We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Quito Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stubel Suites and Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stubel Suites and Cafe
Ranked #21 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Quito Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent staff, friendly, helpful and responsive to yoour needs. Dining room view is spectactular, as are also some of the rooms. Abundant hot water. Security is good. Stayed 3 days in room 303, a large suite which was perfect for us. Although we didn't use the kitchen, it was fully equipped. Suggest that you take address of hotel when go out as some taxi drivers don't know where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your stay in the Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

It is our goal to improve our service and facilities to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Best Regards,

Stubel Suites & Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    77
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
65
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed three nights. Hotel is high on a hill overlooking Quito. Beautiful sight from the balcony. Good breakfast and many of the staff speak English. Walking distance to cafes and restaurants/. Downside is a taxi is necessary to get to old town and distance from the new airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in the Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe Quito - Ecuador.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to have the opportunity again in the future to do so.

Best Regards,

Stubel Suites & Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved this place - very central, yet on a quieter dead-end street, safe, amazing views (303 is best room, then 302, 701 is awesome too). Staff is wonderful. Housekeeping apparently struggles a bit to keep up, but it is not enough to put me off. Will definitely stay here again. Best coffee and great breakfasts (and they can do bacon!).

Room Tip: 303 has a wonderful terrace, 302 too, but it is adjacent to a small and sometimes noisy park. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SojourningMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your experience in the Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the near future.
Your comments are of great importance for the improvement of our facilities and operations.

Best Regards,

Stubel Suites & Cafe
Quito - Ecuador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a frustrating place to stay.

We stayed 1 night. After completing our stay at the Napo Wildlife Center Eco Lodge & before our cruise of the Galapagos Islands.

The location was quiet, the views spectacular, the property modern yet comfortable, & the restaurant was good.

However, the staff treated us poorly.

Strike 1...When we arrived @ 12:30 they told us check-in was 3pm. Fine, they stored our bags & we returned @ 3pm. Then they told us our room would not be available until 7pm. They said they had no other rooms.

Strike 2...While waiting in the lobby we saw new guests check-in & be given rooms. When I asked why they were given rooms even though they arrived later than us, the staff told me they were part of a business group which had booked rooms. Their rooms were especially reserved for them. The message was obvious, you vacation travelers are 2nd class clients.

Strike 3...At 7pm when we finally were allowed to go to our room it had an offensively strong odor of cleaning agents. Again we protested to the staff but they stated they could do nothing to fix it. We noticed a fan in the hallway. We used the fan & opened the windows. Around 10pm the obnoxious odor, while still noticeable, became bearable.

It has been a long time since we received such poor service at a hotel. I guess they think it is acceptable to provide poor service to vacation travelers. Obviously they really only value business travelers they hope to get on a continuing basis.

Before our Napo trip we had rented a vacation rental for 10 days directly from the owner. This person while an amateur in the hospitality business provided us far better service than the "professionals" in this hotel.

We would never stay here again...nor would we recommend this place to any recreational travelers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team of Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe we appologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in. We honestly strive to provide our guest a quality service. Regretably the day you arrived in the hotel your room was not ready due to the delay of check out of the previous guest. We appologize for this issue, however the guest who check out from room 704 had a serious personal issue and was unable to arrive to the hotel on time.
We hope the that you enjoyed the complimentary meal we offered you and we understand your discomfort. We do hope you return to our hotel in the future and we thank you for your comments since they enable us to improve our service.

Best Regards,

Stubel Suites & Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Perched atop a "Via Sinuosa" wending its way through the oldest district of Quito, the glass walls of Stubel's cafe are caressed by fascinating drifts of cloud that, over the course of an excellent breakfast of real food, reveal more and more of Quito's unique charms as the sun burns off the cloud. Well chosen piano music in the background adds to the sense of peace conferred by the Andes. You marvel over the audacity of the city's builders as you tuck into another irresistible round of good health--this may turn out to be your most philosophical breakfast ever. Check out the real (liquid) yogurt, perfect eggs and bacon, frutas deliciosas and the breakfast torte--all your favorites are there in good-for-you guise. You will be tempted to linger, indulging your taste buds while watching how another day on Earth naturally unfolds. Everything about your room is good--price, beds, amenities, location, service, convenience--but it's the view from the cafe that will ensure your return. That hour of exalted human happiness at breakfast will start your day off right as you accustom yourself--carefully--to the Andean altitudes.

Room Tip: If you prefer bathtubs, ask if there is one. Like most rooms I've used in Latin America, ours ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is one of these places you will like to come again. For less than $100 I had a clean, big room, with a beautiful view of Guapulo in Quito. It is very conveniently located nearby the financial district and it includes a healthy breakfast the day after.

It's also 10 minutes away from the airport. Staff is very friendly. Totally recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Guapulo - 6th - 7th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I felt very safe in this clean hotel. The cafe was pretty good... staff friendly and helpful - and their English was better than my Spanish. I appreciated the fact that they had drivers to get me where I wanted to go at a fair price.

Decent value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#31 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stubel Suites and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stubel Suites and Cafe

Property: Stubel Suites and Cafe
Address: Pasaje Stubel Nro. 1 y Leon Larrea, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stubel Suites and Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stubel Suites and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubel Suites And Cafe Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing