We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View, Nice People, Noisy Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stubel Suites and Cafe
Ranked #22 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is located in the center of Quito on the eastern edge, overlooking a large valley. Beautiful sun rise! We had a suite, which was nice, with a large patio. The staff were very nice, and service was good. The bed was comfy, it had a nice think down style comforter, and down pillows. As noted by others, the kitchen was sparsly provisioned for any cooking. If you dont' mind noise, this is a great hotel for you... however some things to be aware of: the hotel is in the flight path for the airport (this did not bother us but should be noted), there is a park and playground right next door that was frequented by families - and about 1:30 am a loud drunk, there was a nite club across the intersection which played very loud music (this was a saturday night) and had many patrons whooping it up in the street until 3am. Worst of all, the hotel had no hot water. They had people working on it, but it was not functional in the room. They offered for quests to use the showers in the gym, as there was hot water there. Weird note... there was no tv in the living room, but there was one in the bedroom. This makes it difficult to rise early, have a cup of coffee and watch the news, while your spouse sleeps in. Note: our SUITE was right beneath the restaurant and we could hear tables and chairs scraping the floor, and high heels clicking until 11pm when they closed. It was loud.
All in all, it was a nice hotel in a decent location, and the staff were nice - but we will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 401 - right beneath the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bauerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in the Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe.
On the 19th of February of 2013 the location of the airport will be changed and the discomfort of the planes will not be an issue for our Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Kind Regards,

Customer Service
Hotel Stubel Suites & Cafe
reservas@stubel-suites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved the views and location of this hotel. We walked around the neighbourhood and found all sorts of treasures in terms of restaurants and coffee shops. The staff was outstanding and helped with everything we asked for. It was great to have a suite to give us that extra room to allow someone to have a siesta while the other had a place to read or get on the computer. There was only one negative that we found and that was the hardness of the mattress, which can be entirely personal taste. I guess we are very spoiled with the pillow top type that gives support and comfort at the same time. All in all this was a good experience and again, views that were incredible.

Room Tip: Do not take the suite on the bottom floor, there was a mechanical room next to it which was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great hotel, very comfortable and very safe, in a great part of Quito. Quito is a fun and exciting city and you MUST visit the old town and on the weekends, you need to go to LaRonda. Quito is a center point to visit other cities in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's a little hotel with great staff (typical of small hotels) but services that are at the top of the best big brand-name hotels.
The restaurant facilities are excellent, with a stunning view to the valley.
Room was very good, everything new and extremely clean.
It was my third stay in Quito but first time in this hotel. Before I was in much more expensive hotels, but definitely will return to Stubel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Cruz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A little hotel with a great view from Guapulo and the valley. Very close to great restaurants.
Comfortable room (ask for a room from floor 2 and above, 1st floor is noisy)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I spent one night in Stubel Suites in April. The room was small but nice and the view from the hotel was stunning. The hotel discription on line said there was a jacuzzi which I was looking forward to however there was no jacuzzi. Also when I checked my credit card bill after staying in stubel suites I had been charged for two nights instead of one. The hotel really was not worth the double charge and I have yet to be refunded.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had lunch were one afternoon upon the suggestion of some business associates in Ecuador. Cafe gives me the idea of a small local, but this place is very big, made even bigger by the stunning view of the valleys below. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this place for a nice lunch. I didn't try dinner and I didn't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
8.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stubel Suites and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stubel Suites and Cafe

Address: Pasaje Stubel Nro. 1 y Leon Larrea, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stubel Suites and Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stubel Suites and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubel Suites And Cafe Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing