit plate, eggs, juice, coffee, and bread. As we had a very early departure from Quito airport we were provided with a breakfast tray the night before so that we would have coffee, fruit, juice, and snacks when we got up in the morning. The grounds are very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed their cat, Rosa Corazon, and the two dogs, puppy Lulu and her mother.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
3.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
11.7 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#105 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Casa del Tilo
La Casa del Tilo
#25 of 254 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gardenia
Hotel Casa Gardenia
#5 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Puembo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tumbaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tumbaco

Property: B&B Tumbaco
Address: La Ceramica, Tumbaco, | Tumbaco, near New Quito Airport, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Tumbaco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Tumbaco is located in the Tumbaco valley, 15 km from the capital city Quito and 18 km from the airport. At the foot of the Ilaló magic mountain, the hacienda style main house features spacious gardens, swimming pool and jacuzzi, with private cottages painted in tropical colours. This unique site offers personalized service, peaceful country atmosphere and a truly great breakfast. B&B Tumbaco is personally managed by its owners, Gerrit and Patricia. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, German and Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Tumbaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing