We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Suite Stay in Quito”
Review of Lugano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lugano Hotel
Ranked #59 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here on our final night in Ecuador after arriving from the Galapagos Islands. We didn't want to stay at the same hotel we stayed at in the old historical district at the beginning of the trip. This hotel was perfect! Contemporary lobby with a nice bi-lingual staff. There is a night security person who is cordial and friendly! They offered a free pickup from the airport to the hotel when we arrived in Quito and then the next morning a trip back to the airport. They arranged for a cab to take us to one of the nicest restaurants in Quito. The room was actually a suite with a large king size bed along with a decent bathroom and a sofa bed in the living room area. There was a coffee maker and fridge in the small kitchen... almost like an apartment! Lots of area to open our luggage and re-pack our clothes before our long trip back to the U.S. Absolutely spotless suite. Since we had an early flight, we had to hurry our breakfast buffet which was included with the cost. It was ample and kept us satisfied. All in all, good suite-hotel in a decent location within walking distance to some lovely stores. Felt safe. This is an excellent value for the money and will definitely come back here.. and only here... for my next trip to Ecuador. We won't do the historical district any more.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor even though we didn't hear any street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here twice to attend a wedding and to and from the Galapagos.. It was as I expected - modern, comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. At least 2 good restaurants were in the vicinity. Breakfast was also very good. Front desk people were really nice and helpful too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeSmetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

As a couple we stayed at Lugano Suites during April 2012. It was the most expensive hotel chosen in our 5 weeks through South America and we were influenced by their advertising which states "free transfers from and to the airport - breakfast included".
We were en-route to the Galapagos Islands and this reservation seemed ideal as a preliminary to that travel adventure and influenced further by the Trip Advisor accolades it enjoyed. We duly advised the hotel of our flight number and arrival time. The flight was normal but there was no one there to meet us. We paid the US$10 taxi fare and on arrival at the hotel purposefully said nothing. We enquired after the transit back to the airport the following morning. No, we were leaving too early (0600) - free transits were only provided after 0800. We enquired after the availability of breakfast for early travellers. No......breakfast was only available from 0730, but a packaged breakfast would be available. We were shown to our upper floor room which was impressive with a kitchenette, a small sitting room and the bedroom and bathroom off to the right side. We judged close to 4 star by Western standards, but to our dismay the whole hotel was directly in the flight path of landing aircraft at Quito's main airport. The rest of the evening and well into the night we were confronted by this unwelcome abuse to the senses.
The breakfast arrived in a brown paper bag. A packet of CocoPops equivalent with a tiny Orange Juice and an even tinier apple. Insulting is the description which came to mind. We returned it untouched and complained also about the unmet transit expectations. They offered a refund as compensation but no explanation. I firmly believe that here is an example of a hotel which exists for the managerial convenience of the owners and the travelling public are a necessary but distractive nuisance.

Room Tip: Higher floors are badly affected by aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sadika47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here primarily as a quick overnight before leaving Quito early the next morning. We wanted a place relatively close to the airport, inexpensive but still decent. What a pleasant surprise! The Lugano Suites was complete with a living room, dining room, kitchen as well as bed and bath. I've lived in New York and it would be considered a nice apartment there! Security was excellent; there was a guard at the door who unlocked it for us and the night manager took care of all of our needs. There are no extensive "hotel services" but for a place to stay, particularly long term, I think it can't be beat for value for the money. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccermomFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

What a great surprise it was for me. It was my first time staying in this hotel, and the accommodations and service were excellent. The rooms are all suites for 3 or 4 people. Very good size room with a queen size bed. In a different area, a comfortable kitchenette, a dining table, and a small living area with a sofa bed for 1 or 2 people. Super clean suites! Location is also very good, one block away from Parque La Carolina and right on a hotel and business area with very good food options. Highly recommended for small families. As Chicago would sing "baby what a big surprise"!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Located in the business district a little further out than we had hoped, but lovely big spacious/clean rooms, free wifi, kitchen and lounge area. Good overall value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NO1ADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for only night but I was really impressed with what I saw for the short time I was there. The check in process was easy and the staff very friendly. I had booked a one bedroom but was given a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was very spacious. It had full kitchen and sitting area like a living room with a pull out sofa bed. This suite was very clean and beds comfy. The shower was fantastic! The best water pressure in all the places I stayed while in Ecuador! I would stay here again if I'm ever in Quito. The location is very close to La Carolina park. The main street next to the park is where you can catch the Hop On Hop Off Quito Tour Bus. Stop #2 is right at the end of the hotel's street. Many restaurants close by. Free wifi worked well. The hotel included breakfast in the rate, but I had to leave early for a flight, so I never had the breakfast, so I can not comment on the food. Check out was easy and they even called a cab for me to take me to the airport at 4 a.m. The cost for the taxi was only $5. Recommend completely!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 116 in Quito
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#8 of 116 in Quito
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 116 in Quito
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#52 of 116 in Quito
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 116 in Quito
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Hotel

Address: Suiza N33 132 y Checoeslovaquia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $74 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lugano Suites Hotel has 23 suites, each one equipped with living and dining rooms, kitchenette, and one or two bedrooms. Each suite has all necessary amenities for a short or long stay that will contribute to make you feel right at home. All areas are decorated with a minimalist style, generating a harmonious atmosphere which invites you to relax. Likewise, the hotel has a cafeteria–conference room, a business center and BBQ Terrace. All these social areas and 23 suites are connected to high speed wireless Internet. This service is free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing