We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice and clean Hotel, walking distance from several nice dinings restaurants as well as fast food.
If you decide to get a cab to the handicraft market and/or "Plaza Fotch" is also really close, therefore cheap to grab a cab.
Breakfast is just enough... Don't expect variety but your basics will be there every morning.
Great view from the gym. I had a good experience wi the satff, really nice and kind at all time. A good experience at Holiday Inn Express Quito!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsapitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel. It is very nice to know that you spend your nights with us in Quito.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience

We hope in a near futuro you visit us again.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    154
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
64
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very nice hotel near la Plaza Foch, many restaurants around, walking distance from La Mariscal (8 min max), quiet rooms (when the staff does not talk loudly in the corridors), breakfast included (more below), very helpful staff. Free wifi.

A nice modern, safe, clean, bland corporate hotel in town

Pros:
Clean
Corporate
Quiet (on the 8th floor)
Free wifi (good enough, but not spectacular)
Nice views over town from the upper floors
taxis outside
walk distance from the heart of town
next door to some of the nicest ecuadorian restaurants in town

Cons:
Why do the staff need to talk loudly on their walky talkies at 7 am in the corridors? can t the management inform them that hotels are for sleeping? and train them not to shout in the corridors?
Food always seems to run out at breakfast...eggs one day, patisseries the next, fruits the one after...really bad kitchen management

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you took to let us know your experience in our Hotel.
We are going to take your suggestions. Every day we have a hughe challenge in service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome again in the Hotel.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Granted this is not a property that one would consider to be typical of the Ecuadorian "experience," but for comfort and safety it suited our needs perfectly.

We stayed here both prior to and following our Galapagos cruise. They held our "heavy" luggage in a secure room during our cruise and they also held our luggage on our final day while we were out on a day-trip prior to heading to the airport for a 0005hrs international flight.

The only snag we ran into was, upon our return from the Galapagos, they did not have the reserved smoking room available. They accommodated us by placing us in a room with a balcony so we could support our nasty habit with little inconvenience.

The first two nights we were on the second floor with a shower-only bathroom. The shower floor is *very* slippery when wet...be warned. The final two nights we were on the 10th floor with a shower/tub combo. The tub is about 8" higher than the bathroom floor so the step out can be treacherous if you're not paying attention. Both rooms (2nd floor on back side and 10th floor on front overlooking Orellana) were very quiet.

The front desk arranged our taxis to the airport and we were able to place those charges on our room account, which we found to be convenient. We also arranged shuttle thru HIE via email w/HATS for our original arrival from the airport, again the charge was placed on our room bill (it is less expensive to taxi than to shuttle BTW).

The breakfast was ample although nothing of spectacular...eggs, fruit, assorted pastries and breads, pancakes (couldn't find syrup), juices, teas, coffee and hot chocolate.

There is a security guard out front at all times, as are in front of a lot of businesses in this district. We felt very comfortable walking whether it be a couple of blocks or a half mile or so.

There is a Burger King across one street and a McDonald's across another street. Room service will deliver Burger King (we didn't but just sayin').

We would not hesitate to book a stay here in the future should we return to Quito. Very pleasant english-speaking staff, comfortable rooms, nice powerful hot water. We used Priority points for our stay so are unable to comment on the value. Anticipate 1-1.5 hrs transit time to the airport, until the roads are improved (primarily the bottlenecks over the rivers).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate the time dedicated to voice your opinion about our hotel and your kind comments. In relation to the floor of the shower I would express that we used imported U.S. ceramic with slip into their specification, the first observation to specifications. Concerning the breakfast from your order immediately syrup incorporated as part of breakfast.
We look forward to a next visit, always orders.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good experience for traveling out of the US and feeling safe. They could not have have tried harder at the Front desk whether it was Francisco or Naomi. Working with cab driver they directed us where our 25lbs of dirty laundry was washed and folded for $10US.Freddy Cougar our cab driver took us to the laundry mart did all the translations while we watched and right after lunch brought us back for the pick-up for $10.
The Hotel serves fresh juices every morning on there breakfast buffet. There coffee is truly as good as D&D or I think better. However that's it, no restaurant the rest of the day. But next store many cafes ,etc.On the very next block there is a small shop for crepes and waffles and the best Ice Cream in Quito.
Very easy to navigate to finer stores for Ecuadorian made gifts that are a must to bring home.
from the front door and we we felt safe walking for shopping.
Our room had a great view, remember to ask for the higher rooms and maybe X02, X04.
Plus the higher your room is the less street sounds. FYI we did in advance in Spanish by Email.
So if you have a plan and your arrangements have been scheduled for each day trip this is a HIE that ranks very high on my list. Free internet connections and actually have computers in the lobby that work well.
The only other issue is the front desk charges a heavy commission for cashing AMEX checks and they trouble with a $50 bill. FYI You need small bills for miscellaneous purchasesduring the day. House keeping did a really good job every day, remember we stayed here for 3 times for 3 nights before Mashpi lodge than after the Galapagos.
At 4am it only takes 45 minutes to get to the New airport but during rush hour when we returned 2x it took 1hr and 40 mim. Rush hour is from 8am to 8pm in Quito.
Avi From Boston Strong

Room Tip: Make your room request by Email a week b/4 arrival and they will accommodate you especially if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
For all the staff it was a pleasure to receive you at Holiday Inn Express Quito. Thank you for choosing our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Is glad to know that our facility and services meet your expectations. Our Staff is committed to provide the highest level of customer service you have come to expect. It’s our promise to you.”Great Hotel Guests Love”
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at the Hotel again.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a brand new hotel located in one of the main streets at Quito. Everything is really new and shiny. The rooms are spacious and noise-proof, you cannot hear anything from outside even though the street is somewhat noise.

The format express means that there are some services that the hotel does not provide like a restaurant or bellboys, however due to their great location the restaurant it is not necessary. The hotel provide a basic breakfast every morning, however if you don't like it, aside, in the same sidewalk is a 24 hours restaurant with a great menu at great prices. Also, in front and in the other side are two American hamburgers chain food restaurants. And if you want to have fun you are at walk-distance to the Plaza Foch square, with plenty of bares and restaurants to enjoy. Very recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFranToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
For all the staff it was a pleasure to receive you at Holiday Inn Express Quito. Thank you for choosing our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Is glad to know that our facility and services meet your expectations. Our Staff is committed to provide the highest level of customer service you have come to expect. It’s our promise to you.”Great Hotel Guests Love”

I hope that in a near future have the opportunity to welcome you in the Hotel again.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice clean, quiet, comfortable room. Room size was large, bedding was very good, separate desk for work, good lighting. Shower is great and is directly overhead. Room is complete with iron & board. Mini bar fridge is empty. Continental breakfast is average but good. No on site store to purchase snacks or sundries. ATM machine is 2 blocks away. Very good 24 hour restaurant beside hotel called Metro Café. McDonald's and Burger King are across the street. This Holiday Inn Express is the best I have stayed in and feels more like a Crowe Plaza ( minus a restaurant & store). Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
For all the staff it was a pleasure to receive you at Holiday Inn Express Quito. Thank you for choosing our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Is glad to know that our facility and services meet your expectations. Our Staff is committed to provide the highest level of customer service you have come to expect. It’s our promise to you.”Great Hotel Guests Love”

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Location is very good! Rooms are clean. Breakfast was just perfect! The only thing which I could complain about, is that Internet connection. Speed is pretty low and the connection falls down sometimes. But I suppose this is not Holiday Inn problem. This trouble exists in the city, because of its location (as we also had cell phone coverage problem during the stay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
For all the staff it was a pleasure to receive you at Holiday Inn Express Quito. Thank you for choosing our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Is glad to know that our facility and services meet your expectations. Our Staff is committed to provide the highest level of customer service you have come to expect. It’s our promise to you.”Great Hotel Guests Love”

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quito

Property: Holiday Inn Express Quito
Address: Avenida Orellana E 6-54 | y Calle Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Quito
#21 Family Hotel in Quito
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel is located at Francisco de Orellana Avenue, one of the most important in the Ecuador's capital city. It is situated in the financial and commercial area, surrounded by state-of-the-art shopping, cultural and tourism centers. 45 Minutes away from new Mariscal Sucre Airport in Tababela. Its location offers immediate access to the trendy area of the city with local bars and restaurants and the wonderful Old City of Quito, Cultural World Heritage Site. Its modern architecture is aesthetically and functionally integrated to a house built in the 50s, considered to be City Heritage. In an environment of great hospitality and excellent service. Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel welcomes you to Quito and Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing