We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lugano Hotel
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Pierce
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very roomy and clean accommodations, super helpful staff from the front desk to the bellhop, would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if I were to visit Quito. Great location right near Carolina as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Om P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    42
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
45
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had stayed in the Lugano Suites in Bogota for several months and assumed that this was part of a chain. It isn't, and while it doesn't approach the quality of the Bogota hotel, for the price, the accommodations were fine, separate living/dining room with kitchenette, and bedroom. The bathroom is indeed small, and I would have liked to have a TV in the living room, but the service was exceptional and the location excellent. I will definitely return on my next trip to Quito.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stellar service for the price. Room clean, breakfast more than adequate. Franklin (one of our drivers) was wonderful even if we didn't speak Spanish and he didn't speak English! Thank you Franklin. Food store only a walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzlia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My cousin and I travelled to Quito a day before our cruise package to Galapagos. The hotel provided in the cruise package was very expensive, so we decided to look for a more afordable one. Based on Tripadvisor recommendations, we found this hotel. Lugano suites exceeded our experience - free transfer from the airport was provided, with a driver waiting for us carrying a sign with my name, no small feat for 2 "elderly" ladies of sixty travelling alone... After spending more than 30 hours on planes and airports, from Israel via NY and Miami to Quito, it was such a relief to find late at night someone waiting for us, and receiving a very nice suite with 2 bedrooms+2 baths & a living room in the middle. Each of us was happy to spend the night in privacy.... The suite was spacious, very clean, the service was impecable, breakfast was included and the internet was free - all this, not to mention the free pick up from the airport, for 160$ !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danielakorem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for our initial 3 nights in Quito. The suite was well-furbished and very good for our needs, giving us a central "living area" and two medium size bedrooms with queen baths and ensuite (small) bathrooms with showers. However, what really shone about the Lugano was the customer service. It was like having a personal concierge. They were very helpful with issues ranging from restaurant recommendations and reservations, to guidance to the old town, taxis and car rental services. Have stayed at many 4 and 5 star chain hotels in Africa, Asia, North America and Latin America, and they would be hard-pressed to come up with the level of service at the Lugano. Everyone ranging from the night guard to the housekeepers and reception was extraordinarily kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here on our final night in Ecuador after arriving from the Galapagos Islands. We didn't want to stay at the same hotel we stayed at in the old historical district at the beginning of the trip. This hotel was perfect! Contemporary lobby with a nice bi-lingual staff. There is a night security person who is cordial and friendly! They offered a free pickup from the airport to the hotel when we arrived in Quito and then the next morning a trip back to the airport. They arranged for a cab to take us to one of the nicest restaurants in Quito. The room was actually a suite with a large king size bed along with a decent bathroom and a sofa bed in the living room area. There was a coffee maker and fridge in the small kitchen... almost like an apartment! Lots of area to open our luggage and re-pack our clothes before our long trip back to the U.S. Absolutely spotless suite. Since we had an early flight, we had to hurry our breakfast buffet which was included with the cost. It was ample and kept us satisfied. All in all, good suite-hotel in a decent location within walking distance to some lovely stores. Felt safe. This is an excellent value for the money and will definitely come back here.. and only here... for my next trip to Ecuador. We won't do the historical district any more.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor even though we didn't hear any street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Smet, South Dakota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here twice to attend a wedding and to and from the Galapagos.. It was as I expected - modern, comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. At least 2 good restaurants were in the vicinity. Breakfast was also very good. Front desk people were really nice and helpful too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeSmetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#27 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#33 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
0.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#50 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Hotel

Property: Lugano Hotel
Address: Suiza N33 132 y Checoeslovaquia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lugano Suites Hotel has 23 suites, each one equipped with living and dining rooms, kitchenette, and one or two bedrooms. Each suite has all necessary amenities for a short or long stay that will contribute to make you feel right at home. All areas are decorated with a minimalist style, generating a harmonious atmosphere which invites you to relax. Likewise, the hotel has a cafeteria–conference room, a business center and BBQ Terrace. All these social areas and 23 suites are connected to high speed wireless Internet. This service is free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lugano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing