We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well situated place in quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Bambu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu
Ranked #49 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“well situated place in quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

the location is realy good. right between old and new town.
the hotel is clean and the stuff was friendly.
the night have been to noisy. i go to bed early and there have been kids playing pingpong till almost 11. a bit much.
the comunity area is a spot for the youngs and olds to meet up and exchange stories.
i wuld go again.

Room Tip: more the backpacker style
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
18
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a room with private bath. The room was huge, with bedside tables, desk and chair, and mini fridge. The location was okay, in retrospect it would have been more convenient to be located in Mariscal but the view from the terrace was lovely. We had breakfast there (not included in rate) and portions were huge. The reason we would not return to this hostel is the staff. They made us feel like we were being a nuisance to them every time we had a simple question/request.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

First stop on SA trip, and a great one of them. Good atmosphere and easy mingling with other travellers. The rooftop porch is amazing with a fantastic view over the city.
For backpackers/travellers this is an awesome place to stay. If i return to Quito I'll definitely be going back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SJThorgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Probably the best place I've ever seen in all my trips since ten years... I just couldn't leave that house. I felt like at home. Breakfast kitchen room bed staff were just perfect. Thank you I'm already missing your place and a special thank to la señora who prepares breakfast! See you soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Of the various places we stayed during our two week trip to Ecuador, Casa Bambu was by far my favorite. Clean, bright rooms and very clean bathroom with an excellent high-pressure hot shower. Huge kitchen facilities and rooftop with incredible city views. Large computer room with fast internet, a movie room, a small library, and plenty of nooks for lounging. This is the kind of hostel I actually want to hang out in, rather than just sleep in. Friendly, helpful staff, safe luggage storage if you want to leave and return a few days later. Pool table, lots of board games. Decent value at $25 total for a double room (and the rooms were huge, ours even had its own refrigerator). I did not eat any of their food so I can't comment on that, but the breakfast room / bar was adorable. It's true that this place is not as central (awkwardly located between the new and old town) but I didn't feel the area was unsafe. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Quito.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I spent two months here and am generally happy I did. The building itself is great, with at least three kitchens stocked with pots and pans. A large patio has a beautiful view over the city. The only problem is it is located awkwardly between La Mariscal (new town / business/ party area) and Old Town.

In terms of cost that means: $2-3 taxi ride to Gringolandia (party area), or 10 minute walk to bus tram ($0.25), or 25 minute walk.

There is one great $2 lunch cafeteria nearby but otherwise for food you're on your own. The nice kitchens at Bambu make that not a big problem.

Hot water can be variable, some showers are better than others.

The hostel is usually pretty crowded with English-speaking foreigners. Because of its location I found the crowd a bit insular.. i.e. parties on Friday night at the hostel rather than going out to see Quito.

Overall I'd say if you want to party in Quito, you're better off staying in one of the many hostels in La Mariscal. The view at Casa Bambu is awesome but you're paying for it a bit with distance.

Also note: I heard the neighborhood this hostel is was supposed to be "dangerous." I did not sense that at all. For example shops would stay open until around 10pm, door open and cash register sitting there with a little old lady.. I never felt unsafe there.

Room Tip: Pricing seems to be all over the place, I think someone must be skimming off the top because talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I actually would!!! I don't always say so, but when I do, I mean so! This is maybe the best and most complete hostel in Latin America! It counts with two kitchens, splendid showers and bathrooms! And a pissoir and soap!!! (For the uninformed reader: Ecuadorians hate soap in bathrooms, because their interpretation of Christianity doesn't allow them to use it) The roof terrace is splendid too and offers a view on the "teleferico" and the cities parks! Really liked it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoktorShiruango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#26 of 228 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 253 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 253 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
10.1 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu

Property: Casa Bambu
Address: Solano E527 y Gran Colombia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing