We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to learn Spanish :)

Last year, I stayed at Atahualpa Spanish School for two weeks and I had an awesome time there... read more

Reviewed July 16, 2018
Ronja H
Just great

I came to Quito to practise my spanish and to learn more about the country and to do some... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2018
Sandy S
,
Conocoto
Read all 8 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Quito
from $65.00
More Info
from $60.60
More Info
from $118.00
More Info
from $227.00
More Info
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018

I went last summer to Ecuador and stayed the first 6 weeks in Quito where I did my internship. Since it was in Spanish and I had not learn Spanish before I started my stay in Ecuador with a language school. I chose the Atahualpa school which was also at the same time the place I stayed. The first two weeks I spent with Martha and Vicente in their flat so I could practice directly what I learnt on that day at school. They two are very nice and kind! For the last 4 weeks I moved to a different flat in the same house where I had to cook for myselff
The school took place every day for 5 hours which was super intensive but I learnt very much during those three weeks of the language course. I had classes with Lusmila who was very kind and patient with my Spanish ;) We also did Quito Cultural which was a week with half classes at school and half in the city where we talked about history and the most important sights of the city. It helped me a lot to understand the spoken Spanish better.

I can only recommend the stay at Atahualpa language school which is not only a language school but also a place to be!

Thank barborareznakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P, Public Relations Manager at Atahualpa Spanish School, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Hello Bonn,

Thanks a lot for your review, we are glad you liked the experience in our school and we are more than happy to know that we help you to improve your Spanish, hope to see you again in the future.


Kind Regards

Atahualpa Spanish School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

If you are looking for a culturally immersive, intimate and flexible Spanish program, Atahualpa is the place for you.

I was looking for language program that would allow me to further both my Spanish and salsa dance skills while experiencing as much of Quito and Ecuador as I could in one short week, preferably with a home-stay accommodation. I looked at a number of places in Quito and eventually emailed Martha, the school director. Her response was prompt and professional, and she immediately proposed a tailored program to suit my needs.

Martha and her partner Vicente picked me up themselves from the airport around 1am. I was housed in a simple room in their home which is attached to the language school. The next day was spent attending a local book fair, getting oriented to the area and spending time with Vicente and Martha in full Spanish immersion. They also showed me where I would be taking my Salsa dance lessons a few blocks away. The next day marked the start of an incredible week.

Spanish lessons were given in the morning by Martha herself (though she also employs other teachers). She knew I was more interested in practical language skills so we limited the theory to a few hours and then we would explore different parts of the city together. The afternoons I would make my way to my private salsa dance lessons which were organized at a local dance school. In the evenings we had family dinners with Martha and Vicente or I spent time with other students, and on one night Martha took me and the other two students out to a Tango performance.

Martha and Vicente knew I loved nature so on the last day of my stay they drove me to the Amazon region around Tena where we visited a local family friend. There I got a day long indigenous cultural tour of the area and ate traditional dishes, visited a Kichwa village and hiked to some amazing waterfalls. It was a perfect day to crown an amazing week. Definitely recommend for those looking for a different and customized Spanish language experience!

Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P, Public Relations Manager at Atahualpa Spanish School, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Hi Patrick,

We are glad you liked your experience in Atahualpa Spanish School and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Atahualpa Spanish School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P, Public Relations Manager at Atahualpa Spanish School, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P, Public Relations Manager at Atahualpa Spanish School, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews