We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food tasty and cheap”
Review of Chandani Tandoori

Chandani Tandoori
Ranked #208 of 1,396 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food tasty and cheap”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Our first choice of Indian was closed so bearing in mind previous reviews decided to chance it and ask for spicy. This seemed to work, chicken curry was tasty, nan delicious and Tarka dhal very good. The decor is a bit seedy and the location means a taxi is a must. However, good value all round.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetandpearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    8
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again !!!!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Was looking for some decent Curry; after Reading the reviews here I was fooled. Didn't expect fine dining but a nice Indian Curry. Went there, got over the rude waiter, ordered the Chicken Curry - was TASTELESS!!! overcooked and probably reheated chicken with No some spice to it at all. Asked waiter who got m some Red Chili Sauce ?!? Wanted spicy curry not Salsa de Aji. Rice was dry and strange color (probably microwaved). The only decent part was the Nan Bread which was all I ate. Paid, got out, and got some fast food off the Street around the corner.
If you want cheap tasteless dubious food - go for it; I'd recommend anything but this place. Good Luck!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not so special for the occasion!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

For our valentines day meal we were really craving a curry after months of travelling, and found that this one had great reviews so decided to give it a try. However it didn't really live up to expectations unfortunately.

Neither of us are snobs about restaurants, and although the restaurant didn't look much (more like a gaudy kebab house with an explosion of primary colours basic decor) I know from experience that this isn't a judge of a good curry house. Though I can't say it was very romantic to be honest. It was good to see that they had a varied menu though, and it was very affordable at $4-$6 per main course (with rice or naan). Also, it was BYOB which always helps travellers on a shoe string.

However, the waiter for one was rude and impatient from the off. He looked like he'd rather be anywhere else in the world, especially not serving us. It was a little off-putting to be honest though we were able to laugh about it! Secondly, the food didn't quite live up to expectations. I enjoyed mine, a Tindaloo, but mainly because it was a very hot curry. My boyfriend, however, was less than impressed with his Madras. It said it was cooked in onions with veg, but neither curries had any trace of vegetables in them, only the sauce. The samosas were ok, and the raita was water-runny and pretty tasteless. Having said this the garlic naan and pilau rice were delicous!

At $15 total for two samosas, two mains, rice each and a naan, we certainly can't complain and by South American standards it was great to be able to have a curry. However I would strongly suggest not to choose this place for anything like a special occasion - just a good weeknight takeaway is perhaps more its calling!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was really tasty and good. The nan bread also good. And the lemonade was just delicious! Somewhat noisy neighborhood a friday night, and a somewhat stresful waiter. But overall a good experience. I'd come back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Bjørnar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,236 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Tasty food ”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We are here twice in one day as we really enjoyed the first experience. The problem was that during our first visit we ordered food that was meant to have a medium level of spice but it was mild. So during our second visit my wife ordered a hotter version which she couldn't eat at all as it was too spicy.

Service was overall good, and the food that wasn't too hot tasted good. The naan bread was decent too.

Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandani Tandoori also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Chandani Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing