We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem in Quito”
Review of Casa Aliso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Aliso
Ranked #15 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem in Quito”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Casa Aliso twice during our trip to Ecuador - once before our visit to the Galapagos and once afterwards. I really cannot say enough good things about Casa Aliso, especially its incredibly helpful, gracious and warm staff. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable upon arrival - from providing us with coca tea, potato soup recipes and restaurant recommendations to super-early-morning breakfasts, we loved being in the care of Patricio, Carlos and their colleagues.

The rooms are comfortably-sized, clean, tastefully-decorated and with decent-sized bathrooms (we had two different rooms, one of which had a very large bathroom). The small sitting-room with fireplace and honour bar is a cozy place to relax and chat with other guests. The free internet access (both a desktop in the reception area and wifi) is a welcome perk. It should be noted that this isn't an accommodation for everyone: this is a small property (10 or so rooms) and there isn't much which is within walking distance (though we visited the restaurant La Choza, which was quite good, and which is located at the end of the street) - but Quito is the kind of place where you tend to take cabs everywhere in any event, so that's not much of a bother.

We found that cab rides to La Ronda were around $5-8 and took about 10-15 minutes, trips to the airport were about 15-20 minutes (depending on traffic) and good restaurants were cheap rides away (the aforementioned La Choza, and the restaurant La Ronda).

We would definitely recommend Casa Aliso to friends and other travellers spending a few nights in Quito.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bttravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
85
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This B&B was just spectacular in every way. The breakfast was astonishing, the rooms incredibly beautiful, and the staff was so helpful and gracious in every way. For those worried about wandering Quito at night, there is a restaurant right next door and we followed the staff's advice about restaurants and were not disappointed. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeejayteeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a wonderful find. I read a review by a fellow TA contributor. Everything about this charming hotel is true. It is in a nice area with good food within walking distance. Our room was very nice and we even had a small patio with chairs and table that we used in the evening. The made to order breakfast with cheeses and breads were wonderful. Belen was especially helpful to us. Ordering a taxis and speaking with the driver for us. The entire experience was wonderful!
Travelers tip
have a business card with name of where you are staying and neighborhood it is in, this will be very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here 3 times during our visit to Ecuador, before and after our trip to the rain forest, and also after our trip to the Galapagos islands. The hotel is very nicely furnished. We occupied a family room which was a generous size and the bathroom was also a good size with bathrobes. Lovely little touches such as tea and coffee with snacks when you return in the afternoon - our hungry hordes devoured everything but the staff just put out more snacks and made hot chocolate for the kids. Breakfast was a good selection and the lovely staff even put out breakfast at 3.00 am on our last morning when we had a very early flight. The staff are a huge asset here - all smiling, especially the waiter who cooked omelettes to order and ran up and down stairs with heavy cases. We returned from the rainforest with horribly dirty clothes which were washed and dried for us by 7.00 am the following morning. I would recommend it to anyone and if and when I return to Ecuador will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Casa Aliso was a great surprise to us. For an excellent price we found a very comfortable and updated room with a fairly spacious bathroom, both well decorated and very very clean. The restaurant is walking distance to a few restaurants but due to Quito's crime problem, I recommend staying a group and walking quickly. Note that no alcohol is served in Quito on Sundays. Breakfast is included in the price of the stay and arrangements to and from the airport can also be included. The only negative I can think of is that activity within the hotel can be heard in every room. Many people arise early to catch flights elsewhere and can disturb the sleep in other rooms.

Room Tip: Perhaps a secondary story room might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Six of us spent three nights at Casa Aliso before a trip to the Amazon basin, then two nights on our return. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Tea at all hours, walks to local restaurants, and a general feeling of being at home. We could not have had a better experience anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Aliso.. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The restaurant recommendations were superb, and we were even walked to one restaurant.
As we had stayed at the hotel for 3 nights prior to flying to the Galapagos, they also offered to wash our clothes at very short notice. We will be recommending Casa Aliso when we return to the UK....

Room Tip: ASk for a room at the back with a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rettendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
510 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Aliso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Aliso

Property: Casa Aliso
Address: Francisco Salazar E 12-137 and Toledo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Aliso 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Casa Aliso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aliso Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing