We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The New Owners Have Made a Huge Difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Amazonas Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amazonas Inn
Ranked #141 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The New Owners Have Made a Huge Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't say enough about how great this hostal was. Our first encounter was with the new owner's son who was so friendly and cordial and showed us rooms for a future stay. When we arrived they went out of their way to get us comfortably settled. The rooms have been updated with new drapes, comforter covers, and upholstery and the showers are HOT. The rooms and hall are spotlessly clean and a nice breakfast is served every morning. It was the best value of any hotel I stayed in this trip. It is only two short blocks from some excellent restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
8
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okahandja, Namibia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

this place was had the door closed after ringing the bell for about 10 minutes in a area thats dreadfull with drugs in the front door, the staff finally came to open the door, the price was ok $18 for a single person, but the room was dirty no hot water, no wifi, no cable, and the walls were totally stain with something i dont dare thinkg.. i turned around and asked for a refound, this place is a total waste of time and money dont ever go here

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorge t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gusecua, Propietario at Hostal Amazonas Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Gorge t,

I am sorry to read this bad review. We are the new owners of the Hostal.
The former administration was neglectful in the aspect of the cleanliness and the quality of service. We have changed everything inside the place. We have hot water, WiFi, Cable in every room.
In behalf of all the staff, I apology for the bad impression you got from our hostal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The new ownership neglects responding to requests for reservation through their web site and emails. We obtained reservations through a third party in Quito but upon arriving found that they had discontinued cable TV and internet service. (We don´t go out much in the evening and want to be able to watch TV as well as read.) The cafe is closed for remodeling.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGypsyMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

At $16 a night for a room with everything one could need, including a bathtub, it was a fantastic deal. No windows in the room with tub, but that kept it quiet at night (rare for Latin American countries). Desk clerk 24 hours, so safety no problem. They have a safe behind desk for valuables, which I used. My room was small, but who wants to spend time in the room while on vacation. Breakfast not included but a cafe is on first floor of building. I paid $2 for breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful, but nobody could help me pull up my emails on the in-house computer. No matter; plenty of internet cafes in the same block for $1 an hour. I stayed 4 nights and made day trips to two parks, Pululahua, Mitad del Mundo, and Yanacocha. I have a detailed trip report (birding) on another website. If you want the link, contact me.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

The staff were fantastic and the service was good. However, our room was similar to a prison cell with a window the size of a shoe box (this is not an exaggeration). It was very noisy from the street below. The room was not clean, and had extensive visible stains on the carpet and in the bathroom. There was a very active drug scene on the street just outside the hotel, and even the staff said we should not go outside at night.

We paid only $26 for the room, but I would gladly pay twice that for a decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneMarieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I have been visiting Quito for many years and are so glad we discovered the Hostel Amazones Inn -- we've stayed there for the past five years. Sra. Jeannette and her friendly and helpful staff make all feel right at home. A great value and the location is convenient to everything you want to visit. -- Dick & Rusty George, Macon, Ga. USA

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaGypsyMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

was there last October for the 3rd time, i really like the first floor rooms, with window,
friendly staff, great location, you walk everywhere from there. safety deposit box at reception at no cost, Great Capuccino and breakfast not included but very Cheap.
will stay there again next time

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
#84 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
7.0 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#105 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#24 of 226 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amazonas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amazonas Inn

Property: Hostal Amazonas Inn
Address: J Pinto E4-324 & Av. Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing