We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”

El Centro del Mundo Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Centro del Mundo Hostel
Ranked #157 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hostel was one of the worst places I have ever stayed at! It was cold, loud, the beds were so uncomfortable, i didn't feel safe, the breakfast was average, the bathrooms were outside and the place was like a rabbit warren. The staff were unhelpful, inattentive and would rather have conversations with friends rather than check you in while you are staying there with your heavy bags!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I ve been there for 2 nights and when I entered the room I was surprised because they have all this warnings, they even have a warning for to not put your belongings in the bed table, just because...

Then the bathroom was uncleaned for 2 days in a row.. friday and saturday so the basket were you put the toilet papers, because you cannot flush them, was full and even already some on the floor.. you can picture it!

but the worst thing was when I ask them to put some clothes in the laundry only after 5 days they remembered to put them in the laundry.. so the clothes were for 5 days on the floor.... when I put some pressure they sent the clothes and in the some day the the clothes come back but when i checked for it was missing a really good shirt a 70€ one!!! I asked for resposabilities and long story short they did not care and and even said that they did not care if I put a bad reference of them online!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PedroBMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 night here over a long weekend. Found it to be a ideal spot for a fun Quito weekend. Its within walking distance of numerous New Town nighttime hotspots. We had a ton of fun and met some very entertaining people...

However had we not spent all day exploring the city and all night drinking, dancing and socializing- we likely wouldn't have enjoyed it as much. The beds in the dorms are rock hard, creaky, with nearly worthless pillows. The showers are spotty.. More excuse to enjoy the free rum & coke nights, which def add to the fun.

The basic free breakfast- toast & tea or coffee was appreciated.

All and all I left with a positive impression of the place. Just don't go there expecting to be very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Noisy, dirty, shabby, crappy and no wifi, but a nice atmosphere and very cheap. If you don't have much money, this is a place to go. We moved after one night, to New Bask next door. Cheap as well, and a bit better.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed in the apartment for three nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We especially liked that the common area of the hostel was some kind of travel guide, with lots of advice what to do, what not to do, photos and explanations of tour options for the whole of Ecuador on all the walls.
We arrived on a Saturday night and had a bit of a problem to sleep as the neighbouring bars were quite noisy. During the other nights it was a lot more quiet.
The location was very good with lots of bars and restaurants around.
The apartment had its own kitchen which we did not use. The shower had the typical Brazilian suicide shower head that heats the water while it runs through. So the options were very little warm water or a bit more less warm water.
Altogether, we enjoyed our stay there, even if things were a little basic. Considering the price, I would say we got what we payed for and it was quite o.k.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unfugmail-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights, the location is Mariscal, the gringo area, bars, clubs, bookshops, bus terminal 8 blocks away,
Staff was cool, the lady that make the breakfast is lovely.
I didn't really stay for the RUM and COke evening, but it suposse to be fun.
I stayed in the twin room, which needs a complete renovation URGENTLY!
Rubbish showers and the place needs a massive clean!

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BACKPACKERYOHOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed a few nights in a private double room out the back of the hostel.
The room was dark, a little damp, cold and in need of renovation. It also backed on to a very noisey, very popular 24hr bar so getting some peaceful sleep was difficult.
ECDM provide litterally a bucket of free Rum & Coke two evenings a week, When the bucket runs dry you contribute USD1 each to have it refilled.... it's a fun way to meet the other guests and the hangovers are terrible.
The free breakfast consisted of: 2 slices white toast, butter, jam, tea or coffee. It could be more generous, but you can buy bigger breakfasts and other meals 24hrs.
The showers are absolutely terrible, it's impossible to get more than a tiny trickle of hot water.
The staff are friendly and some speak a few words of English.
The location in the new town in the area aka Gringolandia is excellent for the bars, clubs, restaurants and tour operators.
Overall, ECDM is the place to go if you like to party, it's not the place for a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecreaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
#88 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 254 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
12.2 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
12.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Centro del Mundo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Centro del Mundo Hostel

Property: El Centro del Mundo Hostel
Address: Lizardo Garcia E 7-26 | Between Diego Almagro y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing