We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Women at the front desk is an arrogant B****.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stubel Suites and Cafe
Ranked #23 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Do you ever travel somewhere and have one person ruin your experience? That is exactly what happened to my small family at Stubel Suites. Every day of our 5 night stay, after passing by the front desk to walk around the city, we were completely ignored by the women at the front desk. She would only speak to us if we had questions, and then we were treated like we were invading her hive, and she was the queen bee. She had a complete arrogant and flippant attitude about anything we tried to ask her for and we were hoping for the days when she was not working, so we did not have to deal with the uncomfortableness that she always gave us. In the end, after asking for a one hour delayed checkout (something that I have seen graciously given by hotels in almost 18 other countries and countless other hotels. She instead told us that we HAD to leave at 12:00, not even giving us an option to store our bags for a couple hours so we could walk around the city with our small child before heading to the airport. For anyone who is looking for a nice stay, sure, choose Stubel Suites. If you would like a good experience while spending YOUR money, and be treated as a GUEST, please choose any of the other countless good hotels in Quito. Thank you front desk Queen B, I only hope that the owner of the hotel realizes what you are doing to his/her business and that you are the sole reason for giving Stubel Suites a bad reputation.

Room Tip: No rooms have air conditioners, so you are left with leaving a window open all night. However the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whyaskwhytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 208 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

At first when we got to the hotel we were super impressed, really nice property for the money, but looks can be deceiving.
The rooms were nice and clean, staff was nice and restaurant food was good.
But none of that matters though when you are being charged for one nights stay TWICE so in reality this place is no bargain and good luck getting back your money.
In short we were suppose to receive a discount, we were told by the receptionist to cancel current res and rebook so we could get a lower one night rate so we did. When we returned home our credit card was charged twice, with the more expensive rate AND the discounted rate. I tried to rectify the situation with the manager several times but we could not get them to remove the extra charge for nothing.....This place is not worth the aggravation it has caused.....much nicer hotels in Quito for the same money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank lamb919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff were friendly, good location, nice and quiet and a cheap taxi ride from downtown. One of the Desk attendees, Daniel, cannot be trusted to organize anything, including tours, taxis or even a wake up call, but the others were able to cover for him. Food is great there and the views impressive.....well worth staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlessfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being our third stay in a city of many hotel choices should be sufficient to tell you we thoroughly enjoy the Stubel. From booking reservations over the internet from the USA, to arranging drivers and tours, to their restaurant, and especially staying in a suite overlooking the exceptional view, we could not be happier! There are many conveniently located restaurants and shops nearby. Certainly a very safe neighborhood to walk about. Just can't say enough about the courteous, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a one night business visit but we will be staying here again as the hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect. We had a late lunch snack, dinner and a great dinner in the cafe as we were too tired to go out and loved it. There are several highly recommended restaurants nearby for those who are staying for a few nights.

The price, which included breakfast, seemed very reasonable too.

We are looking forward to coming back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Friendly people,good service, good food, elegant and very confortable rooms, impressive view from the rooms Close to business centers. You feel at home. I did not use the pool, neither the spa so I rated " average".
Now that there is a new airport, 55 minutes northeast of Quito, this nice hotel is about the first one you find coming into the city. This saves time coming and going away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joselyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 weeks in February and were very happy with all services offered. The suite is well equipped and the stackable washer and dryer a definite bonus! I would recommend paying the little extra for a room with balcony -views are amazing.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and looks just like it does on the web site photos.

Room Tip: we stayed in 303 and would request same room if we returned -quiet with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.8 mi away
Torres de Suites
Torres de Suites
#60 of 113 in Quito
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 113 in Quito
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 113 in Quito
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#28 of 113 in Quito
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stubel Suites and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stubel Suites and Cafe

Address: Pasaje Stubel Nro. 1 y Leon Larrea, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $75 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stubel Suites and Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stubel Suites and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubel Suites And Cafe Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing