We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Quito
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
If you want to see Andean Condors, they will take you there!

We had a lovely day of birding from Quito to the Paramo. Diego Cruz, gave us amazing customer... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Bonnie C
,
Thousand Oaks, CA
via mobile
Antisana Birding

Diego Cruz did a great job guiding the day trip to Antisana National Park for birding. He also... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
lancer931
,
Little Rock, Arkansas
Read all 59 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Quito
from $168.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $153.85
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
57
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews andean condor la jimenita bird tour great birding east slope spectacled bears cloud forest beautiful hacienda birding trip torrent ducks textile market el chato giant hummingbird plate billed mountain a wonderful place to stay excellent accommodations personal care
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently traveled to Ecuador with my wife and 20 year old daughter. Our trip was arranged by Diego Cruz from ecuadorbirdstours.com . We flew into Quito from San Francisco and were duly picked up at the airport by Diego and then stayed for 6 days on the mainland and then 4 days in the Galapagos Islands. We stayed at the beautiful Hacienda La Jimenita which was a treat in itself with its 18 acres of woodlands and amazing birds in Quito from where we did several day trips to Antisana reserve to see condors, to the Yanacocha area to hike and see amazing hummingbirds and tanagers and to the Guango area to see birds and the torrent ducks. We also spent a day visiting historical quito which was amazing and even visited the local artisans at the Otavalo market and the Cotocachi leather town. We spent a night at the beautoful Satchatamia lodge near Mindo where we saw amazing Plate-billed Mountain Toucans, hummingbirds and even a crested quetzal.
In the Galapagos islands we stayed at the Fiesta hotel in Santa Cruz and then took boat trips to North Seymour and Bartholomew islands to see the fantastic wildlife, birds and snorkeled with the sea wolves and sharks. We also visited the Tortoises at the El Chato reserve on Santa Cruz.
We absolutely loved Ecuador and the people, culture, landscapes, birds, wildlife and even the simple but fresh and tasty meals. There was always a great choice of fresh trout, organic farm-raised chicken, grass-fed beaf or vegetables.
I would happily recommend ecuadorbirdstours and Diego Cruz who went out of his way to make sure we were always comfortable.
I am already planning my next trip where I plan to spend 3 nights in the amazon region of Ecuador, 3 nights in the Mindo area and perhaps visit Isabella and San Cristobal islands in the Galapagos. If you like adventure, seeing beautiful wildlife and birds and enjoying amazing landscapes then Ecuador is the country to visit. The prices are also very reasonable considering the luxury of the accommodations, quality of the meals and the great service. The weather is fantastic ranging from a mild 70F near the beaches to around 45F in the high Andes. Take a light jacket and a thin rain coat. Have fun visiting Ecuador.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LuckyM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ecuador Birds Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lucky, Deepa and tanvi,
Thank you very much for your review and choosing Ecuador birds tours. It was a pleasure to have you with us fro 12 days and show you out beautiful country. We look forward to having you in your next trip. Cheers.
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

On a visit to Ecuador in October, while staying at the lovely Hotel Casa de Hacienda la Jimenita outside of Quito (where we had been placed by our tour company to avoid the disturbances then taking place in Quito), my wife and I arranged a day tour with Diego Cruz of Ecuador Birds Tours. We started with a morning visit to a bird viewing area at la Jimenita and a stroll through the grounds, followed by a scenic drive through the páramo and Papallacta Pass to the Guango Cloud Forest Reserve. There we were treated to an amazing variety of hummingbirds as well as torrent ducks, a dipper, and a family of guans. Diego was an excellent guide to the amazing bird life of the area and a knowledgeable and genial companion for the day. On the drive back to la Jimenita Diego spotted 3 Andean (spectacled) bears on a hillside, feeding on vegetation, which we stopped to watch. Diego took some great photos of them. We weren't really expecting to see bears in Ecuador so that was a real plus! It was a fine day for a spontaneous adventure made more rewarding by Diego's experience and enthusiasm for Ecuadorian nature, and we heartily recommend his services.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank 791glenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Guest Relations Manager at Ecuador Birds Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Hi Catherine,
Thank you very much for your review. It was a very special day in the nature surrounding by hummingbirds and it was spectacular to observe the 3 ANDEAN SPECTACLED BEARS. Luckily over the years I have found this strategic spot to observe them feeding on the Achupalla plants...but 3 of them, was incredible. I had a great time guiding you and most important that you enjoyed your full day birding tour near quito.

I wish you a happy new year and i hope you visit us again in the near future.
Regards,
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

We booked a week's worth of birding through Ecuador Birds Tours, and had an incredible time. Diego, Daniel, and Ivan were excellent guides (and wonderful people to spend time with), and we saw over a hundred birds, including the Andean Condor, the Long-Wattled Umbrella Bird, Plate-Billed Mountain Toucan, Sword-Billed Hummingbirds, and many more marvels.

Just as impressive, though, were the logistics. Everything ran smoothly, and even the problems (heavy rains caused a landslide one morning, but Ivan was incredible and made sure we didn't miss anything on our itinerary) vanished quickly. We also noticed throughout our tour that other guides often asked Ivan for his input; he's clearly valued by that community. Also, when we wanted to add a last-minute evening wildlife tour at one of the lodges where we were staying, he offered to join us to translate so that we didn't miss anything on the tour. He did this even though he'd already spent 14 hours with us, and we had to leave at 4:15 the next morning. So in short, Ivan was amazing! (All our guides were good; we just spent more time with Ivan so have more to report about him.) The Hacienda is a wonderful place to stay, with a lovely staff and friendly dogs.

And if you need one more piece of evidence about how great folks on this trip were: Diego took us to a shopping center in Quito ten days before Christmas so that I could purchase a charger for my camera battery. If that isn't above and beyond, I don't know what is.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank RTR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Guest Relations Manager at Ecuador Birds Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Hi Colin,
Thank you very much for your outstanding review. I am very glad you enjoyed our 8 days 7 nights birding tour in the east & west slope cloud forest and Andes Slope, it was a pleasure to prepare your personalized itinerary. Ivan is one of our top birding guides and all our staff is also satisfied that you have enjoyed your trip.

It was great to guide you on the last day to Guango and Papallacta Pass Reserve, we saw a lot of hummingbirds and the torrent ducks. Thanks for sharing your experience and happy new year.

We always take special good care of all our guests.

Regards,
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Diego organized a 6-day birding tour for me. Communication was great from the start. Diego picked me up at the airport and drove me to the beautiful Hacienda Jimenita. The rest of the trip was equally well organized, with excellent accommodations and great birding locations. I had been several times to Costa Rica and loved it but found Ecuador superior in accommodations, variety of landscapes, food, conveniences, and birds. I highly recommend Diego and Ecuador Bird Tours!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank weltwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ecuador Birds Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Hi Chris,

Thanks for you review and comments. It was a pleasure to meet you as well and guide you to the cloud forest. I had a lot of fun showing you the different bird species specially the torrent ducks and the spectacled bear! It was unique and such a beautiful moment. Thanks for sharing your professional photos and all the stories as well.
It will be a pleasure to have you with us again and who knows you could come as well with Mark Smith! I look forward to see you again. Thanks for choosing ecuador birds tours.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

Working thru internet to set up an all day birding tour was so pleasant that we booked another day to Ibarra, Otavalo, and points in between. The scenery was beautiful and we particularly enjoyed our lunch of fish baked in wood fired oven. Also had a great stop to buy roses and enjoy floral displays in small town along the way. Otavallo Saturday Market was exhilarating and Corina and Carlos helped us navigate and learn the art of bargaining, Corrina was our primary guide for the Otavalo tour, while her husband Carlos was our driver. What a great team; they were warm and professional, and went the extra mile to ensure that we had a really great day. The second day was a birding toue with Diego, owner od Ecuador Bird Tours. He took us along a scenic route to the upper cloud forest and then to lower elevations. Loved the scenery, the easy walks, and fhe variety of birds. Diego is an excellent guide, and the Tour was exactly what we hoped for. And BTW did we mention that we saw A LOT OF BIRDS?!!! These included Andean Pygmy Owl, Andean Juan (sp?), and many others to add to our lists. the humming bird conservation area was a true delight.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Alisalani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ecuador Birds Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Dear Nick Shema,
Thank you very much for your review and comments. On behalf of our team it was a pleasure to have you with us in our top birding tours in ecuador. Thanks for choosing ecuador birds tours, i really enjoyed sharing all our stories and specially hearing all your stories as well from Hawaii. I hope the rest of your tour in Ecuador was great and you enjoyed to the fullest. Thanks for your visit.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews