We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent new hotel”
Review of Lugano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lugano Hotel
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent new hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The hotel is located 2 blocks away from Las Carolinas's Park, it seems a recent hotel because all furniture looked like new. We were four friend, We slept in two rooms with two comfortables twin beds, private bath, kitchinette and one living room. The hotel has a shuttle from/to the airport, We submited the flight number and they picked up at the airport without problems. POSITIVE: well located, buffet breakfast include, spacious rooms, nice staff, weekend special rates, shuttle NEGATIVE: in spite of its location, it is very difficult to get the hotel on foot or by public transportation, the nearest tranvia station is four o five blocks away from the hotel, the best is taking a taxi specially if they are cheap in Quito. Another negative thing is the noise from airplanes when they land, but it is common in Quito because the airport is in the middle of the city.
In general I liked this hotel and I recommend it

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
46
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is my 2nd time in quito, I stayed in the old district the first time and decided to stay in a different location as Quito is so big with so much to see.
I have had a 5 night stay at this hotel, which is situated close to Parco Carolinas.
The rooms are very well appointed/modern and clean you have everything you need in the small kitchen, lounge. The bedroom is very comfortable with cable TV and the bathroom has excellent hot/strong running water in the shower, which is good for ecuador, the photographs on the website are exactly as they are
The staff speak English and are friendly and very helpful,
The buffet breakfast is everything you need, cereal, yoghurts, fruits, scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses and pastries. The coffee and fresh juice are excellent.
You have free use of the internet, wireless or there 2 spare computers.
The down side is the aeroplane noice, the hotel is on the airport approach flight path, the planes have to approach quite low due to the make up of Quito. Any accomodation close to the Parco carolinas will suffer this noise. The planes start up at about 0600 and continue until 2300... you do get used to it. I didn´t get a disturbed nights sleep because of it. Once the airport has relocated.... nobody knows when then it wont be a problem.
Location is close to modern shopping malls but best to get a taxi to the old town for a few dollars. Remember Quito is huge, don´t believe the maps.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash0389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The nicely appointed suite was comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. There is a driver at the hotel and for a very small fee, took me to Old Towne and other sites. There were free hotel transfers too and from the airport. Sophisticated hotel in a safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

we stayed here two nights. the room was great, the staff friendly and they even arranged a tour and driver for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed at Lugano Suites for three days in mid-December and it was one of the nicest hotels I have encountered so far in South America. The suites are complete with kitchen, living room, bedroom, walk in closet and bathroom with a full bathtub. Everything was clean and looked almost brand new. It is near a huge city park and has good security. I got a great rate of about $75 per night too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcos_larga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We were travelling with friends during this, our second visit to Quito. Last time we stayed at the JW Marriott - a great hotel. But this time we needed a reasonably priced 2 bedroom apartment and we found it. The Lugano is staffed by very professional people. The reception staff spoke English too which made it easy. We also enjoyed the taxi service of Franklin. He provides a private taxi service to the hotel in a modern, medium sized car for $10 per hour. He was very helpful. For just $8 he also provided us with a very early airport transfer.

The rooms are clean and very modern. We had a double bed in each room and the layout of the room was excellent. Each bedroom, complete with ensuite and TV were separated by a central lounge, dining and kitchenette area. The maid washed any dishes as the room was cleaned each day. What service! Great! We will be using this hotel again when we return!

As with most hotel services, the laundry service was a bit expensive. So if you can remember to ask a taxi (or walk) to go to the corner of Japon Y Pasaje Monaco streets, walk north down Japon a little and look for Sol Blanco laundry service. Great same day service at very resonable rates!

Not many taxi drivers will know how to get to the hotel. First you need to get them to take you to the botanical gardens in La Carolina park. This is on a main street. Just off this street you will find Suiza street. Check out and print a map off Google (or similar) first.

A huge shopping centre is just a 10 minute walk across the park. Supermaxi and a huge eatery.

I can't say enough of how helpful the staff at Lugano are. And as mentioned - the highlight for me was how clean the place is.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodzoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Why go to a regular hotel room when you can get a new, trendy small apartment for the same price with the same services? This place is great. It has all of the hotel services because it’s actually a hotel – maid service, breakfast, business center, etc. – but instead of a room you get a small apartment with separate bedroom, walk-in closet, kitchen, table, sofa. I travel to Quito often and will never stay anywhere else.

The staff is outstanding, and they don’t nickel and dime you. Breakfast, airport transfer, wi-fi and business center internet is all included in the room charge.

On top of all of that, it’s located in the best neighborhood in Quito – Republica del Salvador.

PS Yes, the bathroom was a little tight as previous posters state, but what’s the big deal? It’s the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJH3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#49 of 111 in Quito
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 111 in Quito
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
1.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Hotel

Property: Lugano Hotel
Address: Suiza N33 132 y Checoeslovaquia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lugano Suites Hotel has 23 suites, each one equipped with living and dining rooms, kitchenette, and one or two bedrooms. Each suite has all necessary amenities for a short or long stay that will contribute to make you feel right at home. All areas are decorated with a minimalist style, generating a harmonious atmosphere which invites you to relax. Likewise, the hotel has a cafeteria–conference room, a business center and BBQ Terrace. All these social areas and 23 suites are connected to high speed wireless Internet. This service is free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Lugano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing